We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, one trick you might need to try”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townsend Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beware, one trick you might need to try”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

OK, didn't mean to scare you with that title. BUT.....

My wife and I love Gateway Inn. But in their drive to be ECO friendly, they about drove me nutty. We stayed several days and enjoyed everything except the cleaning crew.

On night one, we walked into a sauna. Out side temperature was 80 and the room was about 85 degrees. This is understandable because no one wants to waste the AC on a vacant room. But it did not cool off until the wee hours of the morning and neither of us slept well.

The next morning, we showered and headed out for our first hike, a 1/2 day route.

Before leaving the room, my wife told me to NOT pick up the towel on the floor behind the toilet where she accidentally dropped it as she wanted it replaced. We also left the AC on a reasonable setting of 78 so the room would not be sweltering when we returned.

Returning 5 hours later, covered in sweat and four layers of trail grime, we found the room picked up. But the same towel was back on the rack and the AC was turned off. We went back down to an ice cream shop to cool off and headed for out next adventure because the room was too hot. Housekeeping kept turning off the AC with record heat in Townsend.

Didn't appreciate the note from housekeeping on the last day that I should leave them a little tip on check out. I should have left them a note to do their job and not tamper with the AC settings.

So here is the trick: Have a talk with the guys that run and own Gateway Inn (they are wonderful) and take the AC's remote control when you leave your room.

My wife and I WILL STAY AGAIN. It really is a good place. I just don't want you having the little glitches tempering your enjoyment of the place.

Gateway Inn is probably our new favorite place to stay and we loved the goody basket in the room; nice touch.

This is not your local cheap chain motel. These guys put a lot of thought and hard work into each room. As another review stated, "It is more like a Bed and Breakfast than a motel".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    100
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
147
236
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of June 2012. Older motel, but it has been restored and is soooo nice. Each room has quilts on the beds. It feels more like a B & B rather than a motel. In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee. They gave us a small basket of goodies (breakfast pastries, pretzels, crackers, etc.) and our choice of coffee or tea. It was more like staying with a friend. Great view with a front porch with rockers. Right across from the river and a waterfall, which we could hear from our porch in front of our room. Very good price, and they even gave us a discount because we were staying so long. We highly recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, GA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed June 24, 2012 and were 100% satisfied. Not only did the rooms look great, there was a family atmosphere that made us feel at home. TV reception was great, refrigerator and air conditioner worked perfect. We did not hear the usual loud noises we hear when staying at the big national chain motels. There is a walking/bike trail (paved) that runs the length of Townsend just in front of the inn. I would recommend Townsend Gateway Inn to anyone. We will definitely stay there the next time we are in that part of Tennessee.

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway and the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adairsville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our vacation to the Smokies. This is an older motel, but the owners have taken great care to update the rooms. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HereIam419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I came to this Inn because we read all the good reviews on trip advisor. The room was beautiful. I love that they have a pair of rocking chairs on the porches in front of the rooms that look out to the beautiful view. I feel like we got so much more than what we paid for. We would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

2-Days & 2-Nights of Our 2-Week May Road Trip, In The Less Crowed Off-Season,
Included Lodging At The "Townsend Gateway Inn" In Quiet Townsend TN.

We Decided On Townsend Because I Had Stayed There A FewTimes Before
& As A Senior & Nature/History Lover I Appreciated The Quiet Small Town Feel
& It's Easy & Close Access To The Great Smoky Mountains National Park
(& Cades Cove - The Lovely Pastoral Homestead Area of Days Gone By,
Often Clogged By Bumper-To-Bumper Tourist Vehicles In The Summer & Fall Months).

We Chose "Townsend Gateway Inn" From Trip Advisor
(Since My Other Motel Choice Said They'd Double-Charge Us
For Our "Mother's Day Sunday" Stay.).

Our First Impressions Were Ominous - On Arrival No One Was In The Registration Office
& It Took 2-Phone Calls (10-Minutes) On Their Office Phone
Until Someone Arrived to Check Us In.

We Liked Our Clean First Floor Room, With Car Parking In Front, Very Much
With It's New Dark Wood Floor & Rocking Chairs On Our Front Porch
Within Sight & Sound of The Waterfall on The Little River
Directly Across The State Highway.

There Was No Complimentary Snack Basket in Our Room
(As Stated In Trip Advisor Write-Ups)
But The Oversight Was Corrected When We Noted It
To One of The 2-Brothers & Their Sister Who Own & Manage
The Pleasant Motel-Like Lodging.

A Few Other Missing &/or Broken Room Items (Like Light Bulb, Refrigerator Freezer Door, & Location of The A/C Switch) Were Taken Care of Immediately Following The Report of Our Concerns.

It Was Early In The Season & The Brothers Were In The Process of Renovating
One of The Other Rooms, So These Oversights Can Be Excused.

Being "Country Boys At Heart", We Were Particularly Impressed By Mike, Whose Genuine Friendliness Was Much Appreciated & Enjoyed (He Even Gave Us A Second Basket of Snacks The Next Day & A Bottle of Fresh, Cold, Spring Water He'd Filled Himself That Morning From A Public Spring Tap In TGSMNP : )

The Town of Townsend Is Growing,
The "Apple General Store" Gift Shopping Complex North of Town
Was Great For Browsing & Buying : ) -
Although The Restaurant Upgrades Usually Found In Towns Adjacent To National Parks Are Very Limited or Non-Existent Here.

While In Townsend, I Had A GREAT Ribeye Sandwich At The Crowded "Back Porch Restaurant", The Best Cheeseburger I've Ever Had At The "Chick (Something??)"
& The Worst Breakfast, Service & Attitude of Anyplace I've Ever Eaten At,
At "A,J's Harvest Restaurant" With It's Deceptive Online Menu.

Thanks To "Gateway Inn" Mike For The Good Recommendations : )!
The Staffs At Townsend's Establishments Can Learn About The Importance
of Good Guest Relations From Mike,
And The Owner of "The Front Porch" Who Kept Us In The Communications Loop
Thruout Our Long Wait.

We Loved The 20-Mile Forested River Road In TGSMNP Along The Cascading River,
& The Aerial Tramway In Crowded, Commercial, Touristy Gatlinburg -
But I Wouldn't Like To Live There.

We Took The Curving 25-Mile Dirt & Gravel Forested Mountain Ridge Back Road From Cades Cove Back To Townsend (Although The Entrance Sign Said It Was Just Going To Be 12-Miles)
& A Side Trip To See Pidgeon Forge TN. We Didn't See Dolly, But We Enjoyed A Very Crowded But Good Mother's Day Lunch At "The Potter's Barn Restaurant" There.

Following Our Stay We Headed Southward Across TGSMNP, & Northeast Along The Entire Magnificent Connecting 469-Mile Blue Ridge Parkway, & Connecting 105-Mile Skyline Drive of Shenandoah NP (For A Grand Total of Well-Over 600-Miles on National Park Service Properties,Where Lots of Colorful Rhododendron, Flame Azaleas, Mountain Laurel, & Blackberries Were In Full Bloom).

Room Tip: Every Room Faces The Little River, Across The 2-Lane State Highway (Which Was So Quiet At Night Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adventur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

my friend and I stayed at the Gateway for 3 nights in May. Other reviews were spot on, very clean motel, with great staff. Location made the Smokey Mountain Park easily accessible. Not a bad drive to Knoxville either. Townsend is a nice little town, quiet and right on the river. I certainly would stay at the Gateway on my next visit to the Smokies.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank its1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.4 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
187 reviews
11.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
656 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,268 reviews
12.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Property: Townsend Gateway Inn
Address: 8270 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing