We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat!”
Review of Back Porch Restaurant - CLOSED

Back Porch Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Smyrna, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ate here while on our vacation to the Smokies this year and it was awesome!!! The food was excellent, the service was great and the blackberry cobbler was the absolute best I've ever had!!!! The atmosphere is very comfortable and cute! Very clean. I had the Jack Daniels Ribeye and it was divine! My sister and brother-in-law both had the Rueben sandwich and said it was the best ever! My husband loved the blackened Trout! Definitely the best pace in Townsend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    29
    27
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food and friendly service.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner Saturday night and returned for breakfast Sunday morning. Food was very good and the service was excellent. Servers were very attentive. Frank is an excellent host.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curtis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, IA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Didn't get to eat”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We came in around 8pm on a Sunday night - the place was packed and we stood for several minutes waiting to be seated. Finally the hostess who was sitting and eating at a nearby table hefted herself over and rudely stated they were closed. No hours were posted anywhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kresler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went on Memorial Day weekend and ordered the fried chicken special...it wasn't.

The waitress forgot my salad, until I asked for it. It seemed to be more croutons than salad. Then she brought the main course - four pieces of fried chicken with sweet potato casserole and green beans. The sweet potatoes were above average, but the green beans probably came out of a can, and were bland. The fried chicken was average, and too greasy.

I've eaten here before, and it was better, so perhaps it was an off day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard19651965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“back porch”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

we stopped here after not seeing many other stops in townsend. it looked inviting so we took a chance. the older gentleman greeting visitors was very friendly as well as our waitress. the food was average, similar to what you might fix at home. one said the chicken tenders had too much breading, not much chicken; two of us ordered the trout, which was okay but not my favorite. the serving sizes were well porportioned. overall, not bad but not great-average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla-Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing