We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Secluded Weekend Get Away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tellico Plains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Cabins
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice, Secluded Weekend Get Away”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I are frequent travelers and stay in many different kinds of places. The Smoky Mountains are our home, so we weren't expecting a huge change of scenery, just wanted a nice, peaceful weekend get away. We stayed in Cabin #9. It was nice, clean, secluded and had ample amenities and linens. We enjoyed the hot tub, which appeared and smelled very bleachy clean. Our cabin was very private and overlooked a private, stocked fishing pond, with the Tellico River only a few yards away. We did have some sightings of spiders and snakes, but overall that is to be expected in the area. We were a short 20 minute drive to the top overlook of the Cherohala Skyway where we could watch amazing sunsets over the mountains every night. It is also a short 15 minute drive to Bald River Falls, which is another wonderful local attraction. The staff was very pleasant and more than happy to help with anything we may have needed during our stay. I noticed during our stay that the website is slightly misleading in wording that these cabins "overlook" the river or are "directly" on the river. They are NOT. The river is across the street from most of the properties and mature trees and shrubs obstruct any view of it. The only cabin that I personally saw that was "on" the river was the "River House" and the "Riverfront Lodge". This was not a deal breaker for us as we were more interested in the fishing pond than the river and our cabin did in fact "directly" overlook the pond and so does cabin #11. So, if this is a determining factor in your booking, you may want to call first and get a confirmation that your rental will be "directly" on the water. There is currently no WiFi and very scarce cellphone reception and the units are NOT pet friendly. Overall, we had a wonderful time, enjoyed the property and staff and would recommend it to friends and family and would definitely return! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in one of the riverfront units and absolutely loved it. The place was super clean and meticulously appointed. Our place was one room with three areas; bedroom, kitchenette, and living room area. There is a long covered porch off the back that looks out on the river, which is shared by all the units. We particularly like the porch to sit with drinks at night and coffee in the morning. They seem to have units fitting a variety of budgets and group sizes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

So after meandering non stop for 22 hours from Houston up to TN, we rolled into Chattanooga Friday night on Memorial Day weekend without a reservation, and if my cell service wasn't so spotty would have probably ended up at the Hyatt downtown. But as luck would have it we landed an adorable littlle creekside cabin in Tellico Plains.

I believe our unit was #1, nonetheless it was the end unit with a great view right in front of the river rapids. The unit was so cute, clean, well-equipped and the bed was comfortable. Enjoyed coffee on the deck overlooking and listening to the rapids in the morning. The rate was so reasonable, around $100 all-inclusive. We stayed just one night as we were headed up to the Tri-Cities area.

Room Tip: Unit # 1, riverfront end unit rental, nice unit and great view of river rapids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

on our recent, last minute, spur of the moment trip to tellico, we were given cabin #15 because all others were booked. it was HUGE! it was an older but very nice cabin that can sleep 12, with a great living area for groups with a big flat screen tv and a fireplace, a pool table, covered hot tub, 2 kitchens and a great 'sun porch' on the back overlooking the town and mountains. it rained and was cool so we turned off the air, opened the windows and sat on the sun porch. it was the perfect relaxation get away. the staff at mtn view cabins is very friendly and helpful. this was our second stay with them and we will certainly be back, probably with a group of friends next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfkenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in Cabin 13, across the river from the main property. It was very clean and, while there was a bit of a normal, closed-up musty smell when we opened the door, it dissipated quickly once the cabin was opened up and the ceiling fan turned on. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-night stay with the river sounds and the hot tub on the deck. I could have sat on the deck and read the entire time and been perfectly happy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyM-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for 5 days, this cabin is disgusting, mouse crap everywhere even under the mattress( found on last day) absolutely gross ! The whole cabin reeked of piss, air fresheners and a candle from a local cigarette shop was burned non stop , we finally opened up all the windows, and ran the air conditioner and kept the ceiling fan on to clear up the air... The cabin was over all dirty!! We had rented from them 3 years ago, but apparently the dont do much for maintenance , also the hot tub only half worked. And the chemicals were really out of adjustment made my skin itch like crazy! Won't be back to spend time here!!! AVOID... There are other cabins that look nice and new in the area, this businesses web site photos are deceiving!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathysuzyq62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainViewCabins, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain View Cabins, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
As with any lodging facility, we try to match the perfect get away for each guest according to their requests and budget. Cabin 13 is a secluded cabin tucked into a forested area surrounded by mature trees. It has been especially difficult during this rainy season to keep Cabin 13 in a "fresh air" condition. A special dehumidifier has been ordered for the cabin.

All of our units are under contract with a professional pest control service which was called immediately to re-service Cabin 13, and was satisfactorily addressed. The interior of the cabin was thoroughly re-inspected. The immediate previous guests were contacted and they reported that there was no evidence of pests in the cabin. Guests that have since stayed were contacted and they reported no evidence of pests. We have had a successful history of your stays here. We hope that these measures swill regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

we stayed in Cabin # 13 and really enjoyed the stay....the deck with the breeze and hearing the Tellico River rustling over the rocks just below us was awesome......loved the hot tub too.....just get in and relax...the cabin was very nice...we were over looking the Cherohala Skyway...it was a very nice 4 day stay...would come back often and stay in 13 if I could....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masterjet90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tellico Plains
20.1 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
22.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 9 in Athens
152 reviews
13.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#1 of 2 in Etowah
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
18.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Sweetwater
Rodeway Inn Sweetwater
#3 of 7 in Sweetwater
77 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sweetwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Cabins

Property: Mountain View Cabins
Address: 133 Rafter Rd, Tellico Plains, TN 37385-5826
Location: United States > Tennessee > Tellico Plains
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tellico Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Cabin Rentals is located in the quiet little town of Tellico Plains in beautiful East Tennessee. Consisting of 43 different units, Mountain View can accommodate everyone's budget and everyone's dream of a mountain cabin experience. Recently added - Cascades - is a 4 bedroom cabin on the Tellico River and the new 3 1/2 bedroom Skyway River View located on the Cherohala Skyway with river view. Also new is a 3 Bedroom,3 story cabin, with 3 bathrooms, game room addition, and appropriately named "The River House". Mark Twain would have loved it - located right on the Tellico River, and while sitting on the upper porch, it feels like you are on a River Boat. Truly beautiful and unique. The River Front Lodge which is a hotel/motel type lodge is also located on the Tellico River and has 11 units, 6 of which are single with either 1 king or 2 queen beds, and 5 two-story townhouse units with 2 bathrooms, kitchen and dining area and either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds upstairs and 1 queen bed downstairs. The Harley House (local mansion landmark) boasts 5 bedrooms accommodating 13 people, three story, full kitchen, pool table game room and ample parking for large groups - all done in tasteful "Harley" decor. Our premiere cabin, the Crow's Nest, is beyond description - accommodating 14 people in elegant naturalistic inspired decor. The master suite alone has its own jacuzzi, sauna, waterfall and fully appointed bathroom. The "game" room is truly defined in every sense. One can ease away tired muscles and stress in the beautiful gazebo's hot tub. For the budget-friendly cabin get away - Mountain View has a great selection of smaller single, double, and family cabins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing