We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foothills Parkway

Foothills Parkway
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ride”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice ride in a car or a motorcycle. Pull off and snap some photos. Continue on to US129 and ride the Tail of the Dragon!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkaymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    56
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bonifay, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful as always”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We hopped on outside of Townsend. Very nice overlooks. Not very crowded. Several great places to spread out a sheet and have a family picnic. If you feel like a little more adventure then when you get to the end, turn left and ride Hwy 129 aka The Dragon but NOT if anyone is prone to getting carsick....I'm not kidding.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyfromFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went in September on a motorcycle. Beautiful and very little traffic. Actually rode it twice. Hiking trails also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dandee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“stunning sunset”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We left our hotel in Townsend, TN, to head up the Foothills Parkway looking for evening wildlife. We found it! 40 years of traveling to the Smokies and we saw our first black bear cross the parkway right in front of us! We traveled a little further up the parkway and a spot to view the sunset. It was spectacular! I think we found the best spot to view sunsets in the National Park! See photo. You be the judge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank twdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great mountain lookout.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Foothill Parkway is a nice drive through the mountains. Includes several beautiful overlook area. If you can hike the 1/2 up to Look Rock.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rickjr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foothills Parkway also viewed

 

Been to Foothills Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing