We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed her a couple nights as we were passing through Townsend. Have been to Townsend many times and enjoy the area. The rooms are very clean, staff is nice and it is really quite. You do not hear doors slamming all night long nor can you hear people talking through the walls like in other hotels.

Room Tip: The price was average wish they would have been a little cheaper. Did not see an exercise room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauladcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    75
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
86
106
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I selected this place for myself and a group of friends to stay while we visited the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and it turned out to be a great choice. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the grounds and facilities were well maintained. This place offers a nice peaceful and relaxing atmosphere just minutes away from the National Park and Cades Cove. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKM65610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice, basic motel. Well kept grounds and clean, very adequate rooms. We enjoyed our stay here in this laid back, relaxing location. Enjoyed the chairs outside the rooms where we enjoyed evening & morning visits with friends with whom we were traveling.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are great - they're less expensive and quite convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We usually stay at one of the bigger chains in Townsend , but decided to try Highland Manor for a change .It was very clean and the front desk clerk,( from Michigan ) was super nice and friendly .We will definitely stay there again . Nice continental breakfast and a tasty little restaurant across the street had a great breakfast buffet too !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Yogi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We pilgrimage to Townsend about two times a year, in the Spring and Fall. The mountains renew us like nothing else. We've stayed many places but our favorite place to stay is Highland Manor. It's unique. The staff is so warm and friendly that you feel like they could be your neighbors and their services are impeccable. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. I can actually sleep very well on their beds and I look forward to them instead of dreading them, which I've found in most motels regardless of the price. The continental breakfast in the lobby is a good choice for us if we want to rest a little longer in the morning. You can take your breakfast back to your room on trays provided if you like or you can eat in their lobby. They offer fresh bagels, muffins, Danish, sweet rolls, cereals, oatmeal, boiled eggs, orange juice, milk, and gourmet coffee and all the fixings. When we stay there I always feel like I've visited home away from home and old friends whose faces are as sweet as the mountains.

Room Tip: The rooms are all ground level but there are upper rooms (because they are on a hillside) that have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickamaugaDibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Even though I was a Marriott employee and could have gotten a room for $39 in Pigeon Forge, we always stay at Highland Manor. It's perfect for our needs. Only minutes from Cades Cove and easy access to Pigeon Forge by taking the road through Wears Valley. The rooms are a bit smaller than the larger chains, but not uncomfortable at all...cozy, in fact, and some include large jacuzzis. The morning views are excellent, particularly in the balcony rooms. The hotel is well-maintained and the grounds are tastefully landscaped and always well-groomed. The staff is outstanding. They're always helpful and very knowledgeable about current events that we might have missed otherwise. The continental breakfast is great for grab and go, but the best breakfast we've ever had in the Smokies is just a couple of miles toward the park (I forget the name) on the left just before leaving Townsend. Outstanding breakfast at a surprisingly inexpensive price. Other restaurants offer very good evening meals (just ask for recommendations at the desk.) Over the years, I've stayed at Highland Maor perhaps 6 or 7 times, and always will. I've never been disappointed. Try it. You won't regret it. John & Lynn Adams - South Carolina.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandman7522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Saw this place last trip when I was geocaching and decided to return for a night this Winter at an off-season rate. In fact, I drove an extra 50 miles to stay here. Love the area (when there are no crowds) and really enjoyed our brief stay. We stayed in an older room, but it was fine. A lot of care and maintenance has gone into keeping this place nice. The lobby is beautiful and a pleasant place for a light breakfast. The staff is amazingly friendly. I am glad Tripadvisor exists to provide a forum for visitors to share opinions and give the independent motels a chance to shine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ForgetThisPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
0.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
484 reviews
19.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center

Property: Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Address: 7766 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, PO Box 242, Townsend, TN 37882-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#6 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Manor Hotel Townsend
Highland Manor Inn And Conference Center
Highland Manor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing