We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer Cabins & Guest Farm
Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September as part of my annual "relax before Christmas" routine. I'm a retail worker and when I make a September trip, I'm looking for peace and quite.

We found all of that and more. We stayed in the Bunkhouse, which is very rustic and situated in such a way that although it right next to the petting farm, it was still private. We could view the neighbor's beautiful pond if we walked to the edge of our "yard".

The property isn't wide but rather runs straight back, so it wasn't as isolated as I had hoped...but then again, on these trips the moon probably wouldn't be isolated enough for me.

Diane was wonderful and we really enjoyed the gardens and animals. She did everything she could to make our trip a success.

My only complaint, and this is in no way the fault of the owners, is that the neighboring property literally ran right against our cabin and they hosted a wedding the weekend we were there. Friday was listening to the hammering while they put up a large tent and numerous trips up and down the gravel road right in front of our cabin. Saturday was once again numerous trips on the gravel road as well as the wedding. The band that played the reception (under the white tent) was possibly the worst I've ever heard and they were loud! They started at 6 and fortunately finished at 10:15, but somehow the night seemed so much longer. The thumping actually vibrated things in our cabin.

When I read that this was a guest farm I was afraid it would be a very community oriented type of thing and it can be if you want it to be. Or, if you want to be hermits like we did most of the time, Diane is very sensitive to that and leaves you to your own devices while remaining available if you need her.

We'll definitely stay here again. We loved sitting in the rockers on the porch watching the fat squirrels prepare for winter, cuddling with one of the cats who took a liking to us, and really enjoyed the hot tub.

Room Tip: The Bunkhouse was a good location, especially if you have children. On our next trip we're going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I can't say enough about how great this place is to stay. So much more than just a cabin. The owners are very nice and the organic gardens and sweet animals just add to the visit. Highly recommend!!!
I stay at the Hideout cabin and was very pleased. Peaceful, quiet, and cozy. Very convenient to Townsend and the park, but also secluded. I am already planning to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you want to take in the singing of the cicadas on a lazy summer afternoon or the chirping of crickets during the quiet of the night, this is the place for you. We rented three cabins in August at this location based on other reviews and a quick look-see when we were in the area earlier this year. The cabins we were in were built solidly, very clean and extremely well maintained. The kitchen is well supplied with pots, pans, utensils, cups and glasses. There were a coffee maker, microwave, full-size refrigerator, range and dishwasher in each cabin. Dish soap and dishwasher soap are provided. The living and dining rooms were good size depending on the cabin. Plenty of comfortable chairs. Unlike condos, plenty of towels, boxes of tissues, paper towels and toilet paper! The beds were comfortable and we all slept well. The same cannot be same for the futon and sofa beds. If you make reservations, go with the number of bedrooms as a guideline for adults. I do not think it will be a problem for children. The outdoor grills were ready to go, just add charcoal and your choice of food to be grilled. The hot tubs were ready to turn on and enjoy. Only Thunder Ridge is the only accessible cabin, so plan accordingly. The farm part gave us fresh vegetables and fruits for our tables, just go self-pick. We had a great time and would not hesitate to go back. A word of caution; the local law officers strictly enforce the 45 mph speed limit on US 321 in Townsend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fbc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time! The website undersells this place. It's away from the main road not far from the park.The surroundings were just beautiful. The cabin was better described as a house with everything we needed. The personal touch made the real difference. My kids just fell in love with Diane and her organic farm. They picked veggies, fed horses and goats, and loved every minute of it. We hope we get to go back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Knowing very little about the Smoky Mountains, we chose Townsend and the Pioneer Cabins to avoid the crowds and commercialism of the larger cities and we could not have made a better choice. Pioneer Cabins is family owned and consists of only a few cabins that are spread out in such a way to provide complete privacy on beautiful grounds with two large vegetable gardens (from which we picked fresh vegetables for our salad), lots a wild flowers, animals for a petting zoo, hiking paths and the backdrop of the Smoky Mountains. We had a very warm and comfortable two story cabin with a fireplace and a porch complete with 4 rocking chairs.It also had a bathroom both upstairs and down (perfect for three sisters traveling together) and a kitchen with cooking utensils. We had dinner out at the Dancing Bear which although on the high end, was well worth the money! We also ate at Miss Lily's, which was more of a family restaurant and had excellent food as well. Our location also provided easy access to the Smoky Mtn. National Park. One piece of advice, while the restaurants do serve wine and mixed drinks, only beer is sold in town. The liquor store is in Maryville, which is on the way from the Knoxville airport.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Thunder Ridge cabin which had 3 bedrooms upstairs and one down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just back from 2 nights in Trail's End cabin and wishing we could have stayed longer. The Pioneer Cabins are between the little town of Townsend and Rich Mountain, a lovely drive up back way to Cade's Cove. Lots of great night sounds, firefly sightings, birds all around, a bunny rabbit, visiting dogs, and tranquil view of neighbor's pond and barn with mountain background from the porch. AC is provided but we didn't need it. Kitchen has the basics and everything was clean, neat, and tidy. The hot tub experience is not to be missed. We stayed busy on waterfall hikes in the park so did not have energy left for the hike at the cabins. Owner has gardens full of flowers, herbs, and veggies though we did not try any this time. Both were gracious and welcoming.

Room Tip: Trail's End was perfect for 2 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Southerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I stayed at the Pioneer Cabins in Townsend for a sisters get-a-way weekend in May. We booked the largest cabin, and it was beyond delightful. Pioneer Cabins are everything you would want from a mountain cabin; rustic atmosphere, charming decor, and a lots of privacy. There are a few other cabins, but we never saw any of the patrons. I have never had such clean accommodations. The grounds were beautifully kept. I can't wait to go back and stay in one of the smaller cabins with my husband!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bagspackedCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.6 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
341 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Cabins & Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Cabins & Guest Farm

Property: Pioneer Cabins & Guest Farm
Address: 288 Boat Gunnel Rd, 288 Boat Gunnel Road, Townsend, TN 37882-3908
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins in a country/mountain setting located on an organic farm with fresh chicken eggs, garden vegetables, herbs, berries and fruits. A place for you to enjoy an active and healthy life style, play with funny farm animals, harvest fresh herbs, vegetables, fruits, and flowers for your healthy gourmet meals. Enjoy hiking trails, outdoor fitness, and then relax in an outdoor hot tub to rejuvenate your body and mind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing