We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rant !!”
Review of Talley Ho Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talley Ho Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A friend of mine reserved a room in the Spring, for us to use while photographing the October colors in the area. We decided to rent a cabin instead so more photographers can join us. We called to check on the cancellation policy and were told that he'd be charged for one nights rental, even though we wanted to cancel in AUGUST, 2 months in advance. I won't stay there again, besides, the cabins in the area are cheaper !!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalleyHoInn, Owner at Talley Ho Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Hello Jerry,

I am sorry for the miscommunication your friend had with our staff. He can change rooms or dates but cannot cancel the reservation and be refunded for the first night as stated in the terms of online reservations.

When your friend called to cancel his reservation, he did not mention that he wanted to upgrade to a cottage. Otherwise we would have applied the total he had already paid toward the price of the cottage. If he is still interested in upgrading, he can give us a call on our toll-free line 1-800-448-2465 and book one of our cottages. We will be happy to discount his new reservation by the amount he had already paid.

Hope this helps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

Recently returned from a weekend there. I realize it is a hotel in the Smoky Mountains and not a 5 star resort, but it was ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE. I still get the heebie jeebies just thinking about it. First the young man checking us in had the personality of a doormat (telling us he had hoped we were someone else checking in as they had 2 rooms), then when we opened the door to our room an overwhelming smell of must/mildew...disgusting! I burned a candle did not help! We asked to have it sprayed (they forgot). I got febreeze and sprayed the room from top to bottom (did not do much to help). There were huge cobwebs at the bottom of our window, there were bugs smashed in our drapes, the floor (carpet) was damp at all times and the bathroom floor constantly had water on it, even when we did not shower. We were there for a family reunion which is the ONLY reason we stayed. Many others in our party had same problems! Thank goodness the last night I could leave the windows open as it was cold, otherwise the air conditioning unit did not work properly. But on the bright side the room does come with it's own flyswatter (and I am serious).

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Actvities I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalleyHoInn, Manager at Talley Ho Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Hello,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Talley Ho Inn. We pride ourselves in exceptional customer service and high standards of hotel operation. Normally, all of our clients' concerns are being addressed immediately and with personal attention from the owner. If we knew that your concern was a detriment to your Smoky Mountain experience, we would have been happy to deep clean/ purify air in the room or moved you to another room at no additional fee.
Our main purpose is to make our customers happy and if the stay at the Talley Ho Inn was not satisfactory, we deeply apologize.

Regards,

Maria Talley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had our Vw Show here.This is an older motel but very well maintained.The room was clean the only complaint i had was the pillows very hard i will just know next time to take my own.I will be staying here again next yr as we have decided to have our show here again.There is a restaurant right next door to this motel and they have good food.i would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravels35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stubbled across the Talley Ho Inn about 3 years ago and it is our favorite weekend get away now. We have stayed there 12 times and it is the cleanest, quietest, nicest place on earth. The landscape is beautiful. The pool is clean. Prices are great! You can be in Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge in just 20 minutes and avoided sleeping in those loud cities. You are a mile from the Smokies but you sure feel like you are sleeping in them. The balconies are HUGE and a great place to wake up and listen to the birds with your morning coffee. They will even lend the kids tennis rackets and balls to play tennis. On a friday night you can sit outside and listen to the concert at the Heritage next down the street. The city is just that quiet. We triend a few other hotels in Townsend... but none compare to The Talley Ho Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Built in 1953, the Tally Ho Inn is still in the hands of the original owners family. The outside of the inn has a quaint Bavairian feel. The grounds are spotless, the pool is pristine, and the location is ideal as it sits on the main highway.

Our room was the deluxe king and it had plenty of room, an appealing decor, and a private layout. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was spotless and clean smelling. The covered balcony was huge and offered a lovely view of the mountains surrounding Townsend as well as the open meadow belonging to the hotel.

The staff was very friendly. I intended to book our room using the Internet but when I called for a clarification before hitting 'send', they made sure we received an end room with a private balcony at the end of the property.

We visit the Smokies quite often, staying in a cabin on some trips, a hotel on others. We will always use this hotel for future stays in Townsend. It was a very relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a very clean and very well priced hotel. The rooms have plenty of room. They are liitle dated, but for the price, who cares. I will definently be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank titanman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

we stayed there during the fourth,you talk about quiet,it is really the quiet side of the smokies.we really liked the room it looked new,im very ticky about being clean,the bed sleeped great,you got plenty of room in the bathroom too.the balcony was very private also,we will be back,BEST!!! place Ive ever stayed.

Room Tip: the futher up toward the mountains you go the quieter it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisasimpson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.2 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
0.2 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,463 reviews
11.4 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
12.5 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talley Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talley Ho Inn

Address: 8314 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4303
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Townsend
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Talley Ho Inn is the oldest establishment among Townsend hotels, motels, cabins and resorts. We offer a broad selection of accommodations to fit any need and budget. For couples' getaways we recommend romantic Premier and Deluxe rooms. Family retreats will enjoy spacious cottages and picnic areas. Sole travelers will find comfort and value in our Original Eight rooms. Our exhibition grounds is a perfect place for car shows and large expositions. Adjoined Carriage House Restaurant is ideal for any occasion as it offers buffet, casual, formal dining and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talley Ho Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing