We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and private”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dock's Motel & Cabins
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Sharpsburg, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and private”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the River Cabins and it was very clean and well maintained. The cabin is very cozy and a neat little place to stay. It was right on the river and so peaceful. Walking distance to pretty much everything in Townsend and only about 15 miles or so to Gatlinburg. The best part is you get to come back to the cabin away from the crowds of it all and just relax on your private deck overlooking the river! We have stayed in the more expensive places and did not have much to say about the service or the accommodations. The staff at Docks makes you feel just like part of the family and they are actually glad you are visiting. It really does feel like home away from home. I would highly recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a great get-away and stress free time. I am looking forward to my next visit already!

Room Tip: The cabins are a great choice for couples! All rooms are of high quality and comfortable, but those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
50
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stay at Dock's every July. I love this place and the owners. Dock's is located in the center of Townsend and close to Cades Cove. I have never been disappointed. Quiet and the rooms are large and I really like that you can pull right up to your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Once again, the reviews here were spot on about Dock's. We enjoyed our stay there very much and the price even more. It was so nice to pull right up in front of our room. Not many of those old-fashioned motels left anymore. The room was immaculate. The room was very large. Perfect for our four-night stay. Dock's is close to the national park, but the town of Townsend is quiet and lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryinBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsboro, Al
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was a great place, we were able to reserve on short notice with a real perosn !! Quiet and loved the private porch for enjoying the evenings, side porch and yard for walks and grilling your own dinner. Very clean and adeqate for a weekend stay. They really take pride in the property, we plan to stay again in Fall or when we are back in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottontown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
214 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our room was very clean and the owners proudly display their inspection scores of 100 (facilities plus pool). They did not disappoint. My friend and I were going fly fishing and there was plenty of space in our room to get ready for our day. the room looks like it is from the 1950s but it all looks brand new and it was all very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleS820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We very rarely stay at motels but this place is a gem! Our room was extremely clean, spacious and the staff were very nice. I think our room was cleaner than most of the high end hotels we stay at. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shel2665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wartburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This wonderful little motel is as clean and comfortable as home- without the chores and responsibilities of course. The cabin we stayed in was relaxing and comfortable. The oversize king bed and its homey quilt was a welcoming sight. The owner and staff were friendly and helpful. I certainly will return to these homey accomodations when visiting the Smokies again.

Room Tip: Call ahead. Rooms and cabins disappear quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulldog_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#48 of 78 in Gatlinburg
238 reviews
20.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
11.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock's Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock's Motel & Cabins

Property: Dock's Motel & Cabins
Address: 8219 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4307
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing