We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, great room, great hosts”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tellico Plains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge At Tellico
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tellico Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Cookeville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great stay, great room, great hosts”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Like many others, I stayed here for 3 nights on a recent motorcycle trip to explore the area. I chose The Lodge based on other reviews, but I have to say it exceeded my expectations.The room was large and very, very clean and my bed was very comfortable. There were no drawers to put my clothes, but plenty of hangers, and I wasn't inconvenienced at all by it. Walt and Anna were very friendly and hospitable, even offering to go to town to pick up supper for all the motorcyclist guests because that night it was storming. It's just a short distance to "downtown" Tellico Plains and its stores and restaurants. The grounds are immaculate. With 3 different room types to choose from at very reasonable rates, this place can't be beat. Thanks again for your friendliness and hospitality. I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
62
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed at the lodge for 3 nights on a recent motorcycle trip. The lodge is conveniently located to the Cherohala Skywy and provides easy access to most of the popular motorcycle rides in the surrounding area.

In addition to the ride factors, the lodge is an excellent place to stay. The owner(Walt) is a great host and will go out of his way to help you out. He hand delivered packages to UPS so that one of of our riders could ship things home and even went to go pick up pizza for us on a rainy evening. Couldn't asked for a better host.

The grounds are very well maintained and the entire complex is neat and in great shape. The rooms are large and contain everything you need for your stay including wifi & direct tv. Cellphone service in the area is a bit spotty but the wifi works great.

There is a little bit of highway noise in some of the rooms so please read the tip for a quieter room.

Breakfast is fairly simple but hits the spot. You will need to go somewhere else if you want a hot breakfast.

The breakfast is neat and clean. The hostess always has a smile & greets everyone like they are family.

The motorcycle garage is an added bonus that you get with some rooms. There are only 8 indoor parking spaces so plan ahead if you want to keep your bike inside. It was a nice treat especially when coming in on a rainy afternoon.

Overall excellent place to stay. I would definitely stay at the lodge if I'm back in the area.

Room Tip: Request a room in bldg 1 - it is the farthest from the highway. 302 & 304 are also good choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exptraveller501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Perfect, we hope to stay longer next time. Came with family and happy with all- great bang for your buck. We hope to stay for longer next time and even come back on motorcycle .
Very clean and plenty of room

Room Tip: All good- all seem to be good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _ashley2012789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I cant say enough about this place! We will def return to The Lodge. The rooms are great, the gounds well maintained and the price is right. The location is just a mile or so from the Cherohala Skyway. As a biker, I wanted close to there. While in Tellico make sure you go to Tellico Grains Bakery or Kats Deli for grub (both have amazing food). Before (or after) your ride, drop by the Charles Hall Museum. That place is amazing! You could spend hours. The admission is free the gift shop inside one of the museums (there are 2) is nice and probably the best place I found for a souvenir for Tellico, Skyway, and to be honest not even the stores on the Dragon have better shirts than they do There is another museum that has a biker gear store in it If you looking for a cup of coffee or maps they have them, shirts (the most I have ever seen in one place, leather, patches by the hundreds and a nice place to sit and rock on the porch or to just use their bathrooms. The visitor center is next door. I had been there before but seems a lot :junkier" now. Your hard pressed to find brochures for all of the cheap crap they now have for sale.
Be warned the sidewalks pretty much fold up in Tellico around 5. The restaurants are about all that is opened. Nothing better than returning from a great ride just to sit out on the deck and relax with a cold beer. The credit card (ATM 3%) charge is bs but just think ahead and bring some cash for the room. These folks know how to treat their guests. Actually, every place I went to had such friendly people. Next time you have a free weekend, take a ride to Tellico to spend the weekend. Stay at the Lodge, visit the town eateries, Museums, and stores and enjoy!

Room Tip: Bring cash or pay the 3% fee from the ATM
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am not a motorcycle fan, but my spouse is, so we decided to give this place a shot and ended up on a return visit. We were going white water rafting and wanted to stay someplace close by without having to camp. This was the place!

Simple rustic type of rooms with a basic shower and toilet. Our room (same room both times) had a mini fridge (handy), fireplace (summer, did not need it!) and spa tub (never got around to using it). The bed, tucked into a corner, was comfortable. We were allowed to bring our well behaved dog (I know, everyone says this) and she was very happy!

The setting and grounds were very well kept and nice for taking a stroll around. Breakfast, which you could include for a fee, was very good and plentiful. We were there on a weekend (Fri and Sat nights) and they apologized that it was just a basic buffet, but there was more than enough to please everyone in our party (fresh cut fruit, egg dish, bacon/sausage and biscuits).

Rocking chairs on the deck are great for wine/beer and sunset, or an early cup of coffee and the sunrise.

Next time we decide on a white water rafting trip, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms are located directly over the game room which can be a little noisy and if you prefer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ame93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our group arrived late afternoon at the Lodge at Tellico, owners were nice and welcoming to check us in. Our room was beautiful. Nice king size bed, everything was clean and well organized. A sofa and a chair were in the room for sitting. The bed was very comfortable, best night sleep I had our whole trip. Direct TV available in the rooms. Refrigerator was already cold. Our group enjoyed the fire pit outside. I didn't go in the game room, but heard that it had a lot of games to keep the kids busy, and I believe it did have some fitness equipment. Parking was limited for vehicles at the lodges itself, but there is other available parking around the lodge. There was a nice size garage for motorcycles. Breakfast was available the next morning a mini-buffet with many choices. Staff even made pancakes upon request. Breakfast was very good. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Good location. Highly recommend staying at The Lodge at Tellico. Prices are very good for excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wife and I stayed at The Lodge on a motorcycle trip through the Smokies. After staying two nights the Edgewater Hotel in Gatlinburg and one night in the Quality Inn Suites in Pigeon Forge, we both agreed The Lodge was the best of our accommodations by far. Check in was easy and the proprietors were friendly and helpful when trying to find a place to eat.

The rooms were new, spacious and clean. We enjoyed sitting by the fire pit, and it provides a great place to chat with other travelers.

The breakfast was wonderful as well. Good selection and and good quality. Can't be it for $7.

Room Tip: Some rooms have basement-style motorcycle parking. Much better than having your bike covered in dew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wipfel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tellico Plains
21.4 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
12.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#1 of 2 in Etowah
88 reviews
18.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Sweetwater
Rodeway Inn Sweetwater
#3 of 7 in Sweetwater
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 7 in Sweetwater
138 reviews
18.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sweetwater
16.5 mi away
Grand Vista Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge At Tellico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge At Tellico

Property: The Lodge At Tellico
Address: 9436 New Highway 68, Tellico Plains, TN 37385-5083
Location: United States > Tennessee > Tellico Plains
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tellico Plains
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing