We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We keep returning”
other travelers have booked this property
Hideaway is nestled in the woods with mature trees and mountain laurel.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hideaway is nestled in the woods with mature trees and mountain laurel.
Hideaway is on a fairly level road and driveway, easily accessible from Hwy 321 even during winter. A variety of trees surround the cabin for privacy, seclusion, and natural beauty.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Hideaway is nestled in the woods with mature trees and mountain laurel.
Hideaway is on a fairly level road and driveway, easily accessible from Hwy 321 even during winter.
A variety of trees surround the cabin for privacy, seclusion, and natural beauty.
Remolded Spring 2015, our kitchen is fully equipped and well stocked.
A custom-designed stained glass backsplash looks like the peaceful water that flows in the creek.
An antique Hoosier cabinet adds charm to the modern kitchen.
With the queen size sofa sleeper, Hideaway on the Creek can sleep up to 4 people.
The wood-burning fireplace, with wood provided, warms the 30- by 12-ft, open living/dining area.
The fireplace in the heart of the cabin and  new hardwood floors throughout add warmth and comfort.
The bedroom features a unique art deco bedroom suite and memory foam mattress.
The spacious deck is surrounded by mature shade trees, laurel, and wildflowers.
The covered front porch offers tranquil views of the creek and wooded hillside.
Relax in the hammock by the creek under a cool canopy of shade trees.
Now this is living!
A small wildflower garden graces the entrance to Hideaway on the Creek.
Hideaway on the Creek is cool and shady in the summertime.
The gurgling sounds of the small spring-fed creek  just steps from the cabin add to the serenity.
Wildflowers are abundant in the Spring and Fall!
The side view from the porch is lovely year-round, with no other houses in sight.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Townsend, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thepooh66
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We keep returning”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in February 2019

The facts that we’ve stayed in Hideaway on the Creek 5 times in the last 18 months and have 2 more upcoming bookings this year says a lot. We usually don’t return to the same location more than once or twice but the Smokies and Hideaway on the Creek have made returning visitors out of us.

During our recent stay the cabin was very clean and comfortable as always, and the amenities were amazing. Everything you need is there and more. We eat in the cabin most evenings and the well-equipped kitchen has all the cookware and utensils we could possibly need. And it doesn’t feel like a rental cabin at all thanks to all the personal touches Myra and Rob added.

The laundry room is a great addition. We’ve never missed it in the past and it wouldn't be a reason not to stay at Hideaway, but now that it's there it certainly is a bonus. As we travel to the Smokies from Europe we stay for a longer period and it's nice to have the option to do laundry on site.

The location is perfect, on a quiet road in the woods but close to Townsend and Great Smoky Mountain National Park.

There is information about being ‘Bear Aware’ in the cabin and Myra and Rob have ensured that the trash cans are bear proof and that the bird feeders are removed before the bears become active in spring. We appreciate their respect for the wildlife in the area.

Myra and Rob are genuinely nice people and they are always very responsive to any questions we have before or during our stay. They continuously invest in their properties and make sure their guests have nothing to wish for. We always feel more than welcome in Hideaway on the Creek.

Hideaway on the Creek truly is our home away from home and we return as often as we can.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferA...
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

My husband and I have stayed at several cabins in Townsend, because we prefer the peaceful atmosphere of Townsend. This cabin was by far the best we have ever stayed in. The cleanliness was impeccable. No detail was left unnoticed. Bounty paper towels, with an extra roll if needed. Quality toilet paper, extra garbage bags, local coffee and teas. The furniture is comfortable and clean. Memory foam mattress made for a wonderful night's rest which made for more enjoyable days. A matching, full set of silverware, clean quality pots and pans, and all the appliances made me feel like I was cooking at home. Wonderful shower, plenty of linens. I could go on and on, but I will NEVER search for another cabin as I have found the one I will plan my vacations around from now on!

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fearless2...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“We have returned to this cabin several times for good reasons.”
Reviewed February 20, 2019 for a stay in November 2018

The cabin is located between Maryville, Tenn. and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. It is known as the peaceful side of the Smokies. (It is also near Wears Valley Road which connects to the busier side.) There are park centers, craft shops, the heritage center and art galleries in the Townsend area. It is near the wonderful Cades Cove driving and hiking area in the park.
The cabin is thoughtfully stocked, quiet, and comfortable. We set-up easily and enjoy cooking in a well-stocked kitchen. We love to sit on the porch, look at the trillium and other lovely vegetation and watch the stream go by.

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2019
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review. We're glad you enjoy the many amenities and are comfortable at Hideaway on the Creek. Come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler8...
1 review
“Fantastic, secluded cabin near the Great Smoky Mountains National Park”
Reviewed January 14, 2019 for a stay in October 2018

My husband and I stayed in this cabin in October 2018, and we absolutely loved it. We came to the area because we wanted to spend time in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The cabin is located incredibly close to the Townsend entrance, and it was the perfect place to relax after hiking all day. Townsend is much quieter than Gatlinburg, and my husband and I appreciated the secluded location of the cabin. The cabin itself is wonderful. We liked how cozy everything felt. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2019
We're very grateful for your positive, kind review of Hideaway on the Creek and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! The location and peaceful setting are indeed fantastic :-) You and your husband are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepooh66
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fall in the Smokies”
Reviewed December 1, 2018 for a stay in November 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We planned our stay around Appalachian Bear Rescue’s Bearly 5k run/walk and ended up being in the Smokies at the peak of leaf season.

What a beautiful time of year to be in the Smokies. It was very busy in the park as expected but there was hardly anyone on the hiking trails. We enjoyed the beautiful views on Rich Mountain Road, the Foothills Parkway and Newfound Gap Road but even the road from Maryville to Townsend and the road leading to the cabin were an explosion of color.

In Cades Cove we saw a lot of deer and turkeys and a few bears. The oak trees in the lower regions only produced a limited amount of acorns this fall so the bears had mostly moved to higher elevations where there was enough food. The bears we did see looked fat and healthy. We also saw a big male near Hidewaway, he crossed the road in front of us one afternoon.

We enjoyed staying at Hideaway again, clean and comfortable as always. We already used the laundry room during our previous stay but Rob and Myra have had a chance to finish it in the mean time and it’s turned out very nice.

It was another great stay at our home away from home and we hope to get to see the Smokies in the snow on our next visit early 2019.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted D
1 review
“Great place to get away.”
Reviewed August 8, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

What a beautiful little cabin just to get away from it All. Far enough off the beaten path but close enough to travel to events. We will be doing this again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2018
Thank you, Ted! We're so glad you enjoyed it and will be happy to welcome back anytime. Thanks for leaving the cabin clean!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy A
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite get-away spot”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I stay at Hideaway at least once a year - sometimes twice! I shouldn't give a glowing review, or you'll all want to stay there & then I won't be able to get in!!! :) But I can't help it, I LOVE Hideaway. I love the location (easy to get to the National Park & I prefer the "quiet side" of the mountain). I love the creek that runs through the property. I love that it's easy to get to, but still fairly private. Myra & Rob do lots of little things that other cabins don't do - like nice toiletries in the bathroom, dog bowls/mat for the furball, spices in the kitchen, and full supplies of paper products (so many places do a "starter" supply - meaning bring your own). They are also really invested in the cabin. Since I first started staying there, the floors have been redone, new furniture has been brought in, the kitchen has been updated, and since my last stay, they've added a laundry room (very excited to use that my next visit!). Bottom line: it's a great property, and Myra & Rob are really nice people who are very responsive to guests.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
Thanks for your very thoughtful, positive review, Amy! It's so nice when our guests appreciate all the little things and big things that we do. We try to continuously improve our vacation homes, to provide more amenities and value than other Smokies rental cabins, and to anticipate our guests' needs so that when you stay with us, you can focus on relaxing and having fun. You and your adorable furball are welcome back anytime, and we look forward to getting to know you even better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing