We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talley Ho Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talley Ho Inn
Save
You added Talley Ho Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Perrysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The room itself was average. Had updated/modern furnishings and amenities. Beds are firm. The room was comfortable, and was very clean. However, had a strong musty odor. Our room was a double, we had a patio, and it is relaxing/peaceful outdoors. The internet was slow. All that being said, we would stay again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinktrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
41
54
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Tally Ho over the weekend. Sat we went out and came back to find termites all in the kitchen. We reported the problem to the front desk and left again. When we returned they were even worse. Sunday morning none of us could believe how many there were. We reported the problem again and did not even get so much as an apology but instead were told that they didn't actually own the cottage, just managed it. Well, they need to manage the bug problem because it was truly disgusting. Just unreal.

Room Tip: Do not stay in cottage #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunningW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We picked this hotel after driving by 3 others with higher Trip Advisor ratings. The others had similar advertised prices but looked much less appealing. The staff here were all very friendly and helpful. The upper floor King bed room was VERY spacious and had a private balcony. The restaurant next door gives a 10% discount to Tally Ho key holders.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The decor at Talley Ho Inn was plain and neutral but adequate and it was very clean. Microwave, coffeemaker and mini fridge in the room. Free wi-fi. Mattress was very firm. It was very quiet but not many people were there. We could hear the water being used in another room in the morning and I ran out of hot water during my shower, so water heater must be a shared one. We got up early and drove through Cades Cove the next morning and saw deer and turkey and even watched a fox for about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hadassahgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The rooms are good size clean and our beds slept comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice
to be in peaceful place not crowded by noisy traffic. I was satisfied by the cost and like supporting independent
business ,plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank declark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Talley Ho has a couple of houses and we have used Cottage 2 three times now with our friends, most recently last weekend. It's 3 bdr, 3 bath with kitchen, patio, deck, washer/dryer, and everything. There aren't a lot of food choices late in the season in Townsend so we bring food and cook in after being out in the mountains hiking and photo shooting. We have stayed in the rooms in the past and they are good, clean, comfortable. The owners are great and we always enjoy our time here. We had a little bit of a wasp problem but the guys came and sprayed all over the place, also leaving us a couple of fly swatters. No problem! Trees out front were gorgeous when we left.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
407 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are two female photographers needing a place to stay 'fairly close' to Cades Cove for a few days of shooting. I just came back from my third stay at this great place and wanted to share the experience with others. For two women traveling together the room set up is perfect...two queen beds, in addition to the sink/mirror shower, toilet in the enclosed bathroom there is a second sink, large mirror and big counter space outside of the bathroom. There is also a nice patio just outside of the back door of the room....we leave before daybreak and come back after dark but for others that would be a nice additional space in good weather. Also offered is a mini frig. and coffee maker. The prices are most reasonable for the space, cleanliness and location. Front desk/office staff are very friendly and helpful with directions, suggestions etc. If you are heading to Cades Cove or other areas within the Great Smoky Mountain National Park in the Townsend area....do check this place out. They do get booked quickly during 'peak' Fall season, Spring time....well ok...they are a popular place to stay about any time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGordonCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.1 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#1 of 11 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 11 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
20.2 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
11.5 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talley Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talley Ho Inn

Property: Talley Ho Inn
Address: 8314 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4303
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Townsend
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Talley Ho Inn is the oldest establishment among Townsend hotels, motels, cabins and resorts. We offer a broad selection of accommodations to fit any need and budget. For couples' getaways we recommend romantic Premier and Deluxe rooms. Family retreats will enjoy spacious cottages and picnic areas. Sole travelers will find comfort and value in our Original Eight rooms. Our exhibition grounds is a perfect place for car shows and large expositions. Adjoined Carriage House Restaurant is ideal for any occasion as it offers buffet, casual, formal dining and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talley Ho Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing