We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talley Ho Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talley Ho Inn
Save
You added Talley Ho Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Just love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Talley Ho has a couple of houses and we have used Cottage 2 three times now with our friends, most recently last weekend. It's 3 bdr, 3 bath with kitchen, patio, deck, washer/dryer, and everything. There aren't a lot of food choices late in the season in Townsend so we bring food and cook in after being out in the mountains hiking and photo shooting. We have stayed in the rooms in the past and they are good, clean, comfortable. The owners are great and we always enjoy our time here. We had a little bit of a wasp problem but the guys came and sprayed all over the place, also leaving us a couple of fly swatters. No problem! Trees out front were gorgeous when we left.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
41
54
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
405 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are two female photographers needing a place to stay 'fairly close' to Cades Cove for a few days of shooting. I just came back from my third stay at this great place and wanted to share the experience with others. For two women traveling together the room set up is perfect...two queen beds, in addition to the sink/mirror shower, toilet in the enclosed bathroom there is a second sink, large mirror and big counter space outside of the bathroom. There is also a nice patio just outside of the back door of the room....we leave before daybreak and come back after dark but for others that would be a nice additional space in good weather. Also offered is a mini frig. and coffee maker. The prices are most reasonable for the space, cleanliness and location. Front desk/office staff are very friendly and helpful with directions, suggestions etc. If you are heading to Cades Cove or other areas within the Great Smoky Mountain National Park in the Townsend area....do check this place out. They do get booked quickly during 'peak' Fall season, Spring time....well ok...they are a popular place to stay about any time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGordonCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegedale, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Talley Ho Inn is a pleasant and relaxing place to stay. Our family has been staying here several times per year during the last 20 years. The units are clean, beds are comfortable, and the staff is very pleasant to deal with. There are two small houses that accommodate small groups. Our family has utilized these houses for Christmas get-togethers. The swimming pool is always clean and there is a tennis court available. The Talley Ho is a real family place with open space for children to play. We recommend this facility to all who may be looking for a "family friendly" place to stay while visiting the Smokie Mountains. It is near to Cades Cove.

Room Tip: The back units are quietest and have patios on which to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Talley Ho on several occasions and with family too! Of all my vacations this has to be the most relaxing place to visit of them all. The rooms are always so very clean and they have the most "at home" atmosphere. The owners see to it that visitors are happy and they make you feel so welcome. The landscape is beautiful and neatly manicured. The mountains in the background is awesome! We always like to stay on the second floor and the balconies are large with comfortable seating. I can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My family has stayed at Talley Ho for several years now, I have taken my elderly Dad there, have went with other couples, have went with my brother and sister and their spouses and children. I truly just love it here, it is so neat and clean and relaxing, and has this feel about it of what "family vacations used to be like" when I was younger. I promise you that the rooms are always so nice and clean, and it has always impressed me seeing them scrubbing the wooden rails and banisters leading up to the rooms, you never see one cob-web. The landscaping is so nice as well, and even the pavement and everything around it is spotless! Talley Ho is where you want to be if you want to see what true relaxation and fun and enjoyment and making memories is all about. I look forward to my next trip there, and hope it is soon.

Room Tip: Love the 2nd floor in Building C where you have mountain view, and it looks straight out at the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a Wonderful Stay for Our Anniversary , beautiful Mountain View . Very Friendly Staff , clean rooms and close to Cades Cove . A Peaceful place to Stay . We look Forward to staying here in the future. Enjoyed the cool weather and sitting on the balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A real delight to visit here and stay on Townsend side of Smoky Mts. This is older establishment that has had some rennovations and additions, the room we chose was the cheaper straight eight" room all we needed was a bed to sleep in and bathroom. as we did not spend much time in it. Very quaint and clean, hardwood floor and old tile in bathroom shower. it was clean and Great for us! The bed was high old fashioned style and linens were comfortable and clean. the greatest thing is the POOL. it is heated and very nice. we swam after dark and after a rainstorm. we had the whole pool to ourselves and it was just very nice! there is a grocery store close about 1mile or so down the road to get snacks, beer, etc. we ate pizza at Pizza hut next to grocery IGA store. Warning, all things are closed up by 10pm, so purchase what you want before that time. It really is very quiet and relaxing, you will enjoy that Cades Cove is so close by and an easy drive to it the following morning! Just a nice place to relax, swim and rest a bit. no shopping or hub bub here. Recommended that you call the talley Ho directly to make reservation rather than on-line, as they can provide you with same discounts and as owners, it is more profitable for them in this manner. You will not be disappointed if you like quiet, however if you want more selection and night life, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.1 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#1 of 11 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 11 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
20.2 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
11.5 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talley Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talley Ho Inn

Property: Talley Ho Inn
Address: 8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Townsend
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Talley Ho Inn is the oldest establishment among Townsend hotels, motels, cabins and resorts. We offer a broad selection of accommodations to fit any need and budget. For couples' getaways we recommend romantic Premier and Deluxe rooms. Family retreats will enjoy spacious cottages and picnic areas. Sole travelers will find comfort and value in our Original Eight rooms. Our exhibition grounds is a perfect place for car shows and large expositions. Adjoined Carriage House Restaurant is ideal for any occasion as it offers buffet, casual, formal dining and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talley Ho Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing