We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Pricey Food; Petty and Cheap Management!”

Trailhead Steakhouse
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Trailhead we focus more on the quality and perfection of our food and service than anything else. Our prices are the same or cheaper than all of our local competitors. Only difference is we try to offer more of a fine dining restaurant experience such as decorating our plates and the table cloths and candle light adds a very lovely touch. For the same price we pamper you with our generous hospitality. Come give us a shot, your Trailhead Steak & Trout House. Steven Haley (General Manager) has had excessive feedback from folks wondering why there was not a TRAILHEAD STEAKHOUSE in other areas, so keep an eye out for a TRAILHEAD STEAKHOUSE coming to a town near YOU!
Marianna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but Pricey Food; Petty and Cheap Management!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food was good. Pricey but good. What I did NOT like was even with food cosing $22-$35, they charged $3 for people to split a meal, since it cost money to wash an extra plate, knife, fork spoon and napkin. How Petty! I could maybe understand that with cheaper prices, but really, $3 because I retired couple, or young couple on honeymoon want to cut back on the cost and split the meal and you will charge for the napkin plate and silverware?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank karensmithmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven H, Manager at Trailhead Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Trailhead is now under new management, no longer a la carte! Every entree includes two side and we have now changed the name from the previous owners from Trailhead Steakhouse to Trailhead Steak & Trout House! Hopefully we will have the opportunity to persuade you differently than the previous owners. Our menu offers a 6 oz sirloin w/ two sides for only $11.95. We also have FRESH Rainbow Trout which includes two sides for the low price of $14.95 Also we do not have a share plate fee! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    204
    68
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great steaks anywhere”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Folks, take it from o'l Bullfrog, these folks know how to cook steak! The value for the food was fair as well. We had the special for $20.00 That was the steak and sides and it included your drink!
If your in Townsend TN. you really should give them a try.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bullfrogbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak and desserts... friendly service!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It seems that Townsend, TN is a dry county which, strangely enough, means they can serve beer but not wine or hard liquor. If you bring your own wine, there is a $3.50 corkage fee which is quite inexpensive! My steak (went there two times) was cooked perfectly and the bourbon pecan pie was totally awesome. Avoid the Caesar Salad as they don't have a clue how to make it properly. The house salad is fine. Prices are quite reasonable... if you order appetizers, be warned that the quantity allows sharing with two, three, four, five or more so ask about quantity before ordering an appetizer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have been in the area twice this year and eaten here twice as well. Last time had the grilled trout which was delicious. This time had the ribeye special which was good, would prob order the trout again next time. The staff was excellent, attentive without being cloying. They lit the candle for us on the table where we were tucked in a sort of corner area so it felt more intimate. Makes a nice place for a special yet affordable meal out. Will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustMetheV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good choice.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I met a friend here and tried it out. A fairly new place I gather. Steaks were prepared exactly right. Beer is available but only in bottles. Wait staff was friendly and prompt. For a steak, beer and a couple of sides, I paid about $25. We had a good meal in a quiet setting. I'd be willing to go back and see how they do with the trout.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trailsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trailhead Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Trailhead Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing