We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Riverstone Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverstone Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family stayed at Riverstone Lodge for 3 nights at the end of July. We really enjoyed our stay there. Our kids loved the pool and and really enjoyed it, it was always clean. The rooms are older but clean and I really liked having wood floors instead of carpet. The beds were very good which is a really big deal for me. My husband loved the fire pit and having a fire there every night. We would definately stay here again but would stay in one of the larger rooms just because of the size of our family. The owners are very nice. I would recommend Riverstone Lodge to others who are looking for an economical place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babuh1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 174 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had about 12 rooms rented for our family reunion... No one had any major complaints... Anything minor was addressed by mgt. ASAP. The bathrooms are very small in older bldg. and the wall AC units are somewhat noisy...beds were comfortable. But for the price it's very good... River out back, restaurant next door (good food, a longer wait for lg. groups) , everything else close by... Cozy fire pit area at night w/smoker grills and shady area to relax in daytime. Pool nice but small. Again, go pay more if you want everything new and fancy!

Room Tip: Check online or in person for viewing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belmquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We hadn't been to Townsend in years so on a whim we came for a two day visit to the area and chose Cades Cove first. Upon arrival we discovered that there was a VW convention in the area and most of the hotels were booked. We were glad to find a room at Riverstone Lodge because it was getting late after we had been searching the area for vacancy's. Let me say that Rustic is an understatement. This facility is OLD and extremely outdated. They do build a campfire and have somewhat of a gathering place outdoors. There are out side rockers and seating in front of your room. It is primarily constructed of block. The tiling is very old. The rooms have AC units that really work very poorly. I didn't see any bugs but it never felt really clean. There was a sewer smell in our room so I asked the owner for spray to help the room smell better. Turn the AC unit off to thaw it out trying to get it to work better. The pool is tiny. As were were packing up to leave I found a coke 12 pk carton under one of the beds that proves the cleaning wasn't up to par. Glad to leave, really disappointed. Townsend is a lovely place, family oriented and my family has been coming here for years. Cades Cove is always beautiful and the pace is so nice compared to PF and Gatlinburg. You can enjoy nature there. Owners spend the money and update this place, keep it nice for people to enjoy for years to come.

Room Tip: Look at the B& B's or Cabins to make your next reservation I know I will or consider camping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had to leave because I can not sleep when im hot very clean nice staff but the A/C ruined it for me and my wife we tried to tough it out but it kept kickin off i tried to turn down the temp did nothin we were in room 14 dont know if that helps but it wasnt because the heat outside because we checked in at 2 am so plz fix the A/C and we would go back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tannercanesfan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family, husband, daughter and grandparents, stayed here for a few nights. It was really enjoyable. It's not fancy, but clean and roomy. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's location is also a plus. Away from all the traffic and congestion. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms which were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricnln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very clean and comfortable. With all the convenience of microwave, fridge, flat screen tv/cable. Our carpet was newly shampooed. Close to the national park entrance. Restaurants close by. You can bike and walk/jog around the area. Friendly staff. Saw the picnic tables and big grill. Ice machine available.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have always loved Riverstone Lodge since I was a kid. My family has stayed here many, many times over the last 18 years. Its set off from the road a bit so you don't have a lot of traffic noise. The rooms are nice but simple, always clean. Depending on which room you get the bathrooms can be cramped or spacious but always clean. The beds are AWESOME! There are rocking chairs all along the outside of the hotel so you can sit and watch the hummingbirds. You can walk down to the river that runs behind the hotel and watch people tubing. Spend all evening in the pool. There is a relaxing area with picnic tables, swings, and fire pit. The restaurant next door is great and if you go in the evenings you just might get to hear some piano music being played. Perfect location if you are wanting to go to Cades Cove or drive into Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg. There is a campground nearby so in the evenings you have the wonderful smell of campfires going. If you are looking for something fancy, this isn't it BUT if you are looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing, family-friendly hotel then look no further. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.6 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
537 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.9 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
3.4 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Lodge

Address: 8511 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4310
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Townsend
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: $49 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverstone Lodge offers the best. We have a list of great things to do right here. Large simming pool, Large deck with camp fire every night (roast marshmellows - hot dogs) or just sit back in rocker and relax. Weekend bluegrass bands. River right here to fish, tube, swim or just look at. This is the place you always were looking for but didn't know where it was. You finaly found it. So what are you waiting for? Come on, pack, lets go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverstone Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing