We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to Find, but worth it!”
Review of Lil' Cuban Cafe - CLOSED

Lil' Cuban Cafe
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located in the Trillium Cove Shopping Village right next door to Steve Norris's Art Studio. The cafe has three indoor dining areas,the Cafe Lobby, the Main Dining Room and the upstairs Party/Dining area. As an added bonus we also have the Cafe Patio outdoors where you can relax, enjoy your meal and take in the beautiful mountain views while listening to some of our favorite Cuban music.OPEN WEDNESDAY THRU SATURDAY 11AM TO 8PM SUNDAYS NOON TO 4PMCLOSED MONDAYS AND TUESDAYS
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice, quaint, Mom & Pop place with fresh homemade food. We love finding these kind of places. The food was excellent, and the price was right. The personal service was much appreciated. (I believe the owner waited on us) Portions were more than filling, and we had plenty to take with us. My only complaint (and it's not really a complaint) is that the pork on the pressed cuban was very moist, which made the great cuban bread a bit soggy. I really enjoy the crispy cuban bread that drops crumbs all over when you bite into it. The amount of meat on the sandwich made up for it though. The sandwich was loaded and very filling. I would highly reccomend this place if you like authentic cuban food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave34287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dave, thank you so much for taking the time to write us your review; we really appreciate it! As you would imagine, our goal is to ensure that we meet and or exceed the expectations of all who dine with us. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed our food and that is the reason we are here. I would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the problem you encountered with your Cuban sandwich and let you know that we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. As the sandwiches are built from scratch, part of the procedure is to drain the pork of the extra seasoning to avoid as you well described, the bread getting too moist. Sometimes in keeping up with the orders, we have made that mistake. I have discussed this with our kitchen staff, and we will do our best to avoid this in the future. We absolutely care about your comments and want you to know that we will never take your business for granted. Look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Lil' Cuban Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 321 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

the owners of a lil' Cuban cafe are very friendly. you pay an excellent price for a large portion of food. very clean restaurant. If you go away hungry you really didn't eat there. I had enough to take home for supper.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tractman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Please allow me to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with all of us; it really means the world to us! A lot of people come through our doors, and many have written us to let us know what they enjoyed about dining with us. As you can see, not many people's profile actually show their picture so sometimes, we have to think hard to remember who wrote us the review. Having seen your picture, we just wanted to tell you that not only do we remember you well, but also, we want you to know that all of us really enjoy serving you. Every time you have come in, you have entered our doors with a great smile and always so cheerful and understanding; we just wanted you to know how much we appreciate that! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We live an hour from Townsend and stopped for lunch while driving through, on our way to the Smokies.

The sandwiches were incredibly delicious. After most of the lunch crowd had left, we had a delightful conversation. with the owner. This was a surprisingly enjoyable lunch. I'm looking forward to having dinner there sometime. You can bring your own wine if you wish!

In the future this may be the primary purpose and destination of our drive to the Smokies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Causeim50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Just wanted to drop you this short note to thank you for taking the time to review us; it means the world to us. We are always happy to hear that we are doing our jobs correctly and derive great satisfaction from knowing that you and your husband enjoyed your visit with us. By all means, please remember to drop bythe next time you visit beautiful Townsend Tennesee, we would love to see you guys again. Thank you so much for allowing us to serve you. Until then, Muchas Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stopped in to try this place while staying in Townsend. I had the Cuban and my husband had the Cujo- both were great, and large, pork sandwiches. We have 5 kids, their meals were large portions as well.
The highlight I must say was the dessert! We had the Dulcecito Cubanito (Cuban Sweetie). This dessert was absolutely fabulous!! We'd go back just for it!
Great customer service, very friendly.
We highly recommend stopping in!
The Robinson Family

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheRobinson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Mrs Robinson, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with all of us; we really appreciate it!. We are dilghted that you guys enjoyed eating with us and we agree that the Cuban sweetie dessert is indeed worth the drive! I also wanted to compliment you and your husband on your family, your children were absolutely adorable and it was our pleasure serving your family. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Best Cuban restaurant in Tennessee! We've had Cuban food in lost of places in the u.s., this one rates up in the top. The servings are double sized, always go home with lunch for tomorrow

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hallie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Hallie, thank you so much for taking the time to write us your review; it means the world to us! It was truly a pleasure meeting you, and we are so excited to hear that you enjoyed our food! At the end of the day, it is all about serving you and ensuring that we meet, and if possible, exceed all of your expectations! It was a pleasure meeting you, and we hope to see you again real soon!....until then, Muchas Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lil' Cuban Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing