We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Cafe

Black Bear Cafe
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
318 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We eat here at least once every time we visit the Smokies. The food is great and we had a great server. We talked to the owner and let her know how much we enjoyed it. They have a very reasonably priced special everyday. All the portions are large. Can't wait until our next Smokies trip so I can try something different.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    153
    39
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
465 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We eat here whenever we are in Townsend. This visit was just what we hoped it would be. Service is fast and friendly. You can tell there are mostly locals eating there and the employees seem to know them by name. I had a cheeseburger and my husband had the steak sandwich. Both were very good. It is really the homey feel and the friendly service that makes us want to come back here again and again. They have lots of great looking homemade desserts also.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Service ~ Good Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This food is just simply some of the best in town. It's home-made and served with a smile, and often a bit of local news. Chicken and dumplings was great and the grouper sandwich is always good, and it's served with homemade bread. This is always a good choice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, friendly cafe”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I ate dinner here. It is a small restaurant with about 15 tables and there were only a couple of tables vacant when we arrived. The staff was friendly and efficient. My husband had the fried grouper and he said that it was good. I had the homemade broccoli cheese soup and half a turkey sandwich which was also good. We ate for less than $20. They were bringing out to other diners the hamburger steak and some burgers which looked delicious. They had a good selection of homemade desserts but that will have to be for another trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

every time have eaten here it's been wonderful. Love the home bread and deserts. If you have not been here you should go. very reasonable price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank borem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing