We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst hotel and conference center” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst hotel and conference center”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Where do I begin? My parents rented the conference center for their 50th wedding anniversary. The place was dirty, the scenic deck was unusable, the table cloths were stained and they tried to charge $150-200 to remove extra chairs stacked up. They said you wouldn't notice them after you decorate. Really? There is also an old smelly torn couch and chair that they won't remove. That isn't even the worst part. There is limited parking and we filled the gravel lot and went into the regular parking (most of the guests were staying there so it shouldn't have been a problem). They interrupted the event three times to have us move cars. We parked where they told us and they came in again during my parents speeches and stopped them. Wait...it gets worse. Some of the guests told us at the event that their rooms smelled and were dirty. I thought they were exagerating until I smelled it. Wow! Awful! We were in cabins so we got as many guests in with our family as we could...no refunds were offered. Avoid this place!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here...camp, it will be cleaner and more comfortable than this
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kamlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGMAN242, Owner at Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I am surprised and disappointed that this family who rented our Conference Facility for a 50th Anniversary Party would review Highland Manor Inn with such vengeance, and I am truly sorry that this person is so very unhappy.
As the owner and general manager of the Highland Manor Inn (HMI) my staff and I worked many hours with the Bride of 50 years in organizing the event, suggesting caterers, equipment rental, and covering again every single detail that one could imagine for such a party. We thought we had it all arranged.
The rooms were cleaned and prepared as always for guests. When the family came into the Center they arranged the tables and chairs as they wanted. The lovely deck became unusable when the family decided to put a table in front of the doors leading out to the deck. Several upholstered chairs were removed by staff from the center, but since preparation had not been made to remove the couch, the family agreed the couch remain for some to sit on. Normally staff suggests that the extra chairs be scattered throughout the center so they can be used and not stacked to make a noticeable pile of empty chairs. Usually, when the Conference Center is rented, the majority of attendees are guests at Highland Manor Inn. Since this was not the case for their 50th Party, parking needed to be managed more closely and HMI staff should have paid more attention to this detail when the other guests arrived. I apologize and take full responsibility for this parking oversight and vow to do a better job with traffic control in the future. There were some rooms rented at HMI by family members, and from their comments, I had no idea this particular person was so upset. My Staff and I strive to have every guest that stays with us leave happy and glad that they visited the Highland Manor Inn. The challenge is here for the entire Staff at HMI to do their job the best they can so returning and future guests will be glad they came to the Highland Manor Inn. Thanks, Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    72
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
81
100
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners really care about their property and their guests. They made us feel welcome from the time we walked in the door. Our room was comfortable, nicely furnished and and very clean. We were going to the Smoky Mountains early in the AM and would miss breakfast so the night before they offered to pack us up breakfast (muffins and danish) to take with us! How great is that and what service! This is our destination again if we are ever in Townsend.

Room Tip: We had an upper level room and a great view of the Smoky Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geranium07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights July 19th - 21st. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are stocked with lots of towels which is good because there was a lot of activity at the pool. The plugs in the room aren't close to the beds at all which is annoying. Breakfast is small and the reception area isn't open all hours. This hotel has better service than others that are close by as some of my friends were staying next door. The hotel is close to several restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblingManTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Cute and well-kept place. We had a balcony room with king bed. The furniture is really old inexpensive-looking stuff, but functional. The bed was not very comfortable.
Room and bathroom were very clean. Tub/shower was good and shower-head had nice pressure.
Did not get to try out the pool or the breakfast.

Room Tip: Balcony room is nice and end-unit is even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msfeagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our first trip to the Great Smokies and we were looking for a reasonably priced, clean, and peaceful place to stay close to the park. This place was all of that! My only regret was that I didn't bring my bike to take on the bike/walking path which runs in front of the hotel on the Pkway! The free breakfast and endless good coffee was good and the little dining area was charming. Everyone was super friendly. The pool looked nice but we opted to do the Little River tubing trip and got our water fun fix that way! This was a wonderful place to stay and far enough away from the craziness of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Creek. Love Townsend and the Highland Manor Inn!

Room Tip: Our room was near the back and was pretty basic (two queens, microwave, small frig and balcony) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmsstamp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Extremely clean rooms. Beds were comfortable. Our children loved playing in the swimming pool, and loved the diving board. Staff was so very nice and friendly. Will for sure stay at Highland Manor Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying and we will be back! This is a family owned and run inn. The property is maintained in excellent condition and our king non-smoking upper room with a balcony was outstanding! We even had a 2 person Jacuzzi which we did use and a fireplace which we did not use with it being June. We sat out in the balcony in the evening and had a breathtaking view of the Smokies. Because the property sits back from the main road and there are a lot of big mature trees around, you don't hear the traffic. It was very quiet and peaceful yet very close to restaurants, art galleries and Visitor Center. The continental breakfast was very good. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inthevortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
1.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
13.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center

Property: Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Address: 7766 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, PO Box 242, Townsend, TN 37882-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#6 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Manor Hotel Townsend
Highland Manor Inn And Conference Center
Highland Manor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing