We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gracehill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gracehill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Townsend B&B and Inns
Florida
1 review
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2007

We arrived late in the evening and were very impressed. Then we woke up the next morning and saw Gracehill in the day time and we were floored. The room we stayed in was perfect. I believe it was called the Roman Holiday. It had every amenity imaginable. I especially liked the two person jacuzzi tub after a day of hiking and site seeing. Gracehill is situated on the top of a mountain peek and the views are breath taking. We spent every morning on the porch over looking the valleys and mountains all around us. Gracehill could not have been any better. My words do not do it justice. It truly was a perfect B&B.
Gracehill is right in the middle of all kinds of activities. Drive a half hour in any direction and you can go hiking on trails with waterfalls, horse back ridding, exploring caverns, or even go to a touristy town to get souvenirs.
We will be coming back any chance we get. Thank you to the owner Kathy. She completed the experience with her hospitality.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mikebambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
131
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seymour
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

We had the distinct pleasure last weekend of staying at Gracehill Bed and Breakfast. We were seeking a quiet weekend away from the stress of everyday activities, and WOW, did we find the right place! Though we live only 25 miles from Townsend, TN, we felt that we were a million miles away in one of the most elegant B&B's we've experienced. The Innkeeper was a perfect hostess, very personable and accommodating; and we enjoyed spending some time with her on one of the decks. We watched a beautiful red sunset (similar to an Hawaiian sunset) as it descended behing the spectacular Smoky Mountains. There were more stars in the sky than I remember seeing in a long time, and while I realize that Kathy had nothing to do with providing the stars, we still gave her credit for them! The ponds and waterfalls are absolutely gorgeous as is the entire landscaping. We were truly surprised to find such a magnificent place. This Inn far surpasses Blackberry Farm in our estimation, and if Kathy served dinner, it would be "to die for". We plan to make Gracehill our "home away from home" at every opportunity. Thanks to Tripadvisor, we found Gracehill! Dave and Gina Nelson.

Helpful?
Thank SmokyMountainNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

We loved everything about Gracehill! Our room was very romantic and the views were spectacular. The pictures on the website cannot do them justice. Kathy was a great hostess. She was very helpful with directions and suggestions for activities. The breakfast was amazing and so filling that lunch was not necessary. Plus, Kathy provided snacks and drinks, which is something most B&B's don't do. She really creates a welcoming and relaxing environment. The bed was more comfortable than the one at home and the sheets and towels were more luxurious. The house is enormous and immaculate. There are so many verandas and porches that there was never a problem to find a place to sit in the sun and read a book or just look at the view. We will definitely go back and recommend Gracehill to anyone who is travelling to the area. It's worth every penny. The most difficult part of our stay was leaving because we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — The view and the food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monkeytie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highly mobile, now in Houston, TX
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

While marketing detail is accurate, GraceHill exceeded our expectations -- so many features cannot be well-photographed. The B & B, which is built more on the scale of a very small lodge, is tri-level. Ceilings soar in ALL rooms, including the covered balconies, making the most of the mountain-top retreat. Shared dining and living space is on the top floor, along with a lovely garden patio and huge shared mountain and valley-view balcony. The middle floor contains the 3 primary guest bedrooms, a computer and reading alcove, a well-stocked snack bar and mini kitchen and access to the guest balcony – a large, U-shaped deck with shared hot tub. This deck terminates into more private segments for Spellbound and Casablanca Rooms. All three rooms have exterior and interior entries, though the exterior doors are most often used for deck access only. The bottom level contains a rose garden, a cloistered pond and patio, as well as access to the exercise and massage room. Even fully booked, guests are sure to find a private retreat outdoors, there are so many beautiful and comfy seating areas.

GraceHill is filled with high-quality large-scale antique furniture and custom built-ins providing ample storage. Well-traveled, the Owner/Innkeeper has chosen a Eurasian theme, though it is not heavy-handed. All rooms have walk-in closets with abundant shelving and hanger space. The room finish-out is exceptional in quality and detail. We stayed in Spellbound, but would be very happy in any of the rooms. Spellbound may be the most luxurious, with a European flair and massive framed mirror and chandelier. This room is private, sharing no walls with others; the view from the double patio door is of a fountain, trees, and some of the mountainous terrain. It IS under the kitchen and some of the kitchen noise travels, though we did not find it obtrusive. Key Largo has fewer amenities, but is bright, with the most windows and spectacular views. It is well-named and more whimsical in nature. Casablanca might be the most romantic. – warm and exotic. Soaps, shampoos and lotions are provided, but not exceptional, so if you have a favorite heavenly-scented potion, bring that with you. Well sealed, not much noise travels into nor out of any of the rooms.

Kathy’s breakfast includes a special baked good, a creative fruit dish, and entree with breakfast meat. Most memorable for us were: brimming with blueberry muffins, pecan sticky buns, pineapple with coconut and almond slivers, autumnally seasoned chilled cantaloupe soup, nut-stuffed glazed baked apple, wild rice waffles, and a frittata. Breakfast is casually elegant, in keeping with the Inn. We felt at home in our hiking boots and jeans or comfy fleecewear.

As in many small establishments, guests share the property with the owner (and her mother). Kathy is a Midwestern transplant, but has lived in and loved the area and its people for the past 20+ years. A jill-of-many-trades (as one has to be to survive in a REALLY small town), Kathy’s creative talents are evident in the garden and interior designs -- artistic vignettes abound throughout the property. Travel resources are many and Kathy has many excellent local recommendations for any perceivable activity. While serious-minded when it comes to innkeeping tasks, we also found Ms. Janke to be a jovial gal, readily available but not obtrusive.

The trip from Knoxville’s Airport was quick and easy. We had many wonderful activities planned in the area, but in the end, remained at or returned early to Grace Hill more than expected; because it was time best spent.

  • Liked — The view, grounds, abundant outdoor seating
  • Disliked — The road and driveway (curvy and steep) could be a bit scary for some drivers
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Diverse_Interests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

What a peaceful and indulgent way to spend our 25 wedding anniversary! Gracehill was by far the best venue for us on this special occasion. After winding up a curvy landscaped mile long driveway, we were amazed at the the beautiful mansion perched on top of a mountain with a panoramic view of the Smokies. Ms. Janke has designed, decorated, and landscaped Gracehill to perfection. Her hospitality was "Grace-ious" and her breakfasts were to die for. We are avid outdoor enthusiasts and Ms. Janke had so much information on nearby hiking and biking trails, horseback riding, water sports, as well as recommendations for restaurants and other attractions. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a special and memorable experience.

  • Liked — luxurious accomodation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Loriel37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pine71
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

Gracehill is an exceptionally beautiful property, well maintained and spotless. The owner/innkeeper has obviously poured her heart into the place; however,she can be a little abrupt at times. Breakfast is delicious and beautifully presented, but it can be a little stuffy and uncomfortable. People who stay here seem to be very upper class...just can't decide if the view, delicious food, etc. is worth being uneasy with the visiting "upper crust" and the innkeeper's occasional brusque behavior.
All that aside, there is no doubt that the grounds are wonderful, food is delicious, the views are unsurpassed, and the decor is rich and relaxing at the same time.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank pine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
4.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.8 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Country Cascades
Country Cascades
#17 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.1 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracehill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracehill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gracehill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1169 Little Round Top Way, Townsend, TN 37882-3434
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 3yrs in a row, Best Scenic View from a B&B in the U.S., Inn Traveler Magazine. The highest home in the county with a 360-degree view of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Award Winning Gardens, Fireplaces, Whirlpools, Steam Shower, Fitness Center, Massage Therapist, Library, Free Wi-Fi, Guest Computer, Fax, Copier, Phones, Laundry, Complimentary Stocked Snack Bar, Large HD flat screen TV's with Satellite, Blue Ray DVD Player, and Private Balconies. Three-course elegant breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing