We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Cuisine in the Smokey's”

Dancing Bear Appalachian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Dancing Bear Appalachian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Townsend
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dancing Bear Lodge's full-service restaurant, Dancing Bear Appalachian Bistro, is one of the finest Townsend, TN area restaurants. It offers casually elegant, regional cuisine. Enjoy simple fare from a menu that is refined, but not fussy. Family and friends gathering for a fun meal as well as couples seeking a romantic dinner for two surrounded by wooded views, are equally at home here.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fine Cuisine in the Smokey's”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Upscale dinning at it's best in Townsend, TN. Reservations are accepted and suggested. The menu changes daily, so you can always find something interesting. It keeps us coming back again and again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    56
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Service, Ambience”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

In April my wife and I had dinner at the Dancing Bear in Townsend. This is a large B&B (lodge) that serves dinner as well. Non-guests can make reservations for dinner as well as guests at the lodge, and that is what we did. We were seated and served promptly and our food was of very high quality - not inexpensive but worth the price. Some of the entrees are very creative and they make a point of serving food from local sources. I had asked if I could bring a bottle of wine from my cellar and they were agreeable. The wine was accepted graciously and the corkage fee was reasonable. We certainly will return, especially for special occasions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wino4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food but a little pricy.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

You definitely pay for the atmosphere and scenery. It is more uptown but the food was excellent. I liked the dining room it was very eloquent and the service was good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upscale”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Seems out of place in a country town. Upscale and opulent with good food and service. They take pride in their facility and it shows. Portion are a little light, but delicious. Nice romantic atmosphere tucked away in the hills. The grounds are beautiful as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
270 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“could do better”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Since this is the sister property to the world famous Blackberry Farm, one would think that their food would be good. We only had breakfast, and it was disappointing. I would hesitate to eat dinner there if they can't even put on a good breakfast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dancing Bear Appalachian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Dancing Bear Appalachian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing