We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food and enviroment”
Review of Lil' Cuban Cafe - CLOSED

Lil' Cuban Cafe
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are located in the Trillium Cove Shopping Village right next door to Steve Norris's Art Studio. The cafe has three indoor dining areas,the Cafe Lobby, the Main Dining Room and the upstairs Party/Dining area. As an added bonus we also have the Cafe Patio outdoors where you can relax, enjoy your meal and take in the beautiful mountain views while listening to some of our favorite Cuban music.OPEN WEDNESDAY THRU SATURDAY 11AM TO 8PM SUNDAYS NOON TO 4PMCLOSED MONDAYS AND TUESDAYS
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful food and enviroment”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we went to cades cove for the day and stopped in the Trillium Cove Shopping Village for a minute to look around as it is fairly new to the area and we do not get up that way often. Most of the stores were closed, but the Lil' Cuban Cafe' was open so we decided to grab something to eat. The owner was so nice, even told us a little about how he became the owner of a resturant in this little town. The food was amazing!!! I would return there again, and will recommend anyone who asks to go check it out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Kelly, just wanted to drop you a short note to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with all of us; it really means a lot to us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and specially the food! We look forward to seeing you again real soon...from all of us here at the cafe, Muchas Gracias!.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    36
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Stop After a day at the Park!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've been trying to stop in for a year or so and finally made it! Very good food, nice portions, and reasonable priced. The service was great and the manage stopped in to check on us a couple of times. I got the Picadillo platter and my wife got the Cuban sandwich and shared it. Both dishes were excellent. We got the Cuban Sweetie dessert and it was great! We will be back for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JACoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
What a wonderful blessing it is for all of us to be able to enjoy the beauty of the Smokies; it truly is God's country! It was a pleasure meeting you both and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and specially the food! We apprciate you taking the time to write us your review, and we want you to rest assured that we will never take you for granted....so you will find us in the backgroung working hard to continue to ear the business of all our valued customers. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“MUST STOP HERE”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a great place to find in Townsend thanks to Trip Advisor! my code word is virgin LOL.. I visited in November ( sorry it took so long for this review). This place is fantastic. Cuban sandwich, pulled pork, black beans delicious! very fresh bread is delicious. Cant wait to go back.... will be back in May. Eddie, the owner came out to check to make sure everything was good. He has the best personality so much fun talking to him. we sat outside the weather was perfect. So glad we found this place we will be back . step out of your box try something different you will be glad you did

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diesel1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Absolutely no need to apologize.....we value all reviews and we are thrilled that you took the time to share your thoughts with all of us! It goes without saying that we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our food, we agree that it really does taste great! Also, from yours truly, thank you for your compliment, as you probably know by now, I do enjoy chatting with any one that walks through our doors....and specially our valued customers! Please come and visit us again and feel free to ask for me so that we can chat some more. I cannot begin to tell you how many wonderful friendships I have been blessed with since we opened our doors! Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, TN
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good, ethnic food in Townsend!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The food is very good and largely portioned. Owners seem to genuinely care about the food they serve and their customers. Service is very friendly. So, why not a perfect score? The quality of the food is insulted by the cheap plastic utensils. These are not even the best plastic but the cheapest plates, cups and flatware you can buy. It makes eating the food difficult and brings the whole experience down a notch. Take pride in your food and serve it with decent tableware.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Kelly, thank you very much for having taking the time to review us, and we want to thank you for your valuable input. I cannot disagree that you make a valid point in that the quality of the food deserves better. Believe me when I tell you that we take to heart the comment that you made, and I would like to point out, that we are aware that something needs to be done. Although you represent a very minute number of customers that have expressed similar negative comments regarding the dishes we use in the delivery of our food, we do want you to know that we are currently somewhat limited to what the health department will allow us to use (please read response to review titled "Great food, great staff” dated December 24th, 2012". Nonetheless, as a result of your comment, we want to point out that dishes, cups, etc....that what we currently use, are in fact NOT the cheapest that we could be using. In fact, it appears that these products are indeed very popular products which seem to be the standard for establishments that use disposable utensils such as , plates, plasticware, cups ...etc.Having said all of this, and without the need for any excuses on our part, and as a result of your valuable comments regarding this problem, we are going to immediately research through other distributors and see what if anything is available to improve on the sturdiness which is apparently missing leading to your comment. Please rest assured that we will do everything in our power to find a viable solution that we can accommodate in our current budget structure. After all it is a fine balance between implementing new supply products while holding true to not having any pricing increases in this so fragile an economy. I humbly invite you to call me directly at the cafe between the hours of 11:00am thru 8:00pm anytime Tuesday thru Saturday and leave a contact phone number and or e-mail where we can reach you. Our goal is to find potentially find a solution, and if we do, immediately implement it. At that time, we would also like to invite you (as our guest) to come and dine with us and take that opportunity to evaluate the solution we come up with to ensure that it meets all of your expectations.We are thrilled on your candidness, and want you to know that all that we try to do is about earning the satisfaction of all our valued customers...in other words, it is not about what we think, it is in fact all about what our customers expect from us!. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that we can get the ball rolling! (865) 738-3183 and keep you up to date,,,Sincerely Eddie Perez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Sandwiches are delicious with authentic Cuban bread and more than ample fillings. Very nice atmosphere and friendly crew who are happy to assist you with explanations of their offerings if needed. Reasonably priced for large portions that are served. Enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeepers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and recommendations with all of us! On another note, and more importantly, we want you to know that we really appreciate the fact that you gave us the opportunity to serve you! Thank you so much for stopping in and giving us a chance, and it goes without saying that we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing