We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Steep!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Top of Townsend

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top of Townsend
Save
You added Top of Townsend to your Saves list
460 Boat Gunnel Road, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steep!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

A scary drive to paradise. We stayed in Bears Paw and it delivers! Very clean, it basically passed the white sock test and the hottub was a much enjoyed ammenity. Great value for so much space, a clean home and private escape. Townsend was one surprise after another...all good!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
asheville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Top of Townsend has several cabins on a steep gravel road above their home. We stayed at "Way Up Yonder" for two nights. The wooded setting was pleasant, and the views were great, just as described on the website. The gravel drive was steep, and it's hard to imagine how folks would make it up there following a snowfall. The owners/host couple provide a nice gift of raspberry jam, and the cabin was clean and neat. The hot tub comfortably accomodates four adults and was a nice treat.

There isn't a washer/dryer in the cabin (although it's available in a different building), and there's no wi-fi. The TV is small - very small. The bedrooms have a bed but no furniture - the night tables and dressers are plywood pieces that fold up to the wall or out for storage. The kitchen cabinets and interior walls (above the first level, made of logs) are unfinished plywood. Although the cabin accomodates 8-10 people, plan to stagger showers as the hot water is exhausted after about twenty minutes.

The accomodation works well if your group doesn't have much interest in TV, can leave the internet acess behind, and doesn't mind taking the dirty laundry home.

There was a pleasant fireplace and plenty of wood was provided. The owners were responsive to minor inconveniences we contacted them about. The isolation (at the end of a dead-end road between Townsend and Cades Cove) and cozy fireplace were the parts we especially enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonville Ky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

The main reason for our trip was to attend the Ky.- Tenn. fotball game a couple of days after thanksgiving. When we first decided to go to the Knoxville area, I started to look for a place to stay. I began looking at cabins, which were numerous and most were fairly expensive. I remembered that we had stayed at Top of Townsend in 2000 and that we had enjoyed ourselves. When I looked at their website I was amazed that they had not changed much, and even more suprised that the price was still the same as in 2000. We stayed in Bear's paw the price was $120 per night. This price was very reasonable for a 2 bedroom cabin. The cabin was very clean and well kept . They even had the fire place set up with wood and ready to light. Firewood had been stacked outside the cabin for us to use. If you really want a quiet Smoky Mountain experience away from the hustle and bustle of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, but still close to the park you cannnot find a better place. I highly reccommend the Top of Townsend , and plan to stay there again.

  • Liked — Quiet mountainside location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashbydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
223 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

This was our second stay at Top of Townsend. We loved our first visit but this trip was just as good, if not better. The cabin (Rachel's Roost again) was just as wonderful as we remembered. Being there is the fall was a new experience, and the location was so peaceful you could actually hear the leaves falling off the trees--and nothing else.

We were hoping for cool enough weather for a fire but it was quite warm-low 80's during the day and mid to high 50's in the evenings. Maybe next visit we'll get to try out the fireplace.

Again, the cabin was spotless, spacious, and comfortable. The view from the deck was gorgeous. We hiked several miles each day, came back for dinner, and after a glass of wine, a soak in the hot tub, and sitting in the rocking chairs sleep was very quick to follow.

Anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and well located cabin need not look any further. This is a great place for families or couples and a location I would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank librarychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Our cabin (Way Up Yonder) was huge and immaculate. The directions there were good, the hot tub was nice (and they put a LOT of chlorine in it!). Our view was okay. The porch was great. Clearly a lot of hard work and thought had gone into the building and furnishing of the cabin. The owners were nice, though VERY PARANOID that we were bringing extra people into our cabin. There were lots of rules everywhere, and every time they emailed me they attached a copy of the rules. I was fine with all of these rules, but it was a little....intense for a vacation spot--kind of like staying at your parents' house!

Also the cabin is heavily decorated in Jesus paraphernalia. This was fine by me, but I think you should know if you are going that there is a bit of proselytizing.

Finally, I was assured by the owners that any car could make it to the cabin. You definitely need at least front wheel drive to get here, and it can be a little challenging if you are a flatlander. It's pretty scary to do the first time at night.

  • Liked — large, beautiful house!
  • Disliked — harping on rules, religion pushing, steep gravel road
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jennybento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

We spent a week in Keg TT in May. The cabin is excellent and the owners are also very pleasant. The cabin is big but the only views are trees! It would be nice to rent a cabin with views of the Mountains.
The outside hot tub is very welcoming after a long days hiking! An excellent location and very quiet. I would recommend this to everyone. Children would especially enjoy the location.

  • Liked — Rustic
  • Disliked — No Mountain Views
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

We stayed in Rachels Roost from Oct. 28 to Nov 6. This is a very cute cabin, one bedroom downstairs with 2 queen beds in the loft, 2 full size bathrooms. We were 3 adults who like our space and were very comfortable. From the first floor bedroom you can hear when someone walks around in the loft and this could disturb a light sleeper. There is a beautiful view of the mountains from the hot tub and the back porch. Ed and Virginia the owners are very nice and helpful. When we arrived we had a jar of homemade strawberry jam waiting for us on the table. The cabin had coffee, coffee filters, flour, ketchup etc. the small things that you sometimes forget. OH and plenty of firewood was provided. The only thing missing was wine glasses, but we made do. It rained the night before we left and it was a little tricky getting out of the sloped gravel driveway. I loved the cabin and was so comfortable and would definitely return and reccommend it.

  • Liked — quiet, peaceful , scenic view. What I expected from a cabin in the mountains.
  • Disliked — gravel drive was a little tricky for a flatlander from Florida.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank devotedsister8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 11 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#1 of 11 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#2 of 11 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
5.8 mi away
Blackberry Farm
Blackberry Farm
#1 of 1 in Walland
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top of Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top of Townsend

Property: Top of Townsend
Address: 460 Boat Gunnel Road, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing