We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good Mexican food in Townsend!”

Monte Real Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 40 Restaurants in Townsend
Restaurant details
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Mexican food in Townsend!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was really skeptical about this place when I first saw it but I thought it was at least worth a try. I'm glad we did stop by! The food is very good, of course it's the standard stuff you find at any Mexican restaurant but it's still delicious. They even have my favorite dish, pollo fundido, that I hadn't been able to find anywhere since I moved to this area. The staff has always been friendly while we were there and the food always comes quickly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    86
    39
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Great service, okay food”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was excited to see this restaurant had opened since the last time we visited Townsend. The staff was very friendly. The food was standard Mexican restaurant fare. I wished they had more fresh options. I had the El Pastor, which was incredibly greasy and the meat was very fatty. I couldn't even eat most of it. The flavor was just okay. The salsa was good, but the rest of the meal was not great. I wish I could say it was better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised. Service and food was good. I always ask for black beans instead of refried beans and some TexMex Restaurants do not have black beans. They do and that was a plus. We have tried several restaurants in Townsend and other than Subway have not found much. Glad to have this business in Townsend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lots of good choices”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a combination plate and fajitas. They were both very good, the portions were large and the service was very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank got2goaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and worth a stop”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was our first visit to the new restaurant and will not be our last. They have a nice easy-going atmosphere and great food. We had a hard time deciding what we wanted to eat due to the extensive menu. It all looked good. The wait staff was great and the food was great. Very generous proportions. We will definitely be back to try other items from the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Real Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monte Real Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing