We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are you waiting for?”
Review of GreenRose of Raus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullahoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GreenRose of Raus
Ranked #1 of 3 Tullahoma B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Whether or not rural Tennessee is your thing, GreenRose almost certainly has plenty to offer you. Down a winding lane perfect for morning runs serenaded by mooing cows, GreenRose is a perfect escape. Heavenly bed; heavenly breakfast; and a wonderful hostess in Pat.

Room Tip: The Bedford has an unbelievable mattress -- I believe Pat said the same one is in the Raus room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 73 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Words can not express the beauty of this "home". I say home because that is exactly how Pat made us feel, at home. My finace and I made our decision to stay at a B&B on a spur of the moment. We had visited Lynchburgh and decided to drive out to the Green Rose and do a drive by to see what it looked like. We liked what we saw and pulled into the drive way. Pat met us and we explained our situation. She graceously gave us a tour and left us alone on porch to decide. We chose to give it a chance, as we have never stayed at a B&B before we were leary. Pat made us feel as if this was our home. We were the only guest during the midweek. Pat explained the history of the house and their journey of the renovation. The home is beautiful in every way. The craftmanship, decore, the grounds, everything is wonderful. From the recomendations on where to eat, Pat's insistance to make ourselves at home, everything was wonderful. We spent a beautiful evening sitting on the porch experiencing a late summer thunderstorm, it was very realxing and romantic. We found ourselves sitting there and feeling as if this was our home and secretly wishing it was.
We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast on the porch the next morning. We really enjoyed talking to Pat and sharing her stories and history as well as her genuine interest in our story and history. We left with a warm hug from Pat and a few delicious Pears that we got to pick from Pat's tree.
Our stay at the Green Rose was an experience that we will never forget and I will highly reccomend it to anyone, the rates are comparable to any hotel chains. If you want a genuine southern experience, charm, pampering, great food, this is the place. Anyone can stay at a sterile chain hotel or motel, you get the same thing, bed, and bathroom but it will lack all of the extras that the Green Rose offers at a similar price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jock T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The GreenRose of Raus embodies the definition of southern hospitality. Jeanie and Patsy are a duo of southern bells that have poured their heart and souls into this amazing house. You would not believe the house is over a hundred years old by how much work was put into it. There is so much history that goes into the decoration of the house and the stories that go along with it are so interesting. Every room is given a name and theme. We stayed in the "Prince Room" which is truly fit for a prince. We had the most relaxing time sitting on the front porch, having a glass of wine on the porch swing, while listening to the crickets and watching fire flies. The breakfast was 5 star and a wonderful way to start your day! I highly recommend this B&B! It is a wonderful place to relax and take a break away from the busy, bustling work world. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Prince room! But they are all wonderful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have stayed at some nice Bed and Breakfasts before, but this was far and away the best experience ever. Incredible everything: Jeannie personifies Southern hospitality, grace and charm; the food was second to none, the house clean and gorgeous, and the country setting simply stunning. It really exceeded all of my expectations. I am now back home in Phoenix, but my thoughts keep going back to beautiful Tullahoma Tennessee and this fabulous bit of Paradise. Am hoping to go back next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

What a great place.I loved everything about our 2 night stay here. It is a short scenic drive from lynchburg for those of wanting to see the Jack Daniels Distillary. The house is beautiful and there are before and after photos of the massive work that has been done.It was lovely to sit out on the patio at night and watch the fireflys. Jeannie is the most gracious host and catered to our every need. Breakfast was very tasty and more than ample to start the day off right. I would come back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookworm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Room: Excellent!
The Owner: Excellent!
The Breakfast: Excellent!
The House: Excellent!
The Conversation: Excellent!
Everything: Excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband, daughter & I stayed only one night here but it was HEAVEN on earth! After being greeted so graciously by Jeannie, she gave us a tour of the beautiful home, showed us to our rooms and asked us what time we would like breakfast. She told us of restaurants nearby for our dinner that evening and then left us to our own devices. We had the entire house to ourselves the whole night and sat on the porch as late as possible so as not to miss a moment. It was the first time we'd stayed in a B&B mostly because we felt 'strange' at the thought of staying in someone's home but this was amazing! When it came time to say good bye after a delicious breakfast, Jeannie gave us each a heartfelt hug. Everything about our stay was top-notch and we WILL stay again. A nice touch...a thank you card with a beautifully personal note from Jeannie inside arrived shortly after our stay. Pure southern hospitality!

Only thing...we didn't get the French praline french toast we requested at the time of our reservation but what we did eat was delicious and there is always next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Brick and Raus rooms upstairs at the front of the house. All rooms are very nice (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullahoma
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tullahoma
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Tullahoma
Hampton Inn Tullahoma
#1 of 6 in Tullahoma
204 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tullahoma East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn Tullahoma
Quality Inn Tullahoma
#4 of 6 in Tullahoma
79 reviews
10.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Shelbyville
13.9 mi away
The Walker Inn
The Walker Inn
#1 of 1 in Bell Buckle
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GreenRose of Raus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenRose of Raus

Address: 330 Smith Chapel Rd, (Bedford County), Tullahoma, TN 37388-8819
Location: United States > Tennessee > Tullahoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tullahoma
Price Range: $115 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GreenRose of Raus, a circa 1905 Bed & Breakfast is located in a close proximity to Lynchburg, Jack Daniels and George Dickel Distilleries, Shelbyville and the Walking Horse Shows, and Tullahoma’s antique shops and restaurants. GreenRose has been renovated to meet the needs of modern travelers and each of the 5 bedrooms now offers private baths and internet service. The entire home with parlor, library, sun room, den and dining room is for your enjoyment and the owners are nearby at the Rosebud Cottage. Be sure and make time to also enjoy our wonderful wraparound porch which invites you to just come and sit a spell. Magnificent sugar maples and magnolias whisper of a slower pace of life in day's gone by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing