We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite as scenic as we had hoped”

Cades Cove Riding Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Cades Cove Riding Stables located in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in Cades Cove. The National Park's only authorized riding stables in Cades Cove Whether you're young or old, expert or novice, a Horseback, Carriage, or Hayride trip in the breathtaking Cades Cove in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is an adventure you'll never forget. If you have a hearty frontier spirit and are ready to hit the trail, come take pleasure in some wholesome outdoor fun at our stable area. You will be greeted by our Guides, who are committed to providing you with a safe and memorable excursion within the scenic Cades Cove. Cades Cove Riding Stables offers adventure options for the entire family who wish to enjoy the magnificent Cades Cove. We specialize in providing Guided Horseback, Carriage, and Hay rides for National Park visitors who desire an alternative method of enjoying the scenic splendor of the park. Off the beaten path, you'll see what's under the forest canopy, and maybe even some woodland critters! You'll even learn a bit about our Cove as our guides share stories of the remnants of a historic settlement period.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not quite as scenic as we had hoped”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great for first time riders like ourselves. Jessica our guide did a good job making sure we all heard what she was saying and kept us all together. The pace was just right - a little shaky going through the water but all the horses were so well trained they did a great job at keeping us all upright. It wasn't as scenic as we had hoped though and no bear sightings. Still a good adventure for the family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FitzFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    46
    14
    5
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time for Kids”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I brought my 6, 8, and 10 yr old kids on their first horseback ride. What a great time, the kids loved it! And the guide, Matt, was so nice and involved the kids in his tour. A huge hit for us all! Horses were so easy to ride, I wasn't worried one bit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElishaBMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great experience for first time rider!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Took my little sister here for her first horseback ride. We went during spring break and only had to wait about 30 mins for our turn to ride. They take groups of about 6-8 at a time, and they depart from the stables almost every 25 mins or so. The horses are hand picked to meet the needs of the rider. The guides make sure each person is comfortable with their horse and know how to "drive" their horse before leaving. Honestly though, these horses are so well trained and have been doing this for a long time, they know where they're going and all you have to do is make sure you're balanced and enjoy the ride LOL! They have a SMALL souvenir shop with t-shirts, cowboy hats and such. I will definitely be riding here next time I am in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for the kids, just okay for adults.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We had two 9 year olds in our group and they enjoyed the horseback ride very much. They had never done anything like that before so to them, it was amazing! Their guide was very nice, but as he was explaining the rules and such, we could barely hear him and I'm not sure he realized he was talking to children, using words that they might not understand, but overall it was great for them. The ride lasted exactly an hour. The carriage ride for the adults was very comfortable in the 4 person carriage. The guide was very friendly and answered all of our questions. It was not worth $12, though. The ride last 25 minutes, not the 30-45 minutes as advertised. The trail is peaceful but you will not see anything more than typical forest area with the exception of a beautiful creek at the beginning of the trail. I'm glad we tried this stable, but we probably won't be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank lsummers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House, TN
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“No longer in business”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stopped in for daughter's spring break. We had really enjoyed their service last time. Signs are gone, trailer office had been disconnected, and deck removed. Obviously they are no longer using this location.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank shawclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cades Cove Riding Stables also viewed

 

Been to Cades Cove Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing