We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fall in the Smokies”
other travelers have booked this property
Hideaway is nestled in the woods with mature trees and mountain laurel.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hideaway is nestled in the woods with mature trees and mountain laurel.
Hideaway is on a fairly level road and driveway, easily accessible from Hwy 321 even during winter. A variety of trees surround the cabin for privacy, seclusion, and natural beauty.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Hideaway is nestled in the woods with mature trees and mountain laurel.
Hideaway is on a fairly level road and driveway, easily accessible from Hwy 321 even during winter.
A variety of trees surround the cabin for privacy, seclusion, and natural beauty.
Remolded Spring 2015, our kitchen is fully equipped and well stocked.
A custom-designed stained glass backsplash looks like the peaceful water that flows in the creek.
An antique Hoosier cabinet adds charm to the modern kitchen.
With the queen size sofa sleeper, Hideaway on the Creek can sleep up to 4 people.
The wood-burning fireplace, with wood provided, warms the 30- by 12-ft, open living/dining area.
The fireplace in the heart of the cabin and  new hardwood floors throughout add warmth and comfort.
The bedroom features a unique art deco bedroom suite and memory foam mattress.
The spacious deck is surrounded by mature shade trees, laurel, and wildflowers.
The covered front porch offers tranquil views of the creek and wooded hillside.
Relax in the hammock by the creek under a cool canopy of shade trees.
Now this is living!
A small wildflower garden graces the entrance to Hideaway on the Creek.
Hideaway on the Creek is cool and shady in the summertime.
The gurgling sounds of the small spring-fed creek  just steps from the cabin add to the serenity.
Wildflowers are abundant in the Spring and Fall!
The side view from the porch is lovely year-round, with no other houses in sight.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Townsend, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thepooh66
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fall in the Smokies”
Reviewed December 1, 2018 for a stay in November 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We planned our stay around Appalachian Bear Rescue’s Bearly 5k run/walk and ended up being in the Smokies at the peak of leaf season.

What a beautiful time of year to be in the Smokies. It was very busy in the park as expected but there was hardly anyone on the hiking trails. We enjoyed the beautiful views on Rich Mountain Road, the Foothills Parkway and Newfound Gap Road but even the road from Maryville to Townsend and the road leading to the cabin were an explosion of color.

In Cades Cove we saw a lot of deer and turkeys and a few bears. The oak trees in the lower regions only produced a limited amount of acorns this fall so the bears had mostly moved to higher elevations where there was enough food. The bears we did see looked fat and healthy. We also saw a big male near Hidewaway, he crossed the road in front of us one afternoon.

We enjoyed staying at Hideaway again, clean and comfortable as always. We already used the laundry room during our previous stay but Rob and Myra have had a chance to finish it in the mean time and it’s turned out very nice.

It was another great stay at our home away from home and we hope to get to see the Smokies in the snow on our next visit early 2019.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted D
1 review
“Great place to get away.”
Reviewed August 8, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

What a beautiful little cabin just to get away from it All. Far enough off the beaten path but close enough to travel to events. We will be doing this again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2018
Thank you, Ted! We're so glad you enjoyed it and will be happy to welcome back anytime. Thanks for leaving the cabin clean!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy A
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite get-away spot”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I stay at Hideaway at least once a year - sometimes twice! I shouldn't give a glowing review, or you'll all want to stay there & then I won't be able to get in!!! :) But I can't help it, I LOVE Hideaway. I love the location (easy to get to the National Park & I prefer the "quiet side" of the mountain). I love the creek that runs through the property. I love that it's easy to get to, but still fairly private. Myra & Rob do lots of little things that other cabins don't do - like nice toiletries in the bathroom, dog bowls/mat for the furball, spices in the kitchen, and full supplies of paper products (so many places do a "starter" supply - meaning bring your own). They are also really invested in the cabin. Since I first started staying there, the floors have been redone, new furniture has been brought in, the kitchen has been updated, and since my last stay, they've added a laundry room (very excited to use that my next visit!). Bottom line: it's a great property, and Myra & Rob are really nice people who are very responsive to guests.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
Thanks for your very thoughtful, positive review, Amy! It's so nice when our guests appreciate all the little things and big things that we do. We try to continuously improve our vacation homes, to provide more amenities and value than other Smokies rental cabins, and to anticipate our guests' needs so that when you stay with us, you can focus on relaxing and having fun. You and your adorable furball are welcome back anytime, and we look forward to getting to know you even better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepooh66
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our home away from home”
Reviewed June 26, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from our 3rd stay at Hideaway on the Creek and we had a great time.

After a long day of travel with the necessary delays it was nice to head to a cabin we already knew, we felt like we were coming home and settled in quickly. As always Hideaway was very clean and stocked with all the amenities we needed. We usually cook our own meals and again we found all the cookware and utensils we needed in the kitchen and more.

Since our last visit a bistro set of chairs and a table have been added to the porch which we used often to eat our dinner outside while enjoying the fireflies. No need to go to Elkmont, the fireflies gave us a private show right outside our cabin every night.

Another great addition is the laundry room. So far we'd never missed it and it wouldn't be a reason not to stay at Hideaway but now that it's there it certainly is a plus point. As we travel to the Smokies from Europe we stay for a longer period and it's nice to have the option to do laundry on site.

The owners, Myra and Rob, are really nice people and they are always very responsive to any questions we have before or during our stay. They continuously invest in their properties and make sure their guest have nothing to wish for. It was nice that we had the opportunity to meet them in person this time.

We will be returning to Hideaway on the Creek in the fall for leaf season.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2018
Thank you so much, Irma and Erwin! We were delighted to meet you, too, and think of you very fondly. We look forward to getting to know you even better during future trips! Rob and I appreciate your very positive and thoughtful reviews...here, on our website, and on facebook. That helps our business so much. We're happy you enjoyed the fireflies while sitting on our cozy front porch...made all the more cozy with the beautiful new bench cushion and pillows that you bought and kindly left for the enjoyment of future guests. As always, we appreciate how you take such good care of our special little home and leave it so clean. Thank you also for the box of delicious, beautiful chocolates from the Netherlands...what a treat! You are wonderful guests, and we are happy to welcome you home to Hideaway on the Creek anytime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomhA2197...
St Augustine, FL
1 review
“Peaceful Hideaway”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our second stay at Hideaway on the Creek. We chose it because it is pet friendly, very clean and conveniently located to the entrance to the Smokey Mountains. It is on a quite road off of Lamar Alexander Pkwy, which in minutes, we can be in the park or go 20 minutes the other way and be in Maryville.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2018
We appreciate your positive review, Tom, and are always happy to host you at Hideaway on the Creek. We try hard to keep our cabins very clean, and it's nice when our guests notice. The next time you come to Hideaway, it will have a laundry room on the first level! We constantly strive to improve our home and add value and amenities for our guests :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn D
1 review
“Peaceful, cozy... love this place!”
Reviewed March 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My boyfriend and I truly enjoyed our 4 night stay at Hideaway on the creek.... a cozy cabin just right for two.
We certainly appreciated the extra clean accommodations upon our arrival and the thoughtfulness of the owners in providing the necessary amenities such as coffee, tea, paper products etc which actually lasted the length of our stay. That's pretty much unheard of their days.
The owners also provided a whole notebook full of vacation ideas... points of interests and local attractions which was very helpful.
Thank you Rob and Myra! We had a great stay! Love Townsend, Tennessee the peaceful side of the Smokies.
We do highly recommend Hide away on the creek... quiet, peaceful and yet less than an hour's drive from Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg with beautiful scenery along the way. We would definitely stay at Hideaway on the creek again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2018
Thanks so much for your kind review, Gwyn. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your taking such good care of our special retreat. Come again anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepooh66
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

After we enjoyed our previous stay at Hideaway at the Creek last year it was easy to decide where to stay this time.

We had another excellent stay and really enjoyed returning to Hideaway. The cabin doesn't feel like a rental but like a home. It has everything you need and more, the owners have put a lot of thought into what they offer their guests. We cook ourselves most nights and it's nice to have such a well equipped kitchen.

As last time the cabin was very clean and more than enough towels and linnens were provided.

The owners are pleasant people and very responsive, both before and during our stay.

We can certainly recommend Hideaway on the Creek if you are looking for a comfortable, quiet place to stay close to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We've already booked our next stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2018
Thank you so much for your detailed, thoughtful, and positive review of Hideaway on the Creek. We are delighted that you have made Hideaway your "home away from home" in the Smokies, and we look forward to your visit again in July. Thank you also for leaving the cabin so immaculate...we truly appreciate you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing