We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of Lil' Cuban Cafe - CLOSED

Lil' Cuban Cafe
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located in the Trillium Cove Shopping Village right next door to Steve Norris's Art Studio. The cafe has three indoor dining areas,the Cafe Lobby, the Main Dining Room and the upstairs Party/Dining area. As an added bonus we also have the Cafe Patio outdoors where you can relax, enjoy your meal and take in the beautiful mountain views while listening to some of our favorite Cuban music.OPEN WEDNESDAY THRU SATURDAY 11AM TO 8PM SUNDAYS NOON TO 4PMCLOSED MONDAYS AND TUESDAYS
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We knew the first time we visited, it would be the beginning of a beautiful friendship. The 2nd time we visited, proved the drive was again worth it. Saturday we drove from Knoxville all warm in my Destin sweatshirt and enjoyed the best fried pickles and chooch sandwich. We decided we''re just going to work our way down their menu. We''ve recommended highly to all our friends to go visit. ( and invite us along with )
Try anything, try it all... oh! And leave room for desert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ahardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us your review; we absolutely appreciate it! It has indeed been a beautiful friendship and we want you to know that we will never take you guys for granted. We of course appreciate your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again real soon. Sorry about the delay in writing you back, as we may have mentioned, our youngest son got married on December 31st, and we were blessed to have been able to take a short vacation to celebrate the occasion. It is good to be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 321 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Went with a large group and everyone enjoyed their meal. We'll definitely go back. The owner Eddie is a sweetheart. Only odd thing is that your meal is served in to go boxes (I guess they don't have a dishwasher). Try one of the Cuban drinks (non-alcoholic). This place has more seating than it looks like, they have a small upstairs too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3D0Gnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us your review; it really means a lot to us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our food, and from yours truly, thank you for your compliment! In regards to the dishwasher, as it turns out, we do have one. The reason for the food being served in "to-go" containers is two fold. On the one hand, the portions we serve are large enough that the average person will make 2 meals out of one and to that end, it makes sense to anticipate this and save ourselves time by serving in these containers rather than traditional plates! Having said that, the real reason we serve in to "to-go" containers, is because our kitchen is upstairs and in order to be able to use the "dumb waiter" we installed, the health department requires us to transport all dishes from upstairs in "closed" containers for your safety. I admit that using these closed containers is a bit odd, but not only does come in handy when our dear customers don't finish their meals, but more importantly, although the health department mandate adds to our operational cost, your safety is priority one for us and we are very happy to do it! We look forward to seeing you guys again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Some of the best food I have ever had in my life!! You must go and take your family . We loved the service and the food was to die for!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leigh55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Leigh, Wow!..... What can I possibly say other than Thank you so much for your your candidness and for taking the time to share. Please visit us again....we absolutely look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was in the area for a wedding and decided to check put Cade's Cove with my daughters before returning home. We stopped here for lunch and of course my girls were a little worried because it was something different. We were all pleasantly surprised to some of the best food we have ever had! I took left overs home and told my husband we will have to return. It's a 3 hr drive but it'll be worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JenellBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Jennell, sometimes that first step is the hardest one...and we are thrilled that you and your daughters gave us the opportunity to introduce you guys to Cuban cuisine. Please accept our most sincere thanks for allowing us the opportunity to serve you, and it goes without saying, that it brings us great happiness to hear that we met all of your expectations! We look forward to seeing you guys again real soon. Until then Muchas Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I are staying in pigeon forge for the weekend. A local in Townsend told us about this restaurant, and this is the best Cuban food we have ever eaten! If you have never had Cuban food, this is a great place to start, because they are great with making recommendations for you. We had an amazing Cuban sandwich and the picadillo platter with black beans, yellow saffron rice, and maduros (sweet plantains). We will make a point to take the beautiful drive down wears valley road from Pigeon Forge to Townsend just to go eat here from now on when we visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alaris7377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Hey Guys, I just wanted to drop you a short note to thank you so much for writing us your review; it really means a lot to us! We are very proud of all the dishes we make and are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We hope to see you real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing