We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Amer. Mexican” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Molcajete Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Molcajete Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 57 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Springfield, TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love Amer. Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love anything that resembles Mexican Food. I have had many dishes in Mexico, but since I'm not there, El Molcajete is the next best thing. Great servers,beautiful decor and reasonable prices. My daughter and I go about once a week at least.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NitaSpringfield_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not as good as they used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food here is not as good as it was in the original location. I couldn't order anything with beef in it that didn't have onions and peppers, because everything was pre-cooked with all three. I used to really enjoy their food, but they seem to have gotten more prepare in advance, and less customer preference oriented. That doesn't work for me - sorry!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We eat alot of Mexican food and have been to this location many times but the food never gets any better. The resteraunt itself is very nice inside and out,service is pretty good but the food just is not that good. They charge for every little thing, extra tortillas when you order fajitas etc. The portions are nice size but the quality is lacking alot.We no longer eat here and don't recommend. The best place to eat mexican food is in White house or Opry mills.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Tizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
816 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
“Best mexican food in Springfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

El molcajete has grown from a simple restaurant that was housed in and old pizza restaurant to a very nice new facility built a few years ago. The need for the extra space was obvious if you ever tried to get a table at the old restaurant. It was always packed. Now in the new facility there is ample seating inside as well as outside, a nice bar and ample room for large parties. The food is still the best in Springfield and will not disappoint in the selection, freshness or quality of the food. The service is excellent and pricing is comparable to most Mexican restaurants. The parking lot now can accommodate about three times as many cars and is still full on the popular nights of the week. Fajitas are excellent as is any of the con queso dishes. There are items for children and alcoholic beverages for the adults. If you are looking for Mexican food in Springfield, this is the place to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tennessee50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite in Springfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

El Molcajete is loved and the parking lot is close to capacity in the evening. You are greeted at the door for seating. The atmosphere is pleasant and the booth seating was very comfortable. You are immediately greeted with menus, chips (the chips are excellent) and sauce. Despite a busy evening, the service was excellent and the food was good. Why not great? Here's why. The food is bland (almost universally), which can be a good thing if you are working to cut back on salt. However, the ingredients are of fine quality and you can taste the quality, a good reason to go easy on salt (we added some anyway). The texture of the food is nice and most of it has a savory taste. The prices are good and you should try their guacamole. Two can eat with an alcoholic beverage for under $30 without a problem. This is a great place for couples and friends. There is ample seating for larger families in the middle area between the rows of booths. The restaurant was squeaky clean and I noticed a 99 health score proudly displayed at the checkout. The waiter can take your payment, but we noticed that plenty of folks prefer to pay at checkout as they leave. El Molcajete has a nice covered patio for pleasant weather meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Molcajete Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Springfield, TN
 

Been to El Molcajete Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing