We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KOA in Townsend...AWESOME!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Townsend / Great Smokies KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“KOA in Townsend...AWESOME!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We rented Lodge #3 (Trillium Lodge) at the KOA campground in Townsend, Tennessee, at the border of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

Check in was very informative and friendly, and the campground was very well maintained.

Our lodge was very nice, and sat about 7 feet back from the river. It had a deck with nice gas grill, table and chairs, and lots of room for our family of 4. A fire pit was placed at the edge of the river...this is where we spent the majority of our time.

There were lots of activities for the kids. They tie-dyed shirts and participated in the Easter Egg Hunt! They all had a blast! Everyone was so nice and we felt very comfortable letting our 12 year old and 10 year old explore the park.

We had a great time and I would highly recommend the lodges to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tears47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    46
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
107
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This campground is located in Townsend, TN. It was my first trip to the area and didn't know what to expect. All I can say is that this campground was the perfect one for us. I am not find of camping in busy areas that resemble a parking lot. We have a pop-up and camped on one of the river sites. We would definitely come back but might rent a cabin next time because they looked very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in a Kabin on the river and loved hearing its sound. The location is great for hiking and driving into Cade's Cove. Restrooms are clean and staff Is friendly. There is a family restaurant with good food within walking distance (Riverside Family Resturant) and a grocery store about 1 mile down the road. This was my second visit and I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chercarlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Grounds kept up nice with good staff. Showers are individual rooms that are large and have good water pressure and hot water. In off season there are no extra kids activities ie hayride,t shirt making, movies. The price was more than expected since pool and other activities were not available but oh well the location was goid being so close to park. Townsend is were to go to get away from the busy streets of gatlinburg and pigeon forge. we would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabforbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Recently stayed in a new lodge that is directly on the river. We were pleasantly surprised with the very large deck, the gas grill, the cast iron table and chairs, the fire pit that was right on the river. The lodge had plenty of room for a family- with a futon, 37' flat screen tv, Heating and Air, small fridge and microwave. The only thing missing was a stove. The only thing we would do differently is to take a skillet and pot to use the burner on the gas grill for some homemade biscuits and gravy for breakfast.

Only thing you need to bring is your fishing rods. We were there for Spring Break- i imagine the lodges will be completely booked for the summer with the premium tubing location on which they are located.

Highly recommend the campground for friendliness, cleanliness and overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

After many weeks of research on the Tennessee area of the Smokies, I finally decided on the Townsend area and the Townsend/Great Smokies KOA. We stayed here Aug. 21-26 in a travel trailer in one of the "deck" sites on the river. As with most private campgrounds, these "deck" sites are a bit small especially for big rigs. The big rig next to us kept blocking the entrance to our site with their vehicle, but it was not a big deal since everyone was friendly. On the plus side, sites are level with concrete patios (which are great for keeping the camper clean) fire rings and picnic tables. Campground was quiet, clean and regularly patrolled. You know it is a maintained campground when you see staff members pulling weeds out of campsites. Pool was decent sized, with nice lounge chairs and tables and the water was nice and warm. Also, the deck sites are along the river, but away from the highway side. I noticed the neighboring campground also had deck sites, but because of the way their campground was situated, their "deck:" sites sat along the highway. This made me glad I picked the KOA. We visited Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg and saw a few campgrounds there, which made us very happy we chose the less commercial and more beautiful Townsend area. Also liked that the bike path was right across from the campground. We enjoyed early morning bike rides on the trail. Overall, we were very happy with our stay in the Townsend area and the KOA.

Room Tip: I don't think I would spring for the deck sites if I returned; they were rather tight, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank czang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed in Cabin/Lodge near river. Enjoyed watching tubers go by. Lodge was top notch.
Outside patio, with grill and fire ring. Inside very clean, two tv's with cable, clean bathroom. Cabins located close to together, but it is a campground. Had outdoor movie on Saturday. (Rango)

Wifi in Cabin/Lodge not the greatest. No At&T cell service in Townsend, If you can live without your cell phone then I highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sycamore89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.7 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
490 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
2.0 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
11.5 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend / Great Smokies KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Property: Townsend / Great Smokies KOA
Address: 8533 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in what's known as "the peaceful side of the Smokies," the Townsend/Great Smokies KOA neighbors Cades Cove and the countless black bears, deer, plants and flowers that make their homes there. With the tranquil Little River hugging the property line, endless hiking trails weaving through the wooded tapestry surrounding the kampground and swinging bridges suspended nearby, each day at this KOA promises a new adventure. Nearby attractions like Dollywood, Tuckaleechee Caverns (a 25-million-year old cavern system) and miles of tubing and biking guarantee great fun for your vacation. On-site, visit the Little River Village restaurant for a batch of fudge, grab your tackle and cast your line and enjoy free wireless Internet during your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Townsend / Great Smokies Koa Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing