We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Blackberry Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackberry Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Certificate of Excellence
springfield, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What more can I say? Just a really well run place and absolutely incredible food and a superbly gorgeous setting! Very expensive but we did not care. Stunning setting really. The beds were very comfortable and the range of activities was extraordinary!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
I always enjoy hearing from our guests. Thank you for your post. I am glad you enjoyed your time here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    64
    36
    25
    21
See reviews for
69
306
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were invited to come to dinner with our friends who were staying at Blackberry. We tried to get a room, but they were full for the weekend.
Dinner was beautifully presented and served. Portions were really small. Wine cellar is impressive, but the markup is 300%++ which I find unnecessary and a bit pretentious. Our Sommielier was also arrogant and condescending. When we asked for a specific bottle and vintage (which was on their list), he went away and came back with two others that 'he would recommend'. Eventually, he realized that we actually knew what we were talking about, and got us the bottle we wanted. He also corrected my husband as to the pronunciation of the name of a wine, which was rude. He was the one who was incorrect in the pronunciation, by the way, not my husband. The best thing was the bartenders upstairs in the barn, who had a grilled pimento cheese sandwich for us to try. He overheard us talking and just had one whipped one up! Beautiful place, but since it is practically in my backyard, would I spend the money again to stay/eat there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: We did not sleep here, as they were full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your dining experience. I would like to extend my apologies for the disappointment you had with our team. We pride ourselves on personal service and did not extend our best here. For that I am sorry. I was delighted to hear that our bar team surprised you with pimento cheese! It is the best. If I may assist you further in any way please do not hesitate to contact me personally at blee@blackberryfarm.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham AL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our visit to Blackberry Farm on the edge of Great Smoky Mountain National Park for our anniversary was an experience we will never forget. Never have we had such wonderful food, super attentive and friendly staff, and beautiful surroundings in one place. I would call Blackberry Farm a "boutique resort" made for relaxation and those special "we deserve this" occasions. It has beautiful accommodations for couples in the main house or cottages or families in cottages or the farmhouse. We stayed in the Lenten Rose room in the main house. This was super convenient for most meals since the dining room was just downstairs. We had two of our dinners at the wonderful red Barn, a gigantic barn brought down from Pennsylvania and made elegant. The staff will gladly transport you across the property in Lexus automobiles or you can use a golf-cart. to drive yourself.

We thoroughly enjoyed talking to John Coykendall, the on-site master gardener who provides all the fresh vegetables for the meals. The salad greens are especially tasty. If you go, don't forget to visit the puppies at the dog kennel. Jim Sanford raises Lagotto Romagnolo dogs which he trains to hunt truffles on the property. Although we did not fly fish we enjoyed speaking to the guides and watched as they tied flies.

Blackberry Farm is not inexpensive but it's well worth it. Our rate included all meals and gratuities. I especially appreciated not having to tipstaff for to the excellent services they provided, always with a cheerful attitude and a smile on their faces. We have already made reservations to return in October to enjoy the autumn colors in the Smoky Mountains. This next time we will stay in one of their cottages which we viewed just as they were newly decorating them.

Room Tip: Main House rooms are very convenient for most meals. Just walk down one flight of stairs to the dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and am delighted you spent time with John and Jim. They are both incredible team members and great ambassadors of Blackberry Farm. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at Blackberry Farms for three nights in November, 2012. I had a room in the lodge, which was directly across from check in. Being that I was traveling alone, I was worried that I'd be a bit bored at this resort but I was completely wrong. Granted, in November, you don't have the foliage you would in the spring/summer/fall but that didn't diminish the beauty of this resort.

I would have thought I was the only guest in the entire place; I was treated with such personal attention. There was not a single person at this resort that did not genuinely seem to love their job.

The food, the food, what can I say that others have not said. You cannot believe it until you actually are there but it is comparable to none.

If you decide to stay here, bring your credit card, it is pricy but honestly you do not need to spend a cent on property to have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I always enjoy hearing from our guests. November is a wonderful time of year to be in the Smoky Mountains. I am delighted to hear our staff took great care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is certainly one of the best of the high-end resorts in the world as reviewed by many people. The service is about as good as we have ever seen. The restaurant is on par with Per Se and Daniels in New York City. They make their own cheese and grow their own vegetables and truffles. It is a place to go to relax. Fly fishing, tennis, hiking over the many trails or just sitting in one of the rocking chairs looking over the mountains. There is nearby golfing if you need to ruin a good walk. They drive you to the restaurant in the evening. During the day a golf cart is available to you to tour the expansive grounds. They have many special events through out the year. It is expensive but in our opinion it is worth it.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place. Talk with them to have them explain all the options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The good: It is top notch, the food is wonderful and there is an endless list of things to do. It is extremely expensive, but it is the most unique experience and therefore justifies the price. It is a place for foodies. Excellent cuisine was experienced at all meals. We were there after the new year and enjoyed many hours reading by the fire as well as using a golf cart to enjoy seeing the property.

The bad: Blackberry farm is minimally handicap accessible. My husband uses a walker and while The Barn is new and spacious, mobility devices do not roll on the gravel drive. They do provide transportation, but there is still about 5 feet or so that must be negotiated before solid surface at the entry. We also felt the staff was not properly trained on how to be of assistance to someone who is handicap. No one told of us of an easier alternative entrance into the main house (that avoided steps) for breakfast or lunch, nor did anyone offer assistance as I tried to help my husband down the steps and move his walker at the same time. So while I loved Blackberry Farm and all it's glory, we did feel unwanted from a handicap standpoint. This is not the way you should ever feel and especially when trying to treat yourself to a lovely, albeit expensive, experience. I will return, but sadly it will have to be without my husband.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the guesthouse are very tight with tiny bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mominnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
I appreciate you sharing your experience. Please accept my apologies for any disappointments you encountered during your stay. I was disappointed to hear that we did not provide a more seamless stay for you. Your comments are very important and have been brought to the attention of our team so that immediate improvements could be made. If I may assist you further in any way I would be delighted to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Blackberry Farm provided the perfect escape for my friend and me for a three day/two night getaway. The accommodations were lovely, the staff professional, warm, friendly and attentive to our every need. The food was fantastic, the spa treatments exactly what they should be and the scenery breathtakingly beautiful. Could not have asked for a better escape.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CSLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts from your stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed all that Blackberry has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
18.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,371 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,341 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
190 reviews
7.7 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
507 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Property: Blackberry Farm
Address: 1471 W Millers Cove Rd, Walland, TN 37886-2649
Location: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blackberry Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Blackberry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing