We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big group we had a great time !!”
Review of River Rage

River Rage
Ranked #17 of 21 things to do in Townsend
Attraction details
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

We went with 10 families and all had a great time. They made sure we all got tubes and got dropped off together. We had children of all ages as well as adults. Definitely recommend. We also packed lunches and drove through Smoky Mountain and had a great lunch with a view in a picnic area.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Stronggirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tubing companies"
in 13 reviews
"cool water"
in 3 reviews
"water level was low"
in 4 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 5 reviews
"whole family"
in 6 reviews
"blast"
in 26 reviews
"activity"
in 12 reviews
"rafting"
in 8 reviews
"coupon"
in 6 reviews
"bucks"
in 4 reviews
"creek"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 239 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful scenery and a slow ride down the river with some small rapids to make it interesting. Spots along the way to stop and relax make this 1 1/2 mile journey a perfect way to spend the day. At $10 per person you can ride all day long.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Pbecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Too many rafters and the and they leave trash. They also use river for bathroom. Need guides and discipline.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank 7459chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

We took our 4 teenagers and we had a blast. Definitely do the upper river which has some rapids. The river was low when we were there so it was slow at times, but very fun. All the tubing companies are the same. We chose this one for the lowest price. It was a little more down river so the tubing was a little longer too!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank kerrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

DO NOT BRING KIDS. I can't emphasize this enough. On the very first rapid I witnessed a young girl about 13 y.o flip out backwards, hit her head on the rocks and struggle through the current. Next rapid I saw two kids each about 6-7 y.o. completely terrified stuck on a rock struggling with the current after they got flipped over, bumped on the rocks and lost their tube. One of those kid's mom was swept away by the current, passed her struggling kid not able to stop there and help her child, can you imagine how she felt? Next rapid completely terrified young girl crying in panic as her mom tries to hold her tube next to hers. Basically the current is EXTREMELY STRONG. I am an athletic, very fit 34 y.o., my friend is a very fit muscular guy, 35, we are both in great shape. He could not stand in that current, despite his strength. He also flipped twice on the rocks. I got flipped over TWICE, BUMPED MY HEAD ON THE ROCKS, was swept by the current and carried away hitting my body on the rocks for a good 250 ft before I reached a bit calmer part of the river and had enough breath to scream for help. The point is - is doesn't matter how strong or fit you are, some parts of the current are extremely strong and if your tube goes through those, you WILL FLIP OVER. Sometimes the tube passes those hard sections in another place, I saw people pass nearby without flipping - but that is PURE CHANCE. YOU HAVE NO CONTROL OVER THE TUBE. If it brings you toward a certain part of the rapid you CAN't STOP IT, CAN'T PADDLE AWAY from it.
If you decide to go please be aware - the water is low and ROCKS are really SHARP. There are also SHARP METAL OBJECTS sticking out of the water, and sharp pointy pieces of wood. You can injure yourself just by peacefully gliding on the river.
Hold the tubes of your party TOGETHER, hold on to each other's tubes. At least if you fall there will be someone right next to you.
WEAR PROTECTIVE WATER SHOES and LIFE JACKET. Again, the current is strong. Even if you are an adult, if you flip it will be easier to stand up, because the rapid will keep pushing you down under the water with a very strong current. Yes, this is how dangerous it is, the water is waist high and the rapid is strong enough to keep you UNDER WATER so that you CAN'T STAND UP. I almost drowned being a good swimmer, only thanks to a life jacket I was brought on the surface. The water shoes will protect your feet even if you are just gliding on the river because there are lots of sharp edges of the rocks. If you fall, your feet will be in blood without protective shoes as the current will drag you on all those sharp edged rocks.
Please be aware that YOU HAVE NO CONTROL over the tube once it gets on a certain current and floats toward a rapid. You have no control over your body if you flip over and current is dragging you on the rocks. It seems mild and you think you can stand up but you CANT. If you are very adventurous and consider this fun, great. If you are a parent DO NOT BRING KIDS, I saw enough kids crying and flipping over, being terrified and shaken - this is not a fun activity for kids.
For the owners of this attraction - there SHOULD BE A SAFETY BRIEF. A short talk and piece of paper that gives customers at least some "lean/don't lean" or "what to do if" pointers on how to operate the tube - those are not common sense things, there should be a safety training. This is literally a life threatening activity.
Owner should have a clear statement visibly posted that this activity is NOT SAFE FOR KIDS, that there are sharp rocks and strong currents, honestly informing parents about the rapids so that parents can make an informed decision.
AGAIN, THIS IS NOT A PLEASANT LAZY STROLL RIVER. From what I saw no kids below 15-16 should be allowed on that river. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS.
Also, we were not instructed on where to exit the river, there is no clear signage of "exit here" or any instructions on where the "ride" ends.

Date of experience: August 2017
8  Thank berny297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rage also viewed

 

Been to River Rage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing