We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall in the Smokies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fall in the Smokies”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I spent three days with a photography workshop in and around Great Smoky Mountains National Park and chose the Highland Manor based on the very positive reviews on TripAdvisor (reviews of the "group motel" were very negative).
The Highland Manor is very comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained -- the carpeting, paint, wallpaper and furnishings in the room were all in excellent condition and the king room was quite spacious, including both a large sofa and an easy chair with matching ottoman. The mini fridge and microwave were clean and in good working order.
It turned out that I had to leave a day early, one-day short of the four-night minimum stay during the peak Fall leaf-viewing season. However, the desk clerk was very gracious and gladly gave me a one-day credit toward a future stay. I plan to be back.
I asked about locating a good latte and the clerk recommended The Chocolate Bar right across the street. While there is an extensive candy case, The Chocolate Bar is also an excellent coffee house with a killer pastries. All pastries are baked on site by a skilled pastry chef. There is ample table space and many easy chairs for lounging along with free WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LandscapePhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    73
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
85
102
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
205 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been coming to the Smokies for many years and have stayed at the Highland Manor Inn the past two times. We haul our motorcycle and find the gravel lot perfect to park the trailer in. We stayed in an upper room (#219) this time and even though there wasn't a window from which we could see the trailer, it was viewable from the door key hole. We had a beautiful balcony view and a wood burning fireplace. For $5, we bought a stack of wood and had a nice fire in our room. Loved it! The breakfast was the usual contintental meal, but they have yummy apple cider with caramel that I haven't been able to find anywhere else.

The rooms are very clean and even though they furnishings are dated they are in top notch shape. You can probably get a cheaper room but for me its worth the extra cost to be away from the traffic and to have a clean room, but most of all a place to park the trailer.

Room Tip: If you want a fireplace, I think there are only two rooms - 219 and 119. The upper rooms have a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just returned from our annual fall escape to the Smokey Mountains. Just made it in time for the Park to reopen. Beautiful weather the three days we were here. On this trip we saw an antlered deer, a bald eagle and a huge black bear standing right beside the road at Cades Cove!

We always stay at Highland Manor because we can count on the service, comfort and quality. Everyone is friendly and helpful. It's our place away from home.

You can pay more and get much less for your money even in Townsend. If you just want to rest and relax and wind down in a home-style setting, you can here. Wake up to the mist-in-the- mountains view right outside your window. And a note to all who want a coffee pot in their room: Just ask for one when you check in. They will provide you with a coffee pot, tray and everything you need to enjoy great coffee in your room.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs are bigger. The upstairs rooms somewhat smaller because of the private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickamaugaDibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is a real gem, tucked away high above the main road running through Townsend. It was pricey because I chose to go in the Fall season when everyone comes to see the leaves changing colour. It is spotlessly clean and tidy, set in a quiet area, and the rooms are spacious.
Reception staff were kind, friendly and helpful. They made such an effort to get me the room of my choice on check-in. They put a coffee machine in my room as I noticed I didn't have one. In any case, guests can get a free coffee from reception when it's open.
The breakfast area is quite small though there is enough space for guests, and it is kept spotlessly clean. I liked the brick chimney there and they have a number of books you can read or flick through. I noticed that guests are quite friendly in this hotel and everyone seemed to be chatting to others at neighbouring tables over breakfast. Also almost all the guests are elderly, with mostly retired people and no-one under 50 years old (except me!). Perhaps this is because Townsend markets itself as the "quiet" part of the Smokies. The reception area has a bird cage with small exotic birds from Australia.
Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and will definitely return if ever in the area. I wouldn't risk going anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with a balcony. Note there are no stairs to climb, as you simply...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wake up to a lovely view in the Smokies. The Highland Manor is in a serene setting in the Smoky Mtns. at Townsend TN. It is near Marysville, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We are repeaters to the Manor, because it offers all the things that are important to us. A lovely setting, friendly staff, cleanliness, spacious paved parking and a No Pet policy. This is a place where you can kick back and relax for a few days. Our room with a balcony, was spacious with a sitting area, king size bed, refrigerator, microwave and two sinks in the bath area. Other rooms may vary from ours. The balcony had a table and chairs so you can sit outside and enjoy the view or bring your breakfast to the room and enjoy it on the balcony. A limited breakfast is provided, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, bagels & rolls. Plenty of choices and a small eating area in the reception area. There are two gazebos on the grounds, plus a nice picnic area and a lovely outdoor pool where you can relax or sit and read. The whole facility is very clean and inviting. Some of the rooms have balconys and some terraces. Parking available by your room. There are restaurants close by, also a greenway for walking and biking. It is easy to get to the Smoky Mtn. National park, surrounding shopping areas and hiking trails from this location. The staff maintain a list of menus for nearby restaurants so you can easily make dining choices. This is a place for those who enjoy the jewels you find when traveling, but not for those who believe 5 star is the only way to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Home-By9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are repeat guests. We chose our first stay based on reviews & the close proximity to our home in Illinois. We discovered that Highland Manor has great service, large clean rooms with fridge, microwave, 2 sinks and a wonderful scenic location close to the Smokies, the Cherohala Skyway, the Tail of the Dragon & the Blue Ridge Parkway. Our balcony double queen room was a perfect place to unwind after a day on the road & trails. Wi-Fi was slower than our home 7Mbps but more than adequate for planning our next day activities. A very good continental breakfast in the small lobby allowed us to enjoy the company of other Highland guests. Little River Railroad Museum & Smokin' Joe's BBQ are right across the street. A well equipped IGA, Shell station & hot breakfast place (that will prepare a picnic lunch) are down the road on the way to Cade's Cove. If you are looking for an overnight away from the hustle and bustle, Highland Manor is the place to be!

Room Tip: Balcony Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adagio_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I always return to the Highland Manor Inn for a friendly welcome, fresh rooms, and a beautiful, calm setting! Townsend offers a peaceful respite from the congestion of surrounding areas. The Highland Manor is close to restaurants, on the walking/biking path, and offers lovely views. We enjoyed our coffee on the balcony in the early morning mist, and have made use of picnic tables and outside seating in the past. The only thing I'd change...... since I'm an early riser and there are no coffee pots in the rooms, I'd take my own next time. It was hard to wait for the office to open in the morning, to wander the grounds and enjoy my coffee. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaDotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
1.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
13.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
19.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center

Property: Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Address: 7766 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, PO Box 242, Townsend, TN 37882-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#6 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Manor Inn And Conference Center
Highland Manor Hotel Townsend
Highland Manor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing