We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bear Bottoms

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Deck with Swing Deck sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Front Deck with Swing
Deck sitting area
Living Room with cable, DVD, wifi, Netflix and Vudoo library
Comby Living Room
Stairs to loft
Fully Equipped Kitchen
King sized Master Bed
Whirlpool
Whirlpool bath for two
Bathroom
Loft Queen Bed
Game table in loft
Large hot tub
Bathroom Vanity
Seasonal Community Pool
Community Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Townsend, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rsilverdr...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and perfect!”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cabin was perfect. It was very cosy, and everything charmingly bear-themed. We went horse riding once morning and spent the afternoon reading on the porch swing, which was lovely and felt very American to us Brits! It is in the middle of the forest, so no amazing views, but after a long hot day it's pleasantly shady.

It's a great location for being close to Cades Cove, which was well worth a trip - we even saw a bear! We would recommend taking a whole day to do it - even though the loop isn't very long, you want to get out at all the stopping points simply because it's so beautiful.

The Trailhead restaurant was amazing - delicious food and friendly staff. Townsend is definitely the place to go if you want to get into nature and away from some of the more touristy areas, but it looked like there was plenty to do for children too.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Thank you so much for leaving such kind words. Maybe one day we can come to your neck of the woods in the UK!!! Thanks again and please let us know if you come back to the Smoky Mountains. We would love to have you as a guest once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick W
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It doesn't get any better than this!”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My adult son and I stayed at "Bear Bottoms" between 4/28 and 5/1 and the cabin was unbelievable. It had everything we needed and then some- Wi-Fi, Netflix, hot tub, grill, comfortable beds, nice big porch with a rocker and a porch swing. It is surrounded by trees and very private, a little hard to find but that's a good thing. The décor is great- everything has a bear motif including the toilet paper holder- very cute and fun. The cabin really enhanced our trip which included visits to Cades Cove (very close), Gatlinburg and Clingman's Dome. There is a nice IGA store nearby and a Subway but Townsend is not built up like Gatlinburg and we liked that a lot. I am planning on returning and booking the same cabin.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and the porch
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2016
Thank you so much for staying with us! We so much enjoy when we hear that we met or exceeded our guests expectations. Thank you for letting us know. We will definitely continue to provide the best cabin that we can. Please let us know when you want to come back and don't forget that we offer return guests a discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck3000
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
“This was a relaxing, comfortable and cozy cabin, in a great location.”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a wonderful, warm cabin rental, ideal for two or for a small family. Though there is sleeping quarters for up to four comfortably, the cabin is small. Hot water heater is slow. The price made this a very reasonable and great place to stay. It sits in a forested area with easy access but sufficient privacy to feel like you're far away. It is within 10 minutes to the Smoky Mountain National Park and has made for a wonderful trip. The hot tub is an added plus, though jets weren't working properly. We'd come back again to this prayerful, restful and cozy place.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, porch swing, cozy homeyness, tv and hot tub, though lacking jets
Liked least: lighting
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2015
Thank you so much for staying with us. Bear Bottoms is such an awesome cabin. Thank you for letting us know about the hot tub jets. We have had them fixed.

Keith & Cathy Moore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatt74
Cookeville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning!”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had such a beautiful experience in the Smokies! The location is perfect if you don't want a constant crowd everywhere you go. We stayed 4 nights and the pictures were exactly what we walked into (the cabin was more beautiful than the pictures led it to be)! I was amazed by everything included. The bed was extremely comfortable. Cathy was really easy to work with and very pleasant. We had a great experience and we'll definitely be staying here for every vacation near the Smokies!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. You are welcome anytime. Give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your next Smoky Mountains Vacation!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing