We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and place to take friends”

Laurel valley country club restaurant
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A casual dining experience offering Lunch, Dinner, and Weekend Specials, as well as Full Bar Service. Enjoy the best views of the Great Smoky Mountain National Park from the Dining Room, Swimming Pool, or Covered Porches.
Townsend, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food and place to take friends”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had delicious meal here. Several friends and I reserved a table. Service was great, nice choice of bar drinks. Ate the salmon prepared excellently. Made you feel welcomed. Even though at a club they are open to public. If visiting the Smokies and staying in the Townsend area you should I've the place a try, you will not be disappointed. AND the view of the mountains is spectacular .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheffie1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice view with restaurant setting”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the Laurel Valley Country Club's Restaurant. The building was well maintained and even smelled "new". My husband had beef and I had fish. Both were delicious! The service was delightful. Typically, the restaurant serves bar type food, ie burgers, club sandwiches, etc. However, on Friday and Saturday evening, a full dinner menu is available, from chicken to steak. The bar area is separate from the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radiodj40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
305 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Go for the view -- and the view and the view and...”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The view. A very attractive restaurant with a nice bar and very nice staff. The food is decent, not great, but did I mention the view? (My spinach salad was decent; my companion's hamburger was only ok). We also enjoyed sitting at the bar and chatting with the young people working there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pass This One By”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Hair on the plate! Heated up frozen chicken. Stale bread on burger bun. Wilted lettuce for a salad. Clearly things have gone very wrong here in 2012. Save you time and money, pass this restaurant by, you will be glad you did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crochelle, General Manager at Laurel valley country club restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Sir ...Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We sincerely regret that you had anything less than an excellent experience. We have just hired a new Executive Chef and Head Server, in an effort to provide both great food and service. I invite you to to visit us again ...our treat ...and trust you will have a much more positive experience.
Again, we thank you for your patronage and feedback ...it is necessary for improvement.
Best-
LVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great food, but you may have to wait...FOREVER!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We ate here last summer when we stayed at a cabin in Townsend that gave us access to this country club and pool. The food and service was great that day....but today was another story... The food was still good, but the service was absolutely AWFUL!! It took the waitress quite awhile to even come to take our order...i had to get our menus...it took 30 minutes to just get our appetizers; then another 20 mins to get our meal. Once the meal came, 2 of the plates were hot and 2 were lukewarm. At least they took off the price of the appetizers "due to the wait" AND the lack of jalapeños that were SUPPOSED to be in the potato skins!! Ugh, such a disappointment!! We really liked this place last year :( but I don't think we'll be back again...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crochelle, General Manager at Laurel valley country club restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame ...Thank you for your feedback. While I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your food, I too am disappointed in your service experience. We are always seeking ways to improve all aspects of our customers experience. Please visit us upon your next trip to Townsend, our treat, as I am confident you will see improvement.
Many thanks again for your patronage and feedback.
Best Regards-
LVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurel valley country club restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing