We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Sweetwater
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sweetwater
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay. The whole hotel was updated in March of 2012 and it was apparent. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff provided info on places to eat. I would certainly stay here again if I was in the area. The location was close to the highway and we had easy access on and off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandVOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn Sweetwater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I decided to drive over to Fall Creek Falls and see the scenary and then head to a hotel not to far from home. This is only about an hour away so we could still be close. We checked in around 8 to our jacuzzi room to find a tub big enough for 4. We do little getaways like this often and have never seen a tub this big in a hotel room. Very nice and clean. The room overlooked to indoor swimming pool on the other side which would have been so nice if we brought our bathing suites. There is not very many options to eat in the area so next time we will probably make plans to eat a head of time. The breakfast was very limited but for the price we paid it was simply a small surprise that it was offered. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I were passing through the area on a trip to the panhandle of FL to visit family.
We had not made hotel reservations with the thought that we would just stop for the night, so we had NO idea where we would end up - location-wise, and hotel wise.
Through the use of a host of iPhone apps and web access on our phones, my wife found the Econo Lodge Sweetwater.
The advertised rate on the internet, combined with the totally reasonable ratings on this site were enough to make us call it home for the night.
When we were on our way to the property our GPS brought us in the LONG way - so we literally thought this hotel was in the middle of nowhere, but we didn't care because it was just for the night... for sleep, a shower and on our way the following morning.

When we arrived after 2am the young lady at the front desk could not have been nicer! She was just wonderful, friendly, welcoming, and so polite!

We asked for a ground floor room with a king bed and were given just that!

The hotel is not a 5 star property - it is a roadside hotel, don't expect the Four Seasons, and you will be totally satisfied with your stay.

The room, while dated, was spotless, fresh, and very cool thanks to a great A/C unit.
I have stayed in 5 star properties that could take a lesson from the housekeeping staff at this property. Nothing was dirty, dusty, or overly tired. As stated, the property is dated - but not so much so that it makes you cringe knowing there might be 40 years of grime just below the surface. In fact the property reminded me a visit to Grandma's - dated, but very well cared for and cleaned and in order in preparation for a family visit.

The bed was very comfortable, the pillows were soft yet plump, and the bedside lamps and alarm clock were in proper working order.

Don't expect a great breakfast in the morning, the selection was very limited and frankly unappealing. BUT if you are traveling on a very tight budget, you could definitely make a meal of the offerings - we just chose not to do so.

One oddity about the property is the fact that the hotel has BOTH interior and exterior doors - a little odd, but not an issue.

For the price paid, we were very satisfied and considered making it our stop over on the way back but we still had several road hours in us before we were ready to call it a night.

I would recommend the hotel to friends or family - SO, here you go - I recommend the Econo Lodge Sweetwater if you're looking for a hotel in the area!

One note is that during our stay, the hotel's pool was found to be empty - so if you are looking for a hotel with a pool, you may want to contact the property to check on the status of the pool.

Room Tip: As for a ground floor room on the back of the building - there is a small pond outback. OR a room on...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spent many, many, many hours in the car in the last several days and so needed palace to just chill and crash before finishing our journey! This place was a very welcomed relief for a group of weary travelers! Eddie was awesome on the phone and when we checked in! Gave us a Comfy room with a great rate and offered us a complimentary snack and beverage! We were able to unwind in the pool and hot tub before turning in for the night. free breakfast got us started in the morning, a super fast check out, and back on the road to home! Not a luxury spa but for the price it was a great, clean, quiet place to stay!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank ajconley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My recent stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. Our room was clean and comfortable and the price was very low. The rooms are well maintained and the staff is great. I will stay here again...no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The only reason I rated this property as average and not lower is because the price was so low. My biggest concern was cleanliness. There was a lot of mold and gunk in the bathtub, cigarette burn marks on the sink, the faucets were old and very dirty. Luckily there were two sinks because one of them only dispensed lukewarm water -- you couldn't change the temperature. The molding had dirt caked on and there was a lot of dirt on the casing around the blow dryer. Overall, it just looked like it had been a long time since the room had seen a thorough cleaning. The linens were very worn as well, but the bed slept comfortably. The staff was also friendly. Overall It was borderline okay for a stopover to get some sleep, but I would not choose this property again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCDOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Looks better in person!!!! I read the review for this hotel on several different sites and the reviews were good yet I still had some reservations about booking in advance (to save a few more extra dollars). We come every year to drive the "Dragon" but normally stay in northern Alabama, this year we decided to stay a little closer (about an hour away). We waited till we got to Sweetwater to check out the Econo Lodge in person and were prepared to pay the few extra dollars difference in price if we should like it. Looks SO much better in person, and in our travels, that is a good thing as so often, that is not the case. True, its not the Hilton, but if we wanted that we would have stayed at one.

This is a great hotel for the price! Located about two miles off the interstate, you get the chance to see various restauraunts on your way in and they do have several from BBQ, Italian, Mexican, etc. (I recommend Bradley's BBQ Pit and Grill), along with the standard fast food and Pizza chains; and there is a Walgreens and gas station across the street. The pool was closed, but people were fishing at the pond behind the hotel. The hotel is pet friendly and the "pet" rooms are in the back where you can walk to the pond and/or enjoy the view.

We chose a smoking/king room in front, and our room was clean and in good order with the standard amenities, frig, microwave, iron/board, coffee maker, blow dryer, etc. The A/C worked great and outside noises (traffic, children playing, people coming/going) were almost nonexistent unless you sat near the door and strained to hear. The bed, for not being a pillowtop, was comfy, however, the couch and chair were a little stained but otherwise comfortable. There were extra chain locks on both doors for added security and yes, one door opens from the outside, and the back door opens into a hallway. The staff was very friendly, the WIFI worked great, and the TV reception was good also; however, to charge several electronic devices we had to unplug something (we chose lights as there were several of them). Breakfast was included in the price and came with all the normals plus waffles, however, the breakfast area was small but close enough to walk back to your room to eat if you chose.

For the price we paid, this was one of the better hotels we have stayed in! Yes, it is an older hotel, so it is not pristine; yet they have kept the place up at regular intervals so it is nice, unlike those who try to hide the age and lack of upkeep. We plan to make our reservations to stay here on our annual visits in advance from now on, and we would highly recommend others do the same. If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean hotel in this price range to take a break from a long road trip, we would recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: pet rooms are in the back where you can walk them and also have a view of the pond. There are some...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweetwater
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Sweetwater
Days Inn Sweetwater
#1 of 7 in Sweetwater
271 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 7 in Sweetwater
147 reviews
2.4 mi away
Guest Inn
Guest Inn
#5 of 7 in Sweetwater
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sweetwater
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 9 in Athens
161 reviews
10.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Loudon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Sweetwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Sweetwater

Address: 731 S Main St, Sweetwater, TN 37874-2733 (Formerly Econo Lodge Sweetwater)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sweetwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sweetwater
Price Range: $51 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Sweetwater 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Sweetwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing