We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwich, slow service”
Review of Lil' Cuban Cafe - CLOSED

Lil' Cuban Cafe
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are located in the Trillium Cove Shopping Village right next door to Steve Norris's Art Studio. The cafe has three indoor dining areas,the Cafe Lobby, the Main Dining Room and the upstairs Party/Dining area. As an added bonus we also have the Cafe Patio outdoors where you can relax, enjoy your meal and take in the beautiful mountain views while listening to some of our favorite Cuban music.OPEN WEDNESDAY THRU SATURDAY 11AM TO 8PM SUNDAYS NOON TO 4PMCLOSED MONDAYS AND TUESDAYS
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived and were greeted promptly. There was adequate seating available. We ordered the fried pickles as our appetizer. They were good, but the service was slow. We ordered the Cuban sandwich and the Cujo sandwich. We also ordered fried yucca. We waited for what seemed like forever for our food and actually pondered paying for our drinks and going elsewhere. After we got our sandwiches, we were glad we didn't. The Cuban sandwich was probably the best sandwich I have ever eaten. The Cujo sandwich was good, but seemed a little dry. The fried yucca was good but slightly undercooked. We will revisit this restaurant based on the taste of the Cuban sandwich. Delicious! They were also a bit pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with all of us; it means the world to us! I wish that I could tell you differently, but anyone in the hospitality business will tell you that " the wheels of service don't always spin at the same speed...". I apologize for the wait, but we too are glad that you did......we are happy to say that we are NOT a fast food establishment and as you concluded, it was well worth the wait! In regards to the price of our food, we give out big portions for two reasons. One reason is that we feel strongly about no one leaving hungry, and the second is that over 90% of our customers do not finish their meals....in fact, most come back and tell us that they made a full second meal out of what they took home. So taking that into consideration, we think that the pricing is fair. At any rate, we would like to thank you for allowing us to serve you and your family and look forward to seeing you again. Until then.....Muchas Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 321 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

A great Cuban sandwich, along with rice and black beans that are just as good. The sandwich is huge! Nothing fancy, just great, well-prepared food and service. Our waiter, Noah, was very helpful and friendly and took very good care of us. Will go there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shadyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Let us take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write us your review; we really appreciate it! We are of course thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our food and we want you to know that we are very thankful that you gave us the wonderful opportunity of earning your business! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We just finished another dinner at Lil' Cuban Cafe. We have eaten there often since we moved here seven months ago. This is simply an exceptional place. Superb and tasty fare, reasonably priced, and service that is out-of-this-world. Our waiter tonite--Noah--was one of the finest folks we've ever met. He knew his job thoroughly and did it with excellence! Kudos to Noah, and to the restaurant owner who knows what it takes to have such an outstanding staff!
We can't wait to return and enjoy another delicious meal! This is the best Cuban food we've ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank larrrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with all of us, and specially for coming back to dine in with us again neighbor! We have made many friends since we opened our doors, and we absolutely love when people take the time let us know that we continue to meet their expectations! Noah is a great asset to the cafe and we are very lucky to have him as a member of our family. On behalf of Noah and all of us here at the cafe, thank you and congratulations on making your home here in beautiful Townsend, TN. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Oh my goodness. What a great meal. And the service. ..2 young kids that were fantastic. Now to the meal. I have eaten at the Columbia in Florida and this was just as good and maybe even better.

The meats were done correctly and the black beans, 2 kinds of rice, and plantains were just great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank insureu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

What a wonderful thing it is for all of here at the cafe when we hear back from our valued customers; it really means the world to us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We are very proud of all the dishes we prepare and of course the Cuban Sandwich when done right is awesome. Please come back and see us.... we look forward to seeing you again real soon! We promise you that we will never take you for granted!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I enjoy canoeing and bike riding in Townsend Tennessee, and I like to take friends with me on these fun outings, but to complete the experience I always end the trip with lunch or dinner at the Lil Cuban Cafe. It is a sure way to make the experience a great success because the food is unique, and the service is superb, thanks to people like Noah, and the other staff who try to make your dining experience enjoyable, and even fun. I am new to Cuban food, but I have quickly become a fan, and the Lil Cuban Cafe does it wonderfully.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 46havinfun66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Just wanted to drop you a short note to thank you for taking the time to write us your review; we really do appreciate it! We are very proud to serve the dishes we so carefully prepare, and we try to make every effort to ensure that everyone that comes in our doors leave feeling like family. On behalf of Noah and the rest of the staff here at the cafe thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, and specially for your continued support. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing