We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lil' Cuban Cafe - CLOSED

Lil' Cuban Cafe
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are located in the Trillium Cove Shopping Village right next door to Steve Norris's Art Studio. The cafe has three indoor dining areas,the Cafe Lobby, the Main Dining Room and the upstairs Party/Dining area. As an added bonus we also have the Cafe Patio outdoors where you can relax, enjoy your meal and take in the beautiful mountain views while listening to some of our favorite Cuban music.OPEN WEDNESDAY THRU SATURDAY 11AM TO 8PM SUNDAYS NOON TO 4PMCLOSED MONDAYS AND TUESDAYS
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“So great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The salad was unique & so yummy! The pulled pork sandwich was amazing...so much food!
The staff was friendly & we enjoyed talking with them. Their "latte" was incredible, but a little pricey...even so I have gotten it twice it was so good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, but more importantly, for having given us the opportunity to serve you! Please come back and see us real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    36
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
215 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Cuban food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I've traveled to Miami several times and around the Caribbean and have enjoyed true Cuban cuisine - this place does it right! The food is excellent and authentic, down to the choice of plantain preparation. It lacks a bit in atmosphere because it serves this great food in styrofoam to-go boxes. Good food like this deserves decent china, so I can't give it top marks because of that. But if you're in Townsend and tired of the same pancake-o-rama that afflicts so much of the Smokies dining scene, try this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hank, it truly was a pleasure meeting you and we wanted to thank you for taking the time to write us your review. We fully agree that as you put it..." Good food like this deserves decent china..." and nothing would make us happier.....but at the risk of being repetitive, please read our response to the review titled “Great food, great staff” dated December 24th, 2012 and you will understand why it is that we serve in "to-go" containers. At any rate, we thank you from our hearts for praising our carefully prepared dishes and we of course look forward to continuing to earn your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We knew the first time we visited, it would be the beginning of a beautiful friendship. The 2nd time we visited, proved the drive was again worth it. Saturday we drove from Knoxville all warm in my Destin sweatshirt and enjoyed the best fried pickles and chooch sandwich. We decided we''re just going to work our way down their menu. We''ve recommended highly to all our friends to go visit. ( and invite us along with )
Try anything, try it all... oh! And leave room for desert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us your review; we absolutely appreciate it! It has indeed been a beautiful friendship and we want you to know that we will never take you guys for granted. We of course appreciate your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again real soon. Sorry about the delay in writing you back, as we may have mentioned, our youngest son got married on December 31st, and we were blessed to have been able to take a short vacation to celebrate the occasion. It is good to be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Went with a large group and everyone enjoyed their meal. We'll definitely go back. The owner Eddie is a sweetheart. Only odd thing is that your meal is served in to go boxes (I guess they don't have a dishwasher). Try one of the Cuban drinks (non-alcoholic). This place has more seating than it looks like, they have a small upstairs too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3D0Gnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us your review; it really means a lot to us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our food, and from yours truly, thank you for your compliment! In regards to the dishwasher, as it turns out, we do have one. The reason for the food being served in "to-go" containers is two fold. On the one hand, the portions we serve are large enough that the average person will make 2 meals out of one and to that end, it makes sense to anticipate this and save ourselves time by serving in these containers rather than traditional plates! Having said that, the real reason we serve in to "to-go" containers, is because our kitchen is upstairs and in order to be able to use the "dumb waiter" we installed, the health department requires us to transport all dishes from upstairs in "closed" containers for your safety. I admit that using these closed containers is a bit odd, but not only does come in handy when our dear customers don't finish their meals, but more importantly, although the health department mandate adds to our operational cost, your safety is priority one for us and we are very happy to do it! We look forward to seeing you guys again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Amazing Restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Some of the best food I have ever had in my life!! You must go and take your family . We loved the service and the food was to die for!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leigh55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Leigh, Wow!..... What can I possibly say other than Thank you so much for your your candidness and for taking the time to share. Please visit us again....we absolutely look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing