We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the Peaceful Side of the Smokies”
Review of Riverstone Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverstone Lodge
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Southerner
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Definitely the Peaceful Side of the Smokies”
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We went to Townsend for a nice, quiet Valentine's Day weekend getaway and could not have been more pleased with Riverstone Lodge. The room was very reasonable at an off season rate of $39.95. Check in was easy and the place is very quiet and peaceful. You don't have to hear the noise, traffic, and sirens like in PF or Gatlinburg. There was a restaurant on the premises but we didn't get a chance to eat there although it looked busy each time we went by. Maybe we will eat there next time as we definitely plan to return. There are a few other restaurants and stores close by, but Townsend is the place to stay if you are looking for some much needed R & R without the hustle and bustle of many tourist attractions.

There is an outdoor pool if you plan to go in the summer months. Also there is plenty of tubing and other outdoor sports available nearby. It is 8 miles from Cades Cove and is located at the foothills entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains.

The rooms are plenty spacious and pet friendly and there is no added deposit for your pet. Remember to bring all of your own toiletries including shampoo and hair dryer. Also, there is no phone or wifi hookup in the rooms...remember this motel offers rest and relaxation at its best!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOKYWOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    36
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
53
58
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
landofawe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I would like to start off by saying that if you complain about the amenities in a 4 Season's this isn't the place for you. The big thing to remember about this place is the price, location, and the people running the place.

This is a well taken care of, older motel. You do not have a 50 inch plasma in your room but you have a clean, very comfortable room. Everyone here is very nice and helpful.

They do have a campfire and music out by the pool.

This is the place to come to relax. You can stay here and be close to Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg without having to put up with the rush in the town areas. I wish we had booked longer at this place.

The restaurant next door is normally open until 10pm and has very good food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landofawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokymountainhotel, owner at Riverstone Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2009
We are so glad you really enjoyed your stay here. We will continue striving to create the best place to stay. Our goal is 100% total satisfaction. Nothing less. Everyone just loves our large deck with camp fire every night. The bluegreass bands on weekends have really been a great asset. Even if you don't like that type music you will love it here!

Thanks so much for your great comments,
Belinda & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The Riverstone Lodge is an absolutely wonderful place to say. The owners, Terry and Belinda, are about as accommodating as one could ever hope. It was great to get the local orientation from Terry when we checked in! The room was spacious and clean and the price - my, where in the world can you get this kind of place at such a reasonable rate? The Lodge is filled with fine and friendly folk. There's a pool - and nobody is too noisy. Terry puts on a camp fire at night and, somehow, they've managed to banish all mosquitoes from the area. RL is wedged between Highway 73 and the river so you can take your car/bike/pickup/van or inflated tube out for your excursions by road or water. The location is right at the Cade's Cove entrance to the Park. You will also love the Riverstone Restaurant next door. All the locals recommend it, there's music on the weekends, and you get 10% off when you present your room key from the Riverstone Lodge. If you like glitz, stay in Gatlinburg. If you want a real slice of 'the way it used to be when we were kids', this is your place. Great values and a great value. This is America, friends!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Townsend,Tn. "Riverstone Lodge" May 28th-31st Soloman's Travelers,18 people and 9 motorcycles. This was the ideal setting right by the river. It's on 321 hwy. And it was absolutely wonderful. They are pet friendly, biker friendly and the rates were extremely reasonable $59.95 a night. We stayed 3 nights. The rooms were 2 doubles and some of us shared. But the mountain experience was incredible. We had rocking chairs outside our doors on the patio and stayed dry the 1st night,out of the rain. But we started out by the fire they have stoked every night. Their is a restuarant in walking distance,next door. And recieved 10% off our food by staying at the lodge. We were riding during the day. We went to Gatlinburg and then to pigeon forge and enjoyed alot of what they had to offer. The scenery was beautiful. We got back to the lodge, the fire was stoked. We sat in rocking chairs on this huge deck built around this fire. Was offered a choice of guitars and a member,picked and sang for us. And then sat. we went up the road a bit and hit the Foot Hills Parkway and carried it over to US 129 " The Tail of the Dragon" We slayed the Dragon safely,bought our patches and t-shirts proudly. And then shot over to Cherokee,N.C. where some broke off and did more shopping. And when we all hooked back up at the lodge. Oh! Yeah! The fire was stoked and they had a fish fry and a bluegrass band. We sat around the fire eatin'catfish,fries,hushpuppies and slaw. The hospitality is a rare gem indeed, we are just over the moon about it. They had a pool,only we didn't have the time to enjoy it. Or time to tube on the river right behind the lodge. Not if,but when we go back to the mountains. We will definitely be staying with them again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Solomantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokymountainhotel, owner at Riverstone Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2009
We are so proud that our guest are really enjoying their stay here. We are a small family operated lodge and try to create every possible great memory possible. Most people know that this area is about the most beautiful place in the world. With so much to do and see with very little or even no cost activities. We love the fact that our guest enjoy our relaxed atmosphere, nightly camp fire, bluegrass band on weekends, pool, river, rocking chairs and just everything about us. We will continue to invest in making sure you all have a GREAT!!! time here. We also (LOVE) all the great reviews .

Thank You!!! Belinda & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.6 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.9 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
11.2 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
11.7 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#8 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Lodge

Property: Riverstone Lodge
Address: 8511 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4310
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Townsend
#2 Family Hotel in Townsend
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverstone Lodge offers the best. We have a list of great things to do right here. Large simming pool, Large deck with camp fire every night (roast marshmellows - hot dogs) or just sit back in rocker and relax. Weekend bluegrass bands. River right here to fish, tube, swim or just look at. This is the place you always were looking for but didn't know where it was. You finaly found it. So what are you waiting for? Come on, pack, lets go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverstone Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing