We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackberry Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackberry Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I spent two early October nights at BF. What an exquisite place from beginning to end!! When we arrived our car was whisked away and after a quick checkin, we were taken in one of the signature Lexuses to our Singing Brook Cottage. Entering through a covered porch with wicker chairs and ottomans we entered a large high ceilinged room with a king-size bed covered in beautiful linens at one end and a sofa, coffee table, and comfortable chairs facing a large fireplace at the other. The television is discretely hidden behind a panel of what looks like multiple botanical prints.

The bathroom also has a high ceiling with a long (at least 8 foot) marble counter with two sinks, a large soaking tub, and a spacious shower. A flat screen tv is set into the wall to wall mirror. Lovely framed black and white photos of two of BF's lambs hang on the wall and one end of the tub.

A small bar area has a marble counter with a lovely lamp and black and white photo. Below it is a refrigerator full of complimentary Haagen Daas ice cream bars, soft drinks, and juices. Drawers hold complimentary cookies, chips and M&Ms. A cabinet holds starter fire logs and newspaper.

The dry wood on the porch is replenished daily, and the housekeeping staff lays a neat fire ready for lighting. The room was unbelievably beautiful and quiet. The one complaint, and it is hard to find a complaint about this place, is that the towels were not fluffy, but rather thin and scratchy. I almost hesitate to mention this, because BF is so wonderful, but I really think this is something that could be remedied.

A golf cart comes with the cottage with the name of the cottage on the side, so when we drove it to another location and parked it alongside others, there was no way to confuse it with others. As the weather was drizzly much of the time, we used the golf cart often to drive around the pristine acres of meadows, woods, and paths. If the weather had been less wet, we would have hiked the trails and walked the paths instead of riding, but the cart was handy after a late dinner when the long walk from barn (restaurant) to cottage would have been dark and long.

Dinner is served in a very very large barn with a roaring fire in a huge stone fireplace. The four-course meal is faultless. Each course was beautifully presented, the servers were knowledgeable and attentive, and the food was delicious. Only one dessert did I not complete. The bananas Foster had a dry cake under the banana slices. Breakfast is served in the main house near the checkin facility. Again the service was top-knotch and the food was delicious. The breads are made on the premises, the cheeses and yogurt are made on the premises. It seems as if everything is either grown or baked or raised on the property, which translates into very fresh ingredients. And the chefs are the best, so what ends up on the plate is again perfect. What pushes this place over the edge and makes it stand out, however, is the staff. They enjoy their jobs. They go out of their way to make each guest feel important and pampered. They are helpful and gracious.

When we left, our car was brought to us. Two boxed lunches had already been placed in the back seat, along with chilled bottles of water in the front. Despite the not-so-good weather, our stay was so good, that I hope I can come back many times. It is definitely pricy; there is no question that this place is expensive. But I didn't drive away thinking that I had wasted time and money. No wonder Blackberry Farm is rated highly by so many experts. Go...and ENJOY!

The buildings are

Room Tip: If you travel in a cold or cool weather month, splurge on a cottage or room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fieldmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    60
    35
    25
    20
See reviews for
63
285
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience at Blackberry. We stayed in the main house and found it to be convenient to the front desk for a ride wherever we needed to go and for breakfast and lunch. Our room was spacious and well appointed. Bed was outstanding.

We enjoyed hiking on property as there are several trails of various length and difficulty. They gave us a backpack filled with water and a radio just in case, but we found the trails very well marked. We also enjoyed spa visits and a kayak tour/ picnic lunch with Dusty as our guide. The spa did not have showers or saunas, and the waiting room was kind of out in the open, but it was in a neat restored home. Adding the modern stuff would have probably detracted from that somewhat. The services were quite good; perhaps the best we have ever had.

Food was just wonderful. Portions were not huge, but there were so many elements to each meal that we were quite full by the end. Service was also good. Attentive, but not burdensome.

As other reviews have noted, the propertynisnquite spread out. That may be a negative for some, but we thought it was wonderful. We never felt crowded, and we enjoyed the exercise required to get around. If you are physically limited, or if you are in one of the distant cottages, you might consider renting a golf cart. You can also call for transportation via Lexus or cart depending on your destination.

Others have commented that there were unexpected charges. We didn't have that experience. Where there were extra fees, we were told upfront. Menus clearly note what is included and what is not. Sticking with the included items willmnotmleave you hungry in the least.

Every staff member we encountered treated us well. They knew our names and that we were celebrating our anniversary. They remembered us from day to day. It felt like staying with family (in the best sense of that word).

Was it expensive? Sure, but we knew that before we booked. If you are worried about the cost, you are probably not going to relax at Blackberry. If that is the case, you will have missed out on the best part of the experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PTCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We (2 couples- wives who have been life-long friends) signed up for a food and wine retreat featuring the renowed chef David Kinch, Chef/Co-owner of Manresa Restaurant, Los Gatos, CA and Mannie Berk of the Rare Wine Co. It was superb. Blackberry will host well known chefs at various times of the year. The food, the wine, the cooking lesons, and the company (from all over) made for a most enjoyable time.

If you opt for a different time or event, do not worry- Blackberry executive chef Joseph Lenn and his staff will cook and serve a world class meal in a most attractive dining venue, the Barn.

If I had to pick out something that needs improvment, I would reluctantly say that our room was a little tired, especially the bath. However, even that falls away very quickly with the views from our generous windows and the comfy beds, pillows and linens. Plus it is clean as a pin. I especially loved the den where 3 rooms opened, with 24 hour coffee, tea, water, OJ, soda, M&Ms, cookies, etc- not a vending machine in sight.

I enjoy being around people who like their job- it makes for seemless and happy service. We did not encounter a single person at Blackberry who was not smiling and providing effortless good service- and this runs from top to bottom.

I have got to mention the fly fishing on site. I played hooky from a cooking lesson one morning to go fly fishing. A young Auburn grad, Daniel, was my guide. We fished for about 2 hrs over plenty of fish. He quickly solved an ingrained casting flaw with an easy manner and easy to understand instruction. If you fly fish, this is time well spent. (Daniel, here is the link to the hemostat clinch knot I told you about-http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=iDUm9iZi4qg&feature=endscreen).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamMtPleasant_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I went for one night and it was wonderful! Fall is beautiful in East TN and Blackberry Farm has a wonderful location with lots of scenery. The service was fantastic! We even changed our mind about our choices of spa services at the last minute and the staff was very accomodating! The food is the best part! If you get a chance to eat at the Barn, you should try the tasting menu so you can try a little of many different things. I loved our stay! It was a very charming experience!

Room Tip: If you choose to stay in the Main House, ask for one of the three rooms that have the "mini lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank January71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Blackberry farms provides excellent service, food, and accommodations. The views are amazing and we really enjoyed our stay. I thought the barn where they have dinner was gorgeous so romantic and inviting. The golf cart you can have while there was excellent, as the property is big! John took us on a charming horse drawn carriage ride. I had a very nice massage at the spa. All that being said and with all my travels, I felt it was expensive.

Room Tip: Be aware there is a 19 percent addition to your room charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanda464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Weckbaugh
Level Contributor
231 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The staff bent over backward to make our stay unbelievable. Graham lit a fire in both of our fireplaces as there was a chill on the evening. The canopy bed was huge and the featherbed really thick. A television in the bathroom and two sinks all to myself. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath cabin that connected in the bar, which, by the way, had free non-alcoholic beverages and food. Deep fried oysters, beignets and soft shell crabs for breakfast--so many choices for all the meals and incredibly good. Tenderloin that literally melted in my mouth. The Emmylou Harris concerts were fabulous entertainment. And I walked all over the Farm (4200 acres) every morning. And the vistas!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were blown away from start to finish. The views are amazing, the property...tranquil and picture perfect. The insane attention to detail was amazing...never missed a beat! From the warm greeting at check-in, to the repeated use of our names throughout our stay...we felt like we were being welcomed by family. Our room was small (the bathrooms are awfully tight, but I understand the space restrictions) but very comfortable with lovely linens and the ever welcoming bluegrass music playing. Each meal period was a delight..each bite more delicious than the first! The portions were perfect as the flavors are so layered and distinct...it was quality, not quantity. We never failed to swoon over the variety of fresh breads/pastries, butters, cheese, ice creams...and oh...that Benton bacon and farm fresh eggs! Never has a boxed lunch held such delights..including a charming note card. The service is just exceptional, from housekeeping, to each server who made each meal even more memorable...the employees are engaging and conversant without being intrusive...very enjoyable! The enthusiasm and knowledge of the staff, from the gardens, to the stables, to fly fishing, bikes....just terrific...one and all.

My husband is an avid biker and said that his two days of riding were 'best ever.' I 'toodled' around the property on my bike, taking photos, hanging in the garden and joyfully chatting with other enchanted guests. We also learned to fly fish and found Dusty to be an entertaining and enthusiastic instructor!

Blackberry had been on our must-do list for quite awhile...and I cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience. We bought the gorgeous book, the CDs and enough jams to last through the year...all to extend our wonderful memories.

And indeed, it was a chunk of change...but worth every penny!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfiend1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
6.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
17.4 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Dollywood's DreamMore Resort
Dollywood's DreamMore Resort
#12 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
19.6 mi away
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Property: Blackberry Farm
Address: 1471 West Millers Cove Road, Walland, TN 37886
Location: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blackberry Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Blackberry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing