We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet Getaway, Memories Galore!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Owl's Hoot Chalet

OWL'S HOOT CHALET -  Ideal location, beautiful setting, fireplace, free WiFi, and pets welcome!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OWL'S HOOT CHALET -  Ideal location, beautiful setting, fireplace, free WiFi, and pets welcome!
Springtime is a magical time in our mountain hollow. Enjoy privacy in wooded seclusion. (Owl's Hoot in the summer)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
OWL'S HOOT CHALET -  Ideal location, beautiful setting, fireplace, free WiFi, and pets welcome!
Springtime is a magical time in our mountain hollow.
Enjoy privacy in wooded seclusion. (Owl's Hoot in the summer)
Owl's Hoot in late Autumn...the colors in the meadow are glorious!
Livingroom features comfy leather furniture (incl. sofa sleeper), wood-burning fireplace, and LCD TV
The open concept dining/living area offers plenty of comfortable seating and near-panoramic views.
Prepare simple snacks to gourmet meals in the fully equipped, well-stocked open kitchen.
The kitchen has all the modern amenities you need to feel at home.
Washer and dryer are tucked away in a convenient closet near the kitchen.
Rest well on the new bed and memory foam mattress in the loft bedroom.
The loft bedroom is open to the great room, but still private and relaxing.
Imagine waking up to this view of the meadow from your loft bedroom.
Soak in the 2-person, 7-jet jacuzzi after a day of hiking or shopping.
The main-level queen room features a romantic iron bed with memory foam mattress & lovely antiques.
Two twin beds with new memory foam mattresses are ideal for kids and single quests.
Spacious, main-level bath with skylight is bright and cheery.
Relax on the spacious deck overlooking the 5-acre meadow and Rich Mountain.
Imagine dining al fresco with this view.
Relax in the shade in your own 5-acre meadow.
Our pavilion is like a tree house for adults.
Drive up to the back of Owl's Hoot - easy access only 1/3 mile from Hwy 321.
Access to Owl's Hoot is level...no scary, steep driveways or roads to travel!
Early spring daffodils adorn the garden alongside the driveway.
Enjoy millions of lovely wildflowers while walking in the meadow.
Enjoy the wintry view while curled up with a cup of cocoa or a glass of wine.
Take a walk in a winter wonderland while enjoying your stay.
Snowy owls greet you in the garden area.
Winter is a beautiful time of year here.
Not your average log cabin. Come discover the Owl's Hoot difference!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Townsend, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Passerida...
United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quiet Getaway, Memories Galore!”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Best place to stay in Townsend. The cabin is located on a quiet road, close to the town's main road, restaurants and the National Park. The place is fully equipped and comfortable. We really enjoyed happy hours on the deck and gazebo, gazing onto the meadow and soaking in the solitude. It was fall and the trees provided a colorful backdrop. Last year, we stayed at the Hideaway on the Creek cabin nearby owned by the same folks and enjoyed that too but this place can handle more family members. Note that there's only one shower but there's a large hot tub in the loft. The owners really know how to make you feel wonderful. Townsend lacks traffic and crowds of tourists but you can drive to find that stuff if you want it. Do yourself a favor and book this cabin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
Thanks so much for your thoughtful and detailed review. Please come again anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B
1 review
“Peaceful Retreat!”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2014

I was thoroughly impressed with the size, decor, and location of this cabin. The owners, Myra and Rob, have put a lot of time and attention into the details to make any guest feel welcome. We felt that all needs were provided for with organic toiletries, and the cabinets were stocked with plenty of clean and good condition utensils and plates, cups, etc. Rob and Myra were always available to help answer questions and assist with any needs. The beds, kitchen, living room and bathrooms are in good shape and comfortable. We especially loved that the place is dog-friendly.

We stayed a whole weekend and enjoyed the big windows and picturesque views of the meadow and creek below. The wildlife and peaceful environment were just what we needed! We will be back for a future visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location away from the bustle of the city
Liked least: No outdoor hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2016
Thanks for your kind and detailed review, Jessica. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachyina...
GRIFFIN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fall Foliage Getaway”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Cabin was wonderful! Loved everything about it! Loved the property. Kitchen well stocked, living room furniture comfy, wood-burning fireplace, wrap-around deck and lovely meadow to walk our furbaby!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Floor to ceiling windows with a view of the meadow. Also, the woodburning fireplace.
Liked least: No TV in master bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Owl's Hoot! The Smokies are wonderful every season. Wintertime is one of my favorites...I like to curl up by the fire with a good book :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheerioPa...
1 review
“Mrs.”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed at Owl's Hoot again last weekend. We always enjoy our stay there so much and this time didn't disappoint! It is so peaceful and relaxing. Bob and Myra are very accommodating if any needs should arise. The Chalet is beautifully decorated and they add all the special touches that make it feel like you're at home. Owl's Hoot has definitely become a tradition for us.

The Payne's

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review, Payne family! We're happy to share our special home with you and are glad that it has become your home away from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thanks, Debord family! We're so glad that you enjoyed your vacation and appreciate you taking the time to review Owl's Hoot Chalet. We enjoyed meeting you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
snjmom
snjmom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Beautiful mountain vacation with all the ammenities - this is a HOME not just a 'rental.'.”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was, by far, our best rental ever. The Owl's Hoot chalet is located in the town of Townsend, TN also known as the "quiet side of the Smokies." What a peaceful, perfect place. The house is on a little road just off the main strip. It is secluded from the view of neighbors and traffic just on the side of a foothill, but it is a minute's drive from gas stations, grocery and a few worthy restaurants. It is only a couple of miles to Cade's Cove from the chalet. The owner's pictures are very accurate.

We loved the above and beyond qualities of this home. Quality mattresses with full allergen and bedbug free casings on them all, sheets and towels provided, jacuzzi tub, fully stocked workable kitchen, travel books and guides of the area galore, games, books, movies, three televisions with cable access and DVDs, multiple decks with furnishings, leather sofas, multiple dining tables, etc. etc. The owners even supplied some high quality toiletries in addition to washing soaps and laundry soaps. This is a HOME NOT a RENTAL!

I must thank the owners for renting their beautiful home to us and allowing us to have the mountain, national park vacation we dreamed of having!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of EVERYTHING in the home. Temperpedic mattress. Cleanliness.
Liked least: Everything was perfect.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind, thoughtful review. We love sharing our special home with families like yours and do all we can to make your vacation comfortable, relaxing, and fun. Please come again anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing