We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My partner and I just spent the night at the Gateway Inn in Townsend TN and our stay was simply wonderful. The reviews you see here on TripAdvisor are true. Because we made our decision to drive over to the Smokies from Nashville at the last minute, we were not sure we could find a clean, decent place to stay on such short notice. But we were fortunate enough to book room #15 at the Gateway Inn after reading about it here. Our price for the night was $89. Not bad for Labor Day weekend!

The Gateway is honestly immaculately clean and we felt at home there right away. We arrived late on Saturday but there was no need to worry about check in. Mike told us that we could check in anytime. Our room was very charming and had absolutely everything we needed. We had the King room and I can't think of a thing we didn't have. The bed was very nice and comfortable and there was a hair dryer (thank goodness because we forgot to pack ours) and a microwave. A very big bathtub/shower combo made freshening up just perfect. And there was no messy bars of soap or small bottles of shampoo and conditioner to deal with. Everything was in a nice dispenser in the tub and by the sink. We were pleasantly surprised to find our favorite shampoo-Neutrogena's rainbath in the tub dispenser! They didn't skimp on their guests and we really took note and liked that.

Rocking chairs sit outside each room and as I stepped outside Sunday morning I saw that a beautiful gray and white cat was sitting by our door. I sat down in the rocking chair and she came right over and settled down into my lap when I picked her up. What a completely peaceful time sitting there just relaxing and looking at the mountains. The morning was cool and crisp and Mike was out saying hello to his guests. One couple we met said they had found the Gateway here online and that they would never stay anywhere else. They considered themselves "regulars" and I could certainly see why. I slept like a baby and woke up refreshed. Our room was so homey and nice that I didn't want to leave! One of the best things about the Gateway too is that it is in Townsend on the "peaceful" side of the Smokies. We were happy to be out of the traffic and chaos of Pigeon Forge and spent most of the day Sunday relaxing in Cades Cove.
We want to thank the Gateway Inn for a wonderful stay. When we commented on how clean everything was we were told that although everyone seemed to mention that, that it was just normal to them. That's just the way they do business and wouldn't have it any other way. If you want an economical basic place to stay, the Gateway Inn is it. Although not a big luxury hotel, I was quite comfortable there. These guys have the best place in Townsend. We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoralBlueSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    99
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
144
234
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Step back in time to those great years of the 50s and 60s. Remember those family trips when you were a kid. A great little mom and pop place to rest your head. Rooms were very clean, the staff extreamly friendly. We look forward to staying here again as we travel to that area several times a year. If you are looing for a great place to stay without that chain hotel feel this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuthernTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

A mom and pop hotel - perhaps 1 star rating. While the room was clean and nice, the A/C roared all night long. I guess for the cheap rate we got, it was worth it. If you're a light sleeper, beware.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The reviews about the hotel being clean are true. It was a vacant motel that was remodeled about a year ago. Pool had not been put into service. The staff was very nice and helpful. Townsend is a nice quiet town with enough in it to make a good base to visit the Smokies. It is on the edge of park.

The only ding I have is that when I made the reservation the guy told me they had one room left, I really needed two. When I got there there were only a few rooms out of the 17 that were rented.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We called ahead to let them know we would be late. They gave us a room # and left the key for us. Soooo surprised when we opened the door ...the room was absolutely beautiful!! A guest basket of snacks on the table was very nice. We took our grandchildren and they included "kid friendly" items in the basket. Truely, very accommodating, very very clean, wonderful wonderful visit. We love staying on the Townsend side of the Smokies. It is much quieter and so peaceful but never found a good place to stay until now !!!! We will go back over and over!! Can't say enough good about the motel, grounds, and owners!!!! Lovely, lovely lovely !! Joe and Pam, Hamilton Ohio

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here in July 2010. We planned to stay two nights but we were so happy to have such a nice place , we stayed a third night. The family that owns the place was so friendly and helpful. We truly enjoyed visiting with them. We did a driving trip for 24 days in 15 different states and this place was the very cleanest place on our entire trip ! There are rocking chairs for folks to sit in right outside the door of the room and we made full use of them. It was so relaxing !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtoysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david3117, Owner at Townsend Gateway Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nappanee, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We have stayed at Gateway three times now since May.We keep on coming back because it is spotless and the owners are the best. The owners do everything they can to make you feel at home.What a difference from the big chains.If you are looking for a place to stay,here it is.The prices are great and rooms are cute and very clean. We will be back again!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank behoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david3117, Owner at Townsend Gateway Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
To our friends in Nappanee, Great to see you again, Our day is always a little brighter when you are here. We look forward to your return. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,207 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing