We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, nothing fancy could use some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice, nothing fancy could use some updating”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This hotel was just ok. It was very very clean which is always a plus, but it was very plain and somewhat dated. It was basically a motel. The workers at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel was very quiet, which was nice. My husband and I were disappointed that the breakfast on Saturday did not start until 8am so we could not eat anything before our bike ride at Cades Cove which opens to bike riders at 6am. There also are not any coffee pots in the room so we had to find a coffee at the local IGA. This was a huge downer for us.
Would recommend Thunderhead Coffee Shop down the road for a nice place to have Chai or coffee.
Overall good stay but we prefer something a little more modern.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tssweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyB242, Owner at Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Thank you for staying at the Highland Manor Inn and offering a review to Trip Advisor. As a motel owner and operator it is important to our business for people to have confidence in our property. We do take pride in offering a very clean and well maintained property and we thank you for noticing.
I am sorry that you were disappointed in our office hours and not being able to get breakfast before your early morning bike ride. The Highland Manor Inn, being a family owned and operated business, (28 years now) can't keep the 24/7 office hours many travelers expect. To compensate for the inconvenience to the early risers who stay with us, we have coffee pots available to loan to guests who want their coffee really early, and we pack breakfast for you to pick up the night before so you will be set in the early morning hours. I am sorry that there wasn't enough conversation between you and the front desk staff for them to discover your needs and fill them to your satisfaction. Highland Manor Inn would love to have you back again sometime to stay with us. We may be an older property, but still want to give great service and provide excellent accommodations for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    77
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
87
109
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SW Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 9 day/8 night stay @ Highland Manor...If you want a clean, peaceful, friendly, good value for your $, consider staying here. Our room was nice..we stayed in the original building on the 2nd floor. The first floor is built into the side of a hill so we were able to park by our door on the back side of the building. The grounds were well maintained. The pool was very clean. There were days we had the pool to ourselves for hours. The in-room fridge/micro made it nice so we didn't have to eat out all the time. The room was perfect for my husband and myself..if you have extra people you might consider a room in the newer building since those rooms are larger..you won't have the mountain view, but the tree view isn't bad.

They provide a wonderful selection of pastries, teas, coffee, cocoa, cereals, hard-boiled eggs...We took our breakfast back to our room to eat on the balcony...There is a wonderful 10 mile bike trail that passes in front of the motel and another 4.75 miles trail right in Townsend...We enjoyed the 11 mile bicycle ride in Cades Cove Wed/Sat mornings. It was only a short 22 minute drive over the mountain to Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area for those days we needed to see the commercial side of the Smokey's.

This is a wonderful family owned business and they have wonderful people working for them..Everyone was so pleasant, the office help, housecleaning, ground keeper..we never saw a negative attitude. All in all, we had a WONDERFUL time and can't wait to go back to Highland Manor Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheepdog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Reviews here in this TA forum were on the money. It's nothing fancy and it's a bit dated compared to the larger chains (if that's what you're used to), but it was kept very clean, it was relaxing and comfortable, and it was a nice change of pace from the over-the-top, traffic-choked main drags of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.

Very good base for exploration of the area, particularly hiking the TN side of the National Park, visiting Cades Cove, and day trips to either Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. The front desk staff was VERY helpful with just about any questions/recommendations you could conjure.

For families with picky kid eaters -- the included breakfast is basically hot and cold drinks, cereal and bread items in the lobby area. It did the trick for us.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

My wife and I visited the Highland Manor on our honeymoon, and we would definitely go back again! Very close to the National Park, great little Appalachian shops nearby. The inn is in sight of the mountains, and our room was spacious with a balcony. The room service was great, kept very clean throughout our stay. The breakfast was filling, and the staff were very friendly and helpful in pointing out places to visit. On our last day, our car had difficulty starting, and they were so helpful in getting it started! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Studenttrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Juliet
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Highland Manor is a cozy place to stay in an area that requires that you slow down and enjoy. The rooms were very comfortable, staff is great, view of the mountains is great [esp. for viewing the mountain mists after a storm], convenient to eateries, entertainment, and most importantly the Smokies and Cades Cove. I will be going back in the Fall and am most looking forward to the place and the people, who are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandererMt_Juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We have been returning to the Highland Manor for 14 years, and have been there in every season. Whatever the season or the weather, the Inn feels like home. This year, we looked for wildflowers and enjoyed the welcome of the local folks. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Wonderful place to stay, views were great & plenty of places to eat you could walk to. Everyone there really made you feel at home.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone with or without children.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzysquaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
0.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
493 reviews
19.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
659 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center

Property: Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Address: 7766 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, PO Box 242, Townsend, TN 37882-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#6 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Manor Inn And Conference Center
Highland Manor Hotel Townsend
Highland Manor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing