We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dock's Motel & Cabins
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took a chance on this hotel.....and OMG this is the cutest mom and pop hotel!!!!! Cabins right on the river!!! Very clean room. I could have stayed here for a week. There is a good walking trail along side the road that goes through Townsend. Horseback riding right across the street.
I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarbro_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We researched this place before going, and was very disappointed in what we got.. The rooms are from the 1940s. No updates at all have been done. When the neighbor next door flushes you hear it. No secure locks on the doors, just chains, and a chair in front of the connecting
room next door. Was advertised as queen beds, but were only double. Window units for air, and space heaters for warmth. When I confronted the owner about the beds, all she did was take me to another room, and showed me what a double bed looked like. It was the same bed. Mattress are old, towels have holes in them, and we had to go to the dollar store to get bath soap, as the only thing in the shower was hand dispenser with hand washing soap, like gas stations have. Cramped, with old tvs, that the reception goes on and off. There is WIFI, but as I went into the office to get the code, there was another customer complaining that he couldnt get reception. Advertised cabins, but actually there are just cheap houses constructed very close together. Could have stayed in Pidgeon Forge for half what I paid for this thing. Cheap carpet, garage sale furniture... Dont stop, when you see this place, run.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bamahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Dock's in July, 2012. Our rooms were nice, quiet and clean. Service was great. Stayed 2 nights and wanted to stay another, was no problem, just moved to another room. The knotty pine decor is beautiful, gives you the feel of being in a cabin. Several restaurants nearby. Close to Cades Cove. Beautiful scenery all around you.
We plan to stay here again in October! Great Value.

Room Tip: double queens are a bit larger than the full size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlasikLadyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Wert, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

You can not beat these cabins by the river!! You can sit out on your deck and look out to the river or take your chairs and sit right by it. These cabins are clean and have everything you need! Stayed there last year on a hikeing trip and took my wife there last month and she just loved it!! Next time we go to Townsend we will stay at Dock's!! The people that run Dock's are awesome people!! Please give Dock's a try, you wont be sorry that you did!!! Greg from Ohio

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My family has been to Dock's the last 4 summers and can't wait to get back every time. The perfect location right outside the mountains and between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. It is also right down the mountain from Cades Cove where we have seen bears every year so far. The staff is wonderful and most importabtly the rooms are kept up and CLEAN. River access is also really nice along with a nice pool. Cheap prices as well.

Room Tip: If it is just two then get a river cabin otherwise take a cabin by the pool. NIce big cabin at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been going to Docks Motel every year since 1998,sometimes 2 or 3 times a year.My wife and I have stayed in several of the cabins there and have always enjoyed the stay.Since 2005 we have been going up every August for a family vacation and staying in the lodge.Our group has grown so large now we end up getting the lodge and 2 or 3 motel rooms.The motel part at Docks will certainly send you back in time to what the family owned motels used to be like,clean,retro looking rooms with a fantastic staff.Our group likes staying at Docks for many reasons,right on the river,walking distance to dining,tubing,horseback riding and even with other vacationers staying there a sense of privacy and having your own place,are just a few.When the time comes to get into the crowd and see the attractions at Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg both are only a 20 -25 minute drive away.Both drives are peaceful and scenic.As many years as we have been going,there are so many things in the surrounding area we say we are going to do each year but we never do,seems like we are all just happy to be around the river and the things that are just right in walking distance.The local people in the Townsend area are some of the friendliest you will ever meet,they just treat us like normal people.There is a restaurant close by that we eat at every year that has had the same wait staff for at least 10 years.When we come in the door the first time every year they know who we are and even remember what some of us drink with our breakfast,lol.Docks Motel has become a special place to my family and Sharron the owner has become like a friend to us and she will to you also.For a nice homey vacation,a quiet romantic getaway or as "basecamp" for many area attractions Docks Motel will never let you down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had stayed once before in the motel part of Dock's but this time we stayed in one of the River Cabins. Had our own little porch on the back that faced the river complete with rocking chairs and a picnic table. The Cabin was clean and comfortable!! Nice staff and owners were great to deal with. There was another picnic structure with grills and tables near the swimming pool. It was fun to play in the river. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in River Cabin #18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
11.9 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock's Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock's Motel & Cabins

Property: Dock's Motel & Cabins
Address: 8219 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4307
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing