We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to get local fish”

Riverstone Family Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Riverstone Family Restaurant was originally opened and owned by Terry & Belinda Haley in 2004 and gave it its name and the reputation of having the very best food anywhere around. We share the same Rep at the Riverstone Lodge right next door.We truly do have the best of quality of food anywhere. We are from Mississippi and really, really know how to cook real southern food with many years exp. We are open year round 7 days a week serving breakfst, lunch & dinner.We have been licensed as a CERTIFIED ANGUS RESTAURANT serving only certified angus beef for all fresh beef items on menu. If your not aware, certified angus is now said to be better than "PRIME".Nothing but the best. Even our hamburgers are fresh Certified Angus. Hope to see you soon! Don't forget the fresh homemade Fried Green Tomatoes.
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to get local fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a national park employee. We were looking for a place to get good river trout. I was not disappointed. The atmosphere was casual and the food was good and reasonably priced. I would go again next time we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    216
    75
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alcoa, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You have to pay a visit here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I stopped at the Riverstone this evening on our way home from Cades Cove , Im so glad we did, we had Fried Green Toms as an app, ( best I`ve ever had) we had the Grilled Trout, OMG it was to die for, we will be back again more sooner than later, service was excellent as well

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davos2658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best fried bologna sandwich ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stopped by this place right around closing time one night after spending all day in the Smokies and was not disappointed. Ordered the fried bologna sandwich with fries and it was delicious. Unfortunately that is all we had time to try but we will definitely be back next time we're in Townsend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pride31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This place is wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We camp when we go to Townsend but if I don't cook, we eat here. I push for several times to visiting this great restaurant!! Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner...ALL delicious!! Try the Fried Green Tomatoes...OMG!! To die for!!! We have had the catfish basket, big breakfast and biscuits, hamburgers, pot roast, steaks...it's all good, fresh and cooked to order. The wait staff are all nice & friendly. We don't eat anyplace else even tho there are several great places to eat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluboogiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Love , love loved this little restauran. Fried green tomatoes are to die for. The onion rings are the best we have ever eaten!! I am not a pork person but their smoked pulled pork was EXCELLENT!!
I recomed this cute little place a must!
Everything from the food to the staff was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammyheinecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverstone Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Riverstone Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing