We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst trip ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Daze Campground
Townsend, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst trip ever”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our stay at lazy daze was horrible it made our tent smell awful my friend sliped and hurt her neck we did not stay our entire time it theas gross we could not sleep because it was too loud the pool was gross there were bugs in it the mud ruinined my shoes the womens bathrooms were not functional the mens room had no locks both the showers were gross

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank co s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    8
    7
    16
See reviews for
45
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newland, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We checked in at this campground on 8-1-2012. I wish that I had never booked a cabin here because they will not refund your money! We had not seen the camping cabin we booked before we signed the form but that did not matter to the managers. They told us that they would not give a refund under any circumstances. There were LOTS of problems with the facilities. The camping spots are very small with almost no parking space for one small car. I do not know what you would do if you had a truck. The screened front porch was so small you could not hardly open the door to get past the rocking chairs. If more than one person was on the porch at a time you could not pass them to get into the cabin. The cabin was dirty and very musty! The cabin was also horribly hot. The owners will not run the ac before you check in to save on energy costs. I could understand this except that the ac units are so old that they will not cool off the cabin quickly enough to be able to sleep at night if they do not run all the time. The bed of the cabin was in a SMALL room divided by a wall from the ac unit. We had to leave the ac on the entire time so the person in the bed did not burn up. However, whom ever was in the living room on the futon couch froze to death. Also, the owners told us when we booked the cabin that there was enough room to use an air mattress. But, you could not walk between the futon bed and the air mattress with out climbing. There was no where to store anything! The bathroom door would not shut all the way. The kitchen sink sprayed water everywhere when you tried to use it. The cabin was infested with ants!!! The owners told us that you could not put any food in the cabin. They said it had to be stored in your car. You were told not to put any trash in the outside cans because they have bears. What happens if the bears get a whiff of the food you store there? They also lock the dumpster, so, I am not sure how one gets rid of trash. The pool was small but clean, however, the bath houses were old, smelly and dirty. The worst part was the management. One of them actually used curse words at me when I asked for a refund! They kept lying every time I went in. They made ugly gestures after we drove past them for the rest of our stay. They told us not to worry if we did not have ac but their office was kept at 60 or below. However, the "camp store" did not hardly have anything in it except lots of Mary Kay products. If we had the money we would have gladly left and went somewhere else. We will not stay there again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MCJC274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Camping cabin was filthy! Footprints were visible in the tub! After placing groceries in kitchen we learned it was infested with ants!!! We promptly notified the management, they did nothing, no spray, no care, no reaction only excuses. 24 hours later they still had done nothing. No refund. We had paid for all the nights and then had to pay again for a hotel for the rest of our visit. Don't waste your money here!

Room Tip: Look before you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buforddillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I am so glad we decided to try out Lazy Daze Campgrounds for our family get together. The cabins were clean and the staff were extremely helpful. When we checked in the staff offerred us discount tickets on tubing which was next door. They were also helpful in providing us discount tickets to the Aquarium. They went out of their way to find us the best zip lining package for our group and even made the reservations. The staff went above and beyond what was required of them and we appreciated all of it. I say the staff because it wasn't just one person it was all the staff. I would recommend you giving them a try and be mindful of what is listed on their website for items you need to bring.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tstanley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Have stayed here often over the years , love it here , always find it clean , very nice people in office & maintenance , pool is clean , etc , river behind it , only 1 mile from Great Smoky Mountain National Park & 8 from Cades Cove , 19 from Gatlingburg & 15 Pigeon Forge

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katecarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wartburg, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I made plans to stay here on the 5/2012 for my sons birthaday. I do not have anything good to say about this place or the people that I met, what little time I stayed there which was just a few min. It was nasty the sofa looked like something they found at the dump. There was no beds, the smell was awful. we walked in and my kids wanted to leave. I would not suggest that any one stay here unless you bring your own tent and things. I didn't see the bathrooms however if they look anything like the cabins you better off in the woods. They will not give refunds either so before you pay ask to see the cabins.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have read a lot of the reviews about Lazy Daze Campground, just to see if others had as pleasant an experience as I did. I see that most reviews prior to this are not all that good. I recently visited the weekend of 4/12 - 4/15. I was surprised to see that the staff was very friendly and willing to help in any way they could. The maintenance man came out to my site to make sure I got into my site ok and introduced himself, telling me how to contact him if I had any problems with the site. The office staff was quick to greet me upon arrival and were very courteous during the check-in process. My site was prepared for me they even did a quick touch-up just before I parked. This was the best service that I have gotten in all my camping days. I DID NOT experience any of the problems previously posted. It seems as if most of the issues have been addressed or are being addressed. I recommend giving them a chance to improve on your past experiences, after reading the reviews the far exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: As this is a campground they do not offer room service or a fitness room. Sleep quality is as you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuggedCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsend hotels
0.6 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.9 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Daze Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Daze Campground

Property: Lazy Daze Campground
Address: 8429 Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Lazy Daze Campground Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing