We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bear's Den

BD Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
BD Exterior
Bears Den Living Room BD Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
BD Exterior
Bears Den Living Room
BD Kitchen
BD Bedroom
BD Bathroom
BD Hot Tub
Bear's Den Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Townsend, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beth M
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Three week stay in secluded cabin in a forest”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location of Bears Den suited us very well for three weeks; it was close to the town of Townsend, and Cades Cove. We enjoyed the seclusion, and easy access to nearby eateries, Elvira's being a stand out just down the road. Townsend also had nice cafes, The Black Bear Cafe being the stand out there.
Unfortunately, the air conditioning was not working very well, and reached 82F most of the time; we contacted the owners by email, and it was rectified only temporarily, climbing once again to the high 70's. We found it strange that we didn't receive any feedback or communication from the owners at all, on arrival, or after that, even though we messaged them to say we arrived safely and also to let them know about the air conditioning failure. The hot tub on the deck was great and appreciated. The kitchen was not very well equipped for cooking; the pots and pans were camping quality; there was not even a bread knife. We did love being close to the forest, and the sounds of the birds were mesmerising.
Overall, I think the cabin's AC needs looking at, and it's a shame that it made our stay uncomfortable most of the three weeks we were there, as the location is ideal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thank you for leaving feedback. on our Bears Den cabin. I am sorry that you had problems with the a/c unit. I went back through my email and could not find any notification that you were having problems with it. In your review you mentioned that the a/c was temporarily fixed but we didn't do anything to it as we were not aware that there was a problem. The guest after you called us to let us know that there was a problem and we fixed it the day that they called with a new compressor. A phone call would have easily taken care of the situation as it is unfortunate but sometimes appliances fail. Again, we apologize for your lack of comfort. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malloried...
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“10/10 would recommend”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was the first time I had actually vacationed in Tennessee and I definitely had low expectations with the cabin since it was so affordable compared to others I had looked at, but I was so wrong. This cabin exceeded every expectation I had and made for such a fun and unbelievably awesome vacation. We only stayed for the weekend but we found ourselves so torn when we were leaving, we seriously wanted to stay and we 100% would've if we could. The cabin was completely stocked with silverware and dishes and a fully functioning kitchen and even a washer and dryer. The cabin itself is beautiful and very cozy and romantic. The hot tub outside is fantastic and it took us a good couple of hours to stop talking about how amazing this place was. Pictures do not give this place justice. Overall the cabin is relatively close enough to grocery stores and the entrance to GSMNP and we even were able to go to the town of Maryville for dinner one night, even though we used the kitchen a lot. This place is so great and before we left we were talking about plans to go back. Book "Bears Den" you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I can't even choose to be honest
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
Thank you so much for leaving your feedback on our little piece of Heaven!!! This is such a wonderful cabin and we are always so happy when our guests have a wonderful stay. We would love to have you back next time you get to our neck of the woods!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie L
Cross Plains
1 review
“Birthday at Bears Den☺”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was just as described...and we will definitely be back, if not in this one in another one of Ms. Cathtys. She makes you feel very welcome and is always a phone call away. For anyone looking to stay in a cozy cabin. Cathy is the lady to call!!!!!!
The cabins are always very clean and welcoming as soon as you walk in the door. There is not anything that you need to bring other than your personal items, she has everything you need. Which I find very convenient and thoughtful. Thank you Cathy for your wonderful hospitality and to all of your wonderful staff.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
Thank you so much for the kind words. It is our job to make sure that you stay goes as well as possible so we are very proud and happy when it is accomplished. Thanks again and please let me know when you come back to the Smokies!! We would love to host your vacation again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn S
Sycamore, Illinois
2 reviews
“Very private and felt like we were at home”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our first time in Tennessee and had no idea of the area. The cabin was in the perfect location to visit the Great Smokies. The cabin was very easy to find, plus very private and cozy. Very affordable and convenient, the cabin provided everything and more, much better than a hotel. We will definitely come back and stay at the Bear's Den. Would recommend for a quick getaway or relaxing weekend or long stay vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Small Shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2015
You guys are so sweet. Thank you so much for staying at Bear's Den. Please let us know when you are coming back. We would love to help you with your next stay.

Keith & Cathy Moore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
50jee
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location for visiting the Smokies”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Newish cabin with all facilities excellent size for a couple. The furniture was very comfortable,dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washing machine and dryer all in good condition. Bed linen was not clean, which the letting agent's daughter agreed when she brought fresh. The cupboard in the bedroom for clothes needed cleaning, I lined the drawers with carrier bags, so I could use it as we were there for 6 nights, also cleaned off a thick layer (weeks rather than days) from the floor and ledges of the cupboard. The window blinds needed cleaning. I am rather picky, but cleaning issues at the beginning of the season? Some instructions for the hot tub would have been helpful as not all are familiar (us!) it was on the deck on the other side of the bedroom wall and would switch on and off all night - had to ask how to stop it. I would change my recommendation if the areas of cleaning mentioned were tightened up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities of cabin
Liked least: Some areas of cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2015
We were quite surprised to hear of this guests complaints. We did bring out fresh linens as requested because we do whatever we need to do to please our guests. There was some dirt on the linens when we picked them up but that could have been from the floor where they were laying. The was the day after check in so it could have come from the guests feet or shoes. We did not hear of the other complaints until now and would have taken care of anything that needed to be done if it had been mentioned. Please read our other reviews. We are very conscientious our the cleanliness of our cabins and the majority of our reviews show that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
823jasona
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in this cabin as an anniversary/valentines/birthday getaway. The location is great. It's close enough to the main road that we were able to get out after around 5-6 inches of snow with ease. It's also far enough away from the road to provide peace and quiet. We arrived to an expertly cleaned cabin with everything you could possibly need except food. There are new appliances throughout. The washer and dryer were a huge surprise as they were new Samsung, full size washer and dryer. The bed, although not the best for me, was, seemingly, a mid/top of the line memory foam mattress. The fireplace is perfect. There was a good supply of firewood already there for our use. The dishes were also a surprise. All plates and bowls matched and they were free of chips or cracks.

To sum things up, we have now found our go to place (and we've stayed in most in the surrounding cabins) and we'll be back many times

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2015
What awesome words to hear about our little Bear's Den cabin. Thank you so much for trusting us with your vacation cabin needs. We do our best to help our customers have a great stay. Please let us know if we can serve you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clteafue
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely love this cabin. Didnt leave but to get food. It was very cozy and in a beautiful, quiet valley. Was easy to get to. Will likely stay in it again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2015
Thank you so much for the glowing words about our Bears Den cabin. It is a special place to many guests now and is growing quickly in popularity. We love to serve our guests and make sure that they have an awesome stay. Thank you so much again and please let us know if we can serve you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing