We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Follow the leader”

Cades Cove Riding Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Cades Cove Riding Stables located in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in Cades Cove. The National Park's only authorized riding stables in Cades Cove Whether you're young or old, expert or novice, a Horseback, Carriage, or Hayride trip in the breathtaking Cades Cove in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is an adventure you'll never forget. If you have a hearty frontier spirit and are ready to hit the trail, come take pleasure in some wholesome outdoor fun at our stable area. You will be greeted by our Guides, who are committed to providing you with a safe and memorable excursion within the scenic Cades Cove. Cades Cove Riding Stables offers adventure options for the entire family who wish to enjoy the magnificent Cades Cove. We specialize in providing Guided Horseback, Carriage, and Hay rides for National Park visitors who desire an alternative method of enjoying the scenic splendor of the park. Off the beaten path, you'll see what's under the forest canopy, and maybe even some woodland critters! You'll even learn a bit about our Cove as our guides share stories of the remnants of a historic settlement period.
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Follow the leader”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We love to go horseback riding. We would have enjoyed longer and something a little more challenging then just follow the leader. I took my hands of the reins and took pictures. The horse did not need me. You cannot arrange for longer more tailored trips. Our guide told us Park rules forbid that. What a shame.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jerwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    46
    14
    5
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our best horseback ride yet!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our 2nd time horseback riding while visiting the Smokies. We opted to do this one in beautiful Cade's Cove & the scenery was gorgeous. We even saw a mama bear & her cubs. We weren't close to the bears as they were across the street from our trail, but still an awesome sight! Kimberley, who works in the office selling tickets was super nice & very friendly. We spent our time inside talking to her while waiting for our group to be called. My husband & I both agreed that it was worth the drive to Cade's Cove! We plan on doing this again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nursejenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic ride”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great ride up the mountain. Guide was friendly; was teasing the kids in our group about the black bear (which didn't make an appearance for our ride). Horses are all trail broken and require no real guidance to do what they do. There are a couple of places where the horses have to pick up the pace to get up the hill; that added a little thrill. Such a peaceful trip, and the lady running the register was a hoot!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KCtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Time for a ride”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went riding and had a great time. We are looking forward to our next trip and Cade's cove stables will be on our plans .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great ride for the whole family”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you like to ride horses but are not that skilled at it then this is the place for you, I am a horse owner and ride often so I can give this place a good review. The horses were gentle & friendly and very easy to ride. You don't have to do anything at all to control them, they just follow one another around the trail, with the guide in front. The ride is beautiful & serene, all ages will love this slow & beautiful ride through the forest and surrounding trails. You won't be sorry that you chose this ride. The guides are friendly & love their job. They make it a great trip for the whole family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cades Cove Riding Stables also viewed

 

Been to Cades Cove Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing