We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay with some quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay with some quirks”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights with my hiking group. The room is clean and spacious for 2 people. The bathroom sink is outside the bathroom so it allows both of us to clean up at the same time. It is a quiet place to stay, except the air conditioning unit in the room is noisy. Location is convenient, closed to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, restaurants and a very nice chocolate shop & bakery. The front office doesn't open until 8 a.m. We got to the Inn on Sunday around 10 a.m. but the office was closed because they went to attend church service. They served an adequate self-served continental breakfast with bagels, small muffins, danish, instant oatmeal and cereals. They don't have a separate dining room, so the breakfast was served in the front office. It's crowded and difficult to get to some items and not enough place for everyone to sit down.

Room Tip: First floor, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elaw8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    75
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
86
106
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went on a road trip starting in KC, through the southeast and back. Our night at the Highland Manor Inn was, by far, one of our favorites. Friendly, clean, reasonably priced, with the Smokey Mountains in full view from our private front balcony, as well as the picnic area in back where we enjoyed the firepit. We hope to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort gibson, ok
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

So glad we chose to stay in Townsend. Its a quite little town, away from all the touristy towns like Gatlinburg and Cherokee. The motel was nice and quite. It has 2 levels, but front door parking on each level which was really nice. The people are really nice that work there and have all the information you would ever need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wada672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I actually stayed here in October of last year. Finally getting around to giving a review! The staff and owners of this hotel are incredible! So friendly and accommodating. The morning breakfast (included in price) is great...lots to choose from. And the lobby where breakfast is served is very attractive...nice fireplace, beautiful aviary of songbirds, and gorgeous view of the mountains! The rooms are spotless, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel is close to stores, restaurants, and most importantly, access to the park and the mountains. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: My room was in the building where the office/lobby is, which is convenient for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnoxRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We found the Highland Manor Inn to be a quiet and peaceful place for our getaway. Clean rooms, great continental breakfast and courteous employees. A quiet change from the Gatlinburg area but close enough for easy access. Great local dining aross the street. A definite "come back".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Highland Manor came at the end of a driving trip across America from Las Vegas to Tennessee. I stayed in hotels every single night.
It was just nicer, brighter and more comfortable. Also, the room smelled better and more natural. At the end of a long drive, we tend to repress bad or chemical smells, because we just want to rest and lie down. But when a room smells right it is very comforting and relaxing.
My only disappointment was that the Internet was a bit unreliable and slow.
But the staff were so helpful and genuinely friendly (as opposed to merely polite) that the atmosphere around the place was like the view from my bedroom i.e. second to none.
I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed at Highland Manor Inn a few times and it has always been a very enjoyable experience. The rooms are wonderful - clean, neat and comfortable. The price is great. The employees are friendly and welcoming. Highland Manor is a wondeful choice and is our new number one choice in Townsend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
0.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
484 reviews
19.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center

Property: Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Address: 7766 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, PO Box 242, Townsend, TN 37882-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#6 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Manor Inn And Conference Center
Highland Manor Hotel Townsend
Highland Manor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing