We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Recently stayed 4 nights at this Inn. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, bed comfortable, breakfast ample. Rates were reasonable and the proximity to local attractions made it more appealing. I will stay again when I am in this area and will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ava r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 294 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here perhaps half a dozen times over the years. I've never been disappointed. Townsend's a bit out of the way for anything except the Cove, but doesn't have the touristy noise or hype of Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. Very clean. Quiet. Far enough from the main highway, but easy access. Friendly, professional, courteous staff. Well worth the price. Always clean & well-maintained rooms & grounds. Nice place. Good people.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandman7522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We chose the Highland Manor Inn on the basis of previous Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. First of all, Townsend, Tennessee, is a wonderful alternative to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Access to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was straight-forward and there were at least a couple of good restaurants within walking distance of the motel. As others have mentioned, the staff at the Highland Manor Inn were very friendly, the rooms were comfortable and well-equipped, and the price was fair. We also enjoyed having a little balcony on which to hang out in the evenings.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor provides a slightly better view from the outside seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Love the staff here, so friendly. Great view of the mountains. Nice room. This is our third year and we plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Pick a room like 212 facing the mountains. It has a little patio, nice to have lunch there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilynbphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is our second time to Townsend and to the Highland Manor!! We love it here! Great views, very clean and very friendly and helpful staff! We stayed 3 nights and then after spending a night in Maggie Valley, we returned to the Quiet side of the Mountains and stayed another night here! We will return!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slvaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights and decided to remain an extra night to take advantage of Townsend.

Happy with the quality and would consider a return trip.

CLEAN-Yes. As most posters have stated this hotel is CLEAN. We have a 1 year old and felt no concern about letting her roll around on the floor.
DECOR-Yes. It is dated. Don't expect flat screen tvs and granite counter tops.
VALUE-Yes. I seldom leave hotels believing I received a value and here I did. Breakfast was well stocked and as advertised. We wished there were more fruit maybe yogurt, but those are our preferences and didn’t take away from the value.
LOCATION- We enjoyed Townsend. We spent 15 minutes in Gatlinburg and understood why they call Townsend the ‘Quiet side of the Smokies’. If you are looking for Carnival Barkers visit Gatlinburg-you won’t be disappointed. Townsend is a treat and I hope they resist the urge to pimp it out with tshirt shops and Chinese made Smokey mountain knick knacks. The people were especially nice and we enjoyed the relaxed pace.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank StationWagonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

After visiting the mountains many times, my husband and I decided to give Townsend a try. Imagine our surprise at finding an absolutely perfect place to stay just by chance. We had found a coupon in a travel brochure and liked the look of the place so drove up. It was love at first stay! Our room was clean and spacious; the staff was way above average. They were wonderful and made us feel right at home. The inclusion of continental breakfast and free wi-fi were great additions. We loved the Townsend area so much that we made an offer on a mountain home while there. We will be back to the Highland Manor Inn -- hopefully in just a few weeks!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grammyrosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.2 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,604 reviews
19.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
732 reviews
12.9 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#10 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center

Address: 7766 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, PO Box 242, Townsend, TN 37882-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: $107 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. Relax and feel at home while you're on vacation. The Highland Manor Inn was established in 1982 by Don and Sandy. They have provided fantastic, family lodging with a country-inn atmosphere for 30 years and counting. The peaceful, quiet hilltop setting is like no other. The Inn offers comfortable, exceptionally clean and well maintained rooms. Beautiful views. Refrigerators and microwaves are included in the amenities provided. Outdoor pool and kiddie pool. Playground. Firepit. Free Breakfast. Located in Townsend, TN. The Western Entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Near Cades Cove. Access the Townsend Greenway Trail right from the Inn for a wonderful bicycling experience. Hiking, fishing, golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Groupon and Agoda so you can book your Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Manor Inn And Conference Center
Highland Manor Hotel Townsend
Highland Manor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing