We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bald River Falls

Bald River Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We made it to Bald River Falls for the first time this July!! Well worth the drive, its a beautiful location. There has been plenty of rain this summer so the falls was in full flow. Even better was watching the kayakers on the Tellico River which is on the other side of the bridge from the fall. If you are a waterfall lover this is an absolute must see. Its not my favorite or the most spectacular but it ranks amongst the best!! The good part is that if you have time and don't mind hiking there are quite a few falls in this area to see so it would be good to make a day of it.

Oh don't forget to drive just a little further up the road and see Baby Falls on the Tellico River. its only five foot but its in such a scenic location that its a must see. Plus kaykers like to go over these small falls.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    27
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Magnificent waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Visited this waterfall while checking out the Cherohala Skyway in Tellico Plains TN. The waterfall is alittle off the skyway, but is well worth the 6 miles or so drive to get there. Since the area has had alot of rain this summer, the water was rapidly cascading down the rocks and was just beautiful. We parked and walked out to the bridge to view. There are alot of photo opportunities here. Parking is very convenient and handicap accessible. After viewing the falls, we had a picnic just beyond the parking area. This is really a nice area to picnic with tables sitting along the roaring river. There were some kids playing in the river, we just enjoyed relaxing and hearing the sounds of the water and birds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilyPlatteCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburb
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful find, we stumbled upon this on our first evening when we went out for a drive. Take the few minutes off the main path to see it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CorvetteMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must see in Tellico Plains area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bald River Falls is on a Forest Road off of the Cherohala Skyway. It is a few mles drive from the Skyway to the Falls, but it it right on the road, so if you can't walk very far, this is the perfect sightseeing adventure for you, as you don't even have to get out of your vehicle to see the amazing Falls. There is a parking area just past the Falls if you want to venture out onto the bridge to see it and a hiking trail to the top of the Falls. The hike to the top can be a bit strenuous, so I wouldn't advise if you have health concerns. A word of caution: Some people have died trying to climb down into the gorge and up onto the Falls, so please don't attempt this and please keep an extra close eye on your children. All in all a beautiful sight to behold, just use common sense.
It is a totally different experience after a heavy rain than when it has been dry for a while, so each visit can have its own feel. For us, two experiences are just alike. Another reason we love this spot!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great out doors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is a very nice waterfall worth going to see we went swimming and played under the falls there is a good picnic area just past it so take some food and have e picnic

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fsmith1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bald River Falls also viewed

North Carolina Mountains, NC
Tellico Plains, TN
 

Been to Bald River Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing