We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Riverstone Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverstone Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are clean, and the beds are very comfortable, and the people that own it are the best. They make you feel right at home. I have done made reservations to be back. And if you ride a motorcycle, and want to ride the dragon, it is not that far of a ride to it. When I stayed, they had music at night around the campfire, and the resturant next door has great food. Can't wait to visit again...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 174 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

I am reluctant to share how much my family and friends love this little spot on the river. Don't expect fancy but do expect clean and pet friendly. We love the fire pit and swing and especially being right on the cold river. No better place to be on a hot summer day!!

And a nice surprise is the outstanding restaurant Belinda and Terry (the owners) also operate. Best southern breakfast in East TN. Highly recommend biscuits and gravy.

Wonderful hard working family owned business. Only in the USA!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pamala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in the "old" building this trip, and it shows. Its time to renovate folks. On the plus side, the beds were great, the saltwater pool was fantastic and the service was top notch. Located just outside the state park, with easy access to most everything, this place is great. I can only hope that the restaurant by the same name (and owned by the same people) will improve to the quality of the hotel. We will definately stay here again. But in the new building from now on...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wnogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I were in the Smokies for three days in late June, 2012. We looked at a lot of hotels online before settling on Riverstone. We struck gold. The rustic Riverstone Lodge turned out to be perfect for us.

Riverstone is the closest hotel to the entrance to the Great Smokey Mountain National Park, and access to Cades Cove, so it's located in the perfect spot. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Belinda, the manager, and made to feel like honored guests.

The lodge is divided into two buildings. The older one is a long, single story wing; the newer one is two story and overlooks the pool. We stayed in the newer building, room 16. It was a simple room, but surprisingly roomy, clean and neat. The furnishings were practical, with no frills. All the rooms were reasonably priced, and Belinda actually held a Saturday night open for us till we made up our mind if we were staying that night.

It had two queen beds, I believe, some of the most comfortable beds I've slept in while in a hotel.

The air conditioner was fairly quiet, but seemed a little anemic. It took a while to get cool, but once it was, it stayed steady, though we had to run it on high constantly. The only other small problems we had was the lack of water pressure in the shower, and the low shower head - if you're tall, you're forced to stoop to shampoo your hair and the low water pressure makes it seem like forever till all the soap is out. Kind of strains the back.

There's an attached balcony overlooking the lodges deck, which has rocking chairs and swings and a fire pit. On Friday nights they have live music on the deck, which we really enjoyed.

The lodge grounds were nicely landscaped with in-ground plants and container gardens, and there are some mature hardwoods that provide welcome shade. The drive is compacted pebbles

Riverstone Lodge also manages two cabins on the river. Access to the Little River is between the cabins.

All in all, a wonderful, relaxing stay. They have lots of rocking chairs, the pool, the entertainment deck, and the river. There's no in-house restaurant, but there's one right next door, and you get a 10% discount on meals if you tell them you're staying at the Riverstone Lodge.

We met several nice families on our stay that I hope we run into the next time we stay there. And we will stay there again!

Room Tip: The steps to the top floor of the newer building are steep and elderly folks may have trouble climbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joejitzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is the 4 time i have stayed at riverstone. the owners terry, and belinda could not have been more accomodating for me and my group of 6 people. We was on motorcycles traveling. let us use their personal coolers, and so forth. These people seem to become more family to us than just a hotel owner. As long as they own the hotel in townsend. this is where we will always stay! the restauraunt next door is also owned and operated by terry and belinda, their daughter works there and was very nice and cordual, and we loved giving her a very hard time every morning for a week. the food was excelent. the deck and fire pit was wonderful, the pool was the cleanest that i had ever seen. if anyone has problems with this hotel i personally think that they should have not even left home. rooms were very clean every room has dish network with new televisions, although we did not watch much except the weather channel and cmt. spent the rest of the time riding our bikes or sitting around the fire. terry had his piano player (mark) from the restauraunt come to the fire pit and deck one night and mark played for us. mark i think that was the best i ever heard. anyway i could go on all night about this. bluegrass music on saturday nights by the fire those young boys were great. just go there and find out for yourself. if you read any negative comments then those individuals, again, should have stayed at home or went to the hilton in some big city and kept their doors locked. the one thing that terry could not do was get me a police patch, but he did try. his daughter leann, i hope i spelt that right, did give me a townsend fire dept patch. we just love these people. terry's and belinda's son runs another restauraunt in townsend but we found out about that to late to eat there. will do that in july when we come back. cant wait. terry if you read this get me that police patch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I highly recommend the Riverstone. The hospitality is more than you could ask for. Terry and Belinda are wonderful people. We stayed for a week and can't wait to go back. Loved sitting around the fire at night and listening to music on the weekend, they also have a fantastic restaurant next door.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

our stay there was excellent. the hospitality was very great terry and belinda went above and beyond there duty as owners we will be back

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.6 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
530 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
1.9 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,539 reviews
11.2 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#49 of 77 in Gatlinburg
255 reviews
11.1 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Lodge

Address: 8511 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4310
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Townsend
#2 Family Hotel in Townsend
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: $49 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverstone Lodge offers the best. We have a list of great things to do right here. Large simming pool, Large deck with camp fire every night (roast marshmellows - hot dogs) or just sit back in rocker and relax. Weekend bluegrass bands. River right here to fish, tube, swim or just look at. This is the place you always were looking for but didn't know where it was. You finaly found it. So what are you waiting for? Come on, pack, lets go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverstone Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing